Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-11-02, 15:13
Zbig Zbig is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 31
Balance and unbalanced active monitors

Hi,

I plan on buying Balance but can not afford to get new monitors at the same time so for the time being I plan on hooking it to what I have now: poor man's Creative M80 sort-of-monitors with unbalanced RCA inputs. The question: is it okay to "unbalance" the Balance's outputs by using mono TRS (well, that'd be TS, I guess) to RCA cables? I'm aware that by doing it, I'd be essentially grounding the "-" (negative) half of the signal at Balance's output stage. Is it okay or I'm risking of borking the (un)Balance's output here and I should get the proper pair of (balanced) monitors first instead? I don't have an access to Balance operation manual - does it say anything about that?

Best regards,
Zbig
  #2  
Old 2012-11-02, 16:14
ryszard's Avatar
ryszard ryszard is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 691
You should be okay. Over the years I've hooked many monitors up using many combinations of amps and adapters. The only time I've had a problem was with inadequate cable (too small gauge and improperly shielded, which was easily fixed).

HTH,

Richard
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Reason 7, BIAB 2013
Intel i5 2500K 3.3 Ghz, Gigabyte ZX77X-UD3H, 16 Gb Corsair DDR3 RAM
OCZ 60 Gb SSD, WD 1 Tb Caviar Black 7,200 RPM HD
Zotac/Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 2 Gb, NZXT H2 "Silent" case w/liquid cooling
Presonus AudioBox USB, Behringer B2031A, JBL PSW D110 sub

Kennesaw (Atlanta), Georgia, USA
  #3  
Old 2012-11-09, 23:28
Zbig Zbig is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 31
Thanks for the advise. My Balance has arrived today and I've hooked it like I described - everything seems fine and sounds great!

Pozdrawiam
Zbig
  #4  
Old 2012-11-10, 12:05
applerepairs123
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I've actually looked around the web, couldn't find a lot on my specific needs... there's a couple of links on the Jensen site but that's about all. I'm looking through your site now, there's a couple of things that may suit me there I think.

Basically I'm just making a monitor switch.. I'll attempt a diagram below...

CD player-->bal-circuit->--\.................................../-->hedphn amp
.......................................Tog.Switch>-->Tog.Switch...................
DAW output->--------------/....................................\-->monitors
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balanced vs Unbalanced Audio Connections and Cables kilohurtz Phead User Forum (read only) 5 2012-09-30 12:56
Balance audio quality? Aiden General Forum (read only) 13 2012-07-02 21:44
Balance Questions trvolk General Forum (read only) 10 2012-01-31 01:03
Balance question 2 helver Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2011-09-14 11:49
Balance vs Apogee Duet martyn356 General Forum (read only) 9 2011-07-12 21:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:14.