Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-11-10, 17:07
onlysoaa onlysoaa is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Rack Extension Host for other DAWs?

We all know we'll never get any platform other than Rack Extensions in Reason, but I'm just pitching this as a way to get more people to use the RE platform, and by extension, to get more people to write REs.

So imagine some VST/AU based Rack Extension host that will allow a (limited!) Reason Rack to live inside another DAW (perhaps a single Combinator instance?). The host itself could be free, or sold at a low cost with an upgrade option to full Reason. It would work as a way to both sell more REs, to get more people developing REs, and to demonstrate the awesomeness that is the Reason Rack to people who haven't had the chance to experience it yet.

So how about it?
__________________
I like progressive trance.
Loading SoundCloud…
  #2  
Old 2012-11-10, 17:14
VillaNDubstep's Avatar
VillaNDubstep VillaNDubstep is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,979
Reason essentials plus rewire? It's not expensive, let's you try and buy rack extensions and then you can rewire them into your daw to use them. This is sold at a low cost and gives you the option to upgrade to the full version of reason
Sound good?
  #3  
Old 2012-11-10, 17:42
onlysoaa onlysoaa is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Huh, being a full Reason licensee myself, I'd forgotten about that option...

I still find that a self-contained host-as-a-VST solution is more elegant than ReWire though.
__________________
I like progressive trance.
Loading SoundCloud…
  #4  
Old 2012-11-10, 18:25
rogerlevy rogerlevy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by onlysoaa View Post
Huh, being a full Reason licensee myself, I'd forgotten about that option...

I still find that a self-contained host-as-a-VST solution is more elegant than ReWire though.
How would you connect CV and Audio on the back when each RE is in its own window? Do you keep the SSL? Combinators?

I personally fail to see the value and think you are dreaming of the wrong solution to a different problem. Why do you want this?
  #5  
Old 2012-11-10, 18:44
VillaNDubstep's Avatar
VillaNDubstep VillaNDubstep is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,979
Quote:
Originally Posted by onlysoaa View Post
Huh, being a full Reason licensee myself, I'd forgotten about that option...

I still find that a self-contained host-as-a-VST solution is more elegant than ReWire though.
I suppose it depends which daw you are using, some are easier to use rewire with than others but i'd say Reason essentials is what you described, only better because it is also a daw on it's own.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rack Extension | u-he Uhbik devices NoelGMusic Phead User Forum (read only) 299 2012-10-23 10:45
Rack Extension Devices In Reason 6, Doesn't That Explain R6 CPU Problems/Issues ? scottym Phead User Forum (read only) 21 2012-03-26 07:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:59.