Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-11-11, 15:29
Geneyus6's Avatar
Geneyus6 Geneyus6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 558
Cool Combinators in Combinators

I think I've seen people suggest this before. But it'd be nice if I could combine combinators within a combinator without it breaking up the combinator into the individual devices.
__________________
~ Jon West

Let the music speak for itself...

I think my music TALKS LOUDER THAN YOURS!!!
  #2  
Old 2012-11-11, 15:59
VillaNDubstep's Avatar
VillaNDubstep VillaNDubstep is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,984
This could be the answer to aux's and bussing in reason. So you could hide/show all combinators/devices within the group (Super combinator) and all the effects could be applied in the fx section of the group combinator?
Or have I just gone completely off track from your original idea?
  #3  
Old 2012-11-11, 16:03
dub08's Avatar
dub08 dub08 is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by VillaNDubstep View Post
This could be the answer to aux's and bussing in reason. So you could hide/show all combinators/devices within the group (Super combinator) and all the effects could be applied in the fx section of the group combinator?
Or have I just gone completely off track from your original idea?
Nah, I think super combi is definitely "on track" with this idea.

Combi in a combi?
That's racks on racks on raaacks!
__________________
www.008refills.com 15 FREE Reason ReFills in the -008' Newsletter
  #4  
Old 2012-11-11, 20:05
Geneyus6's Avatar
Geneyus6 Geneyus6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by dub08 View Post
Nah, I think super combi is definitely "on track" with this idea.

Combi in a combi?
That's racks on racks on raaacks!
You guys are following me and are right on the money.
__________________
~ Jon West

Let the music speak for itself...

I think my music TALKS LOUDER THAN YOURS!!!
  #5  
Old 2012-11-11, 20:23
VillaNDubstep's Avatar
VillaNDubstep VillaNDubstep is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,984
I definitely wouldn't mind seeing this feature then in that case, props has always had a way of doing things there own way and to be honest this seems like it would suit the props way. Time will tell
  #6  
Old 2012-11-11, 23:00
mrbritt's Avatar
mrbritt mrbritt is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 456
Lightbulb

If I were to build a super combinator it would have modular capabilties like Kong, and Thor also it's own patch bay, CV controls, crossfader, and wet/dry knobs. It would also include recycle in its editing section and a apeggiator. Next it could trigger each device at combined times or different time zones. It also could use seperate or combined device effects with having it's own line mixer. This would not take away from any one throwing more items inside it. Lastly The face plate would be between four modular looks so the users could decide what is best for the work flow in their waterfall. The name should stay the same excect add to the end Pro; Hence the Combinator Pro.
__________________
A wise man will hear and increase Learning...
  #7  
Old 2012-11-12, 05:50
stevenha stevenha is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 83
I envision a feature that supervises 2 combinators. Load 2 combinators into it (with all their saved instruments and effects). Able to mix their outputs and fade from one to the other. (These cross-fades controlled by a CV input on the back or a dial on the front.) Able to load a new combi patch in one while the other keeps playing, and control these loading of new patches from a list the user creates. Eg. Suppose I have 10 combi's that I got in a refill, and I want 5 to play sequentially in the first combinator and the other 5 to play in the second combinator, and have one or the other change every 8 bars, while both my hands are busy on the keyboard. After 80 bars I'd have heard them all and it would re-loop the sequence, or an option randomly change the patches in each side (instead of sequential).
So, its not just an audio mixer, it also automates the change to the next patch running in one of its 2 combinators. ( This is brainstorming.. not a fully thought-out idea.)
  #8  
Old 2012-11-12, 06:35
juno106user's Avatar
juno106user juno106user is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 490
why not.. I think that idea is simple enough and could be sooooooo useful. Could you then have a Super - Super - Super combinator? When would it end??!

I "Like"
  #9  
Old 2012-11-13, 05:29
StaticEngn's Avatar
StaticEngn StaticEngn is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 37
Probably won't happen

As it would result in a cyclic dependency, and then the Props would have to check before loading any Combi, and that would be a giant pain.

Example:
Create Combi A
Create Combi B inside Combi A
Save Combi A
Create a new Combi C inside B
Load Combi A into Combi C
EXPLODE
  #10  
Old 2012-11-13, 06:10
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,728
You can see things getting a bit messy somehow ..... I don't know. But what I really would like to see is an extension to the Combinator idea. 'Combinator 2' would have more knobs / buttons / sliders, possibly defined by the user. And maybe the ability to nestle original Combinators in it ..... Though I'm still trying to fully appreciate how on Earth this would work!
__________________
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sharing Combinators with REs wendylou Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2012-10-25 06:00
Multiple Combinators controlling one instrument... djejreason69 Phead User Forum (read only) 15 2012-06-24 18:47
Not tennis... Suicide Combinators! Philup General Forum (read only) 0 2011-01-11 02:27


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:08.