Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-11-13, 12:22
TTTOY TTTOY is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 30
Ignition Key makes nice workflow impossible

Hello,, as a fan and supporter of Reason i purchased my Reason update about a month ago. I was shocked in the beginning about the new Ignition key but still thought I will give it a go.. Working on just one computer (MAC) basically works okish.. Still I had issues that suddenly the ignition key doesn´t find my purchased licenses anymore and I had to get them back online ... VERY STRANGE!!!
Now back in the studio I suddenly I have the same issue on my Desktop... WTF !!!! ????

This is not what I need from a software which I use for my live sets and concerts !!!

I want an uncomplicated and easy on the side Rewire solution..

Very sorry but after many years my relationship to Reason most probably must come to an end.. I can´t always rely on Internet connections before playing concerts.. It´s far too risky ..

It´s sad that buying clients, user and supporters get punished like that.. And no.. I don´t need an extra soundinterface called Balance or anything.. I need a good working solid software. It makes me sad to come to this conclusion but this policy must change.

Best,
TTT
  #2  
Old 2012-11-13, 12:43
alternating.bit's Avatar
alternating.bit alternating.bit is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 599
While I agree that the ignition key is a hassle, and I've been having issues getting RE's to work on my laptop versus my ignition key'd desktop, I don't blame the company for coming up with the idea. It is difficult to battle piracy these days, and when a company loses revenue because of pirates they have to come up with the next step above to avoid piracy. I'll bet there's someone out there now who has figured out how to format a flash stick to work as an ignition key, but at least it's not as simple.

I say contact tech support on the phone before you completely give up. I had the Line6 folk help me with my RE licensing issues and they walked me through step by step. It may just be a matter of going through some proper steps and you'll find your setup working.
  #3  
Old 2012-11-13, 13:01
TTTOY TTTOY is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 30
hello,, it´s not about that.. I can figure it out and I got my licenses back online.. It´s simply not what I want to do before a concert or starting a session... Especially because they suddenly disappear with no "reason"
And I think all of that doesn´t stop piracy.. Honestly.. Especially if you give benefit to the people who use cracks and don´t need those dongles and online registration at all and can even use it one their studio computer and the touring laptop at the same time... There´s a big misunderstanding of customer treatment..
I´ld love to have it back the easy and flexible way it was... That was the reason to use it in the first place..
Best,
TTT
  #4  
Old 2012-11-13, 13:06
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by TTTOY View Post
And I think all of that doesn´t stop piracy.. Honestly.. Especially if you give benefit to the people who use cracks and don´t need those dongles and online registration at all and can even use it one their studio computer and the touring laptop at the same time... There´s a big misunderstanding of customer treatment..
CodeMeter hasn't been cracked yet, and if it was a simple firmware update would send any crack back to square one
  #5  
Old 2012-11-13, 13:07
TTTOY TTTOY is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 30
ok ok .. Still it´s too risky if CodeMeter fucks it up to square one before a show ))
  #6  
Old 2012-11-13, 13:08
normen's Avatar
normen normen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,469
Try and make a plugin standard where you are the one distributing the plugins and not having any copy protection. You won't get any collaborators and hence without the ignition key we'd have no REs. Simple as that.
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer
  #7  
Old 2012-11-13, 13:11
TTTOY TTTOY is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 30
but it keeps deleting licenses I bought... I bought a HUB and tried to make peace with it but it seems that it is simply a bit buggy... That´s all ..
  #8  
Old 2012-11-13, 13:12
TTTOY TTTOY is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 30
which basically means it could ruin a concert ... Which is not helpful ...
  #9  
Old 2012-11-13, 13:13
normen's Avatar
normen normen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by TTTOY View Post
but it keeps deleting licenses I bought... I bought a HUB and tried to make peace with it but it seems that it is simply a bit buggy... That´s all ..
Check out which it actually means when it says "Some RE's cannot be...", if you have tryouts you have to check in online, else you could just set your computer clock back to use all trials for eternity. I get this warning sometimes too but I can run all the devices I bought.

Edit: If theres really some devices you bought that do not open when you don't login, go (on this page) to Your Account->RackExtensions->Manage Licenses and download it again. It will tell you if theres actually licenses that are not written on the key yet.
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer

Last edited by normen; 2012-11-13 at 13:17.
  #10  
Old 2012-11-13, 13:17
TTTOY TTTOY is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 30
i unfortunately can´t .. The devices I bought I have to license again.. Which is ok if I´m home but it doesn´t give me a good feeling in the case it happens on the road.. I think that is very understandable..
And yes, I´m a fan of the program that´s why i bother...
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason Essentials and ignition key. MrFigg General Forum (read only) 4 2012-04-29 20:47
Reason's pop culture references... Matti General Forum (read only) 27 2010-11-08 07:02
Record Workflow, using Record with other equipment COCPORN Phead User Forum (read only) 17 2010-01-02 15:19
[semi-OT] What makes something world-class? millionVALVE General Forum (read only) 6 2003-12-01 19:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:02.