Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-11-16, 22:06
PsyTale's Avatar
PsyTale PsyTale is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 801
Questions about Reason Performance..

Hi,

I have a question, it seems that the dsp meter in reason is either not correct or its for another purpose then people seem to think. Lemme give you a breakdown of the situation:



As you can see on the screenshot above the DSP meter is filled. But the cpu usage is a mere 40% most of the time its even lower in this track that i am remixing (Original was made by Diablo75) The limit in the settings is set to none and the multicore rendering thing is enabled aswel (i know this is problably just for the rendering part but i thought id state it anyway.).

So here is my list of questions:

1. Is reason not utilizing the cpu to the max?
2. Is reason not utilizing all the cores in my system?
3. Is the DSP meter a meter that measures capability of a sound interface?
4. Is this a posible harddisk problem (disk to slow or something?) im using 2 western digital black edition disks in raid 0.
5. Is is my ram, do i need more ?!

UPDATE: It seems to only use 4 threads?







UPDATE 2:
During rendering it seems to choose a different processor. I installed a SSD and 12 gb of extra memory this didnt make any difference.

It is starting to look like this DSP thing is related to the soundboard, I am using an Projectmix IO.



Whats happening?!

Thanks!

P.S. Sorry about the size of the screenshot. I was not able to attach it.

Last edited by PsyTale; 2012-11-19 at 20:57. Reason: Found out rendering isnt truely multicore either.
  #2  
Old 2012-11-16, 22:35
TheFatControlleR's Avatar
TheFatControlleR TheFatControlleR is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,389
Talking

__________________
Total numpty doin' his own thing for the craic and relaxation - it's cheaper than a therapist, and more satisfying.
You've heard of The Hit Factory, well, welcome to the Sh!t Factory
~|~
'Going to trial with a lawyer who considers your whole life-style a crime in progress is not a happy prospect.' - Hunter S Thompson
~|~
'Live fat, die young, and leave a self-basting corpse for the burn up...' - TFC
  #3  
Old 2012-11-16, 23:00
PsyTale's Avatar
PsyTale PsyTale is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFatControlleR View Post
Picture of a huge bunny.
I'm always clippin' doc..
  #4  
Old 2012-11-16, 23:03
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
To much stuff, delete it all & all will be cool then!
  #5  
Old 2012-11-17, 15:28
charlycharlzz's Avatar
charlycharlzz charlycharlzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,963
well from what I know about computers multicores I can tell you my opinion on this:
you got way too much stuff like mate say so when reason aint running you have all them tracks on standby using one core so cpu level should be way up and then when you play it would use the other cores ?
try to put more stuff if the bar get low at one point maybe it's because you have make a 2nd core work on that ?
I am not shure ast all about that !
__________________

It's like gambling !!!
but you get something out the slot everytime you click ! lol

▓▓▓
dಠಠb
_(Θ)_

No Respect for the Talion Law , I whant it All !
  #6  
Old 2012-11-17, 16:27
emotica's Avatar
emotica emotica is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,480
As far as I know, Reason can't use HT, so it doesn't use all of your 8 virtual cores.

One of my friends does have an AMD FX8100, which does have "real" 8 cores, no hyper-threading. Reason still only used 4 on his system. DSP meter maxed out, while the overall system performance was at 50%. I remember, how PH stated about the HT thing, from my experience though, it doesn't use up to 8 real cores either.
__________________
IchMensch on SoundCloud | Melopsyched
Studio One | Reason Essentials | Polar | Parsec | Antidote | Uhbik Studio Effects | ReelBus | Barricade | Variety of Sound


Last edited by emotica; 2012-11-17 at 16:34.
  #7  
Old 2012-11-17, 22:19
charlycharlzz's Avatar
charlycharlzz charlycharlzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,963
Thanks for the info
__________________

It's like gambling !!!
but you get something out the slot everytime you click ! lol

▓▓▓
dಠಠb
_(Θ)_

No Respect for the Talion Law , I whant it All !
  #8  
Old 2012-11-17, 22:39
Tck23's Avatar
Tck23 Tck23 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 99
The task manager is beautiful on windows 8
__________________
T.c.k is here
  #9  
Old 2012-11-17, 22:52
bigant's Avatar
bigant bigant is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,427
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsyTale View Post
Hi,

I have a question, it seems that the dsp meter in reason is either not correct or its for another purpose then people seem to think. Lemme give you a breakdown of the situation:



As you can see on the screenshot above the DSP meter is filled. But the cpu usage is a mere 40% most of the time its even lower in this track that i am remixing (Original was made by Diablo75) The limit in the settings is set to none and the multicore rendering thing is enabled aswel (i know this is problably just for the rendering part but i thought id state it anyway.).

So here is my list of questions:

1. Is reason not utilizing the cpu to the max?
2. Is reason not utilizing all the cores in my system?
3. Is the DSP meter a meter that measures capability of a sound interface?
4. Is this a posible harddisk problem (disk to slow or something?) im using 2 western digital black edition disks in raid 0.
5. Is is my ram, do i need more ?!

UPDATE: It seems to only use 4 threads?





Whats happening?!

Thanks!

P.S. Sorry about the size of the screenshot. I was not able to attach it.
How do you draw like that and post a picture of it?
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #10  
Old 2012-11-18, 00:30
DimitrisG DimitrisG is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsyTale View Post

So here is my list of questions:

1. Is reason not utilizing the cpu to the max?
2. Is reason not utilizing all the cores in my system?
3. Is the DSP meter a meter that measures capability of a sound interface?
4. Is this a posible harddisk problem (disk to slow or something?) im using 2 western digital black edition disks in raid 0.
5. Is is my ram, do i need more ?!

UPDATE: It seems to only use 4 threads?
Nice topic! These are also my questions. I have the same problems.

(I think I know a few things... but since I am not an expert I might be wrong)

Unfortunately, it seems that Reason is not utilizing the CPU to max, and I know... that sucks badly. But this is common in many applications, most of them are unable to utilize more than 4 treads.

It has nothing to do with hard disks, for sure. Hard disks are for loading times, especially when there are many audio samples . Your ram plays a minor role to the DSP performance . If your ram in the current song is not maxed-out then its unlikely to affect the DSP performance.

DSP performance is dependent both to the CPU and the sound card's driver. But no doubt the CPU plays the main role.

Some more info about CPUs:

A friend of mine has an AMD Phenom 1100T and Reason is a breeze on that system. In task manager you will see five threads running simultaneously. Its a six core / six threads CPU btw.

I have an Intel 3770K overclocked to 4.5GHz.... :P and it can handle more demanding projects than my friends AMD, but in task manager I see only 3 threads utilized by Reason.

So its not only about Reason but about chipsets and CPU architecture.

I WISH Reason could utilize all the threads though...

*PS don't expect answer from Propellerheads team, many trolls will show up and few will post normal comments. I have had bad experiences with a topic I started before some weeks.

cheers

Last edited by DimitrisG; 2012-11-18 at 00:37.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Propellerheads Online R+R Virtual Jam Colab Idea scottym Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2010-09-13 22:50
wanting to start a new REASON community. come join the team latavish General Forum (read only) 1 2009-06-19 01:45
What is Dan E. and the Yellow Team up to? dawelo1958 Phead User Forum (read only) 9 2008-11-02 18:30
Propellerheads on IRC Pixar General Forum (read only) 1 2003-06-26 01:44
Question for Propellerheads! Bleeetz General Forum (read only) 8 2002-07-30 07:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:50.