Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-11-19, 00:11
akanoworms akanoworms is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Which Midi Keyboard?

I'm new to the forum and just looking for a bit of help getting set up! Laptop is sorted and will be esing essentials. I'm now looking for a small midi controller keyboard and external audio interface, lowcost as I am really doing this for fun more than anything else! I have a couple of questions if anyone can assist:

1 - do I need a midi interface or would a USB midi keyboard work?
2 - if so, does anyone have experience of the Akai Pro MPK mini?
3 - any suggestions on the interface? Ive been looking at the Presonus USB Audiobox but i'm thinking I can save some cost if I don'y need the midi i/o?

Any tips or advice appreciated!
Thanks
  #2  
Old 2012-11-19, 00:44
VillaNDubstep's Avatar
VillaNDubstep VillaNDubstep is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,986
1. usb keyboard will work really well with reason, you don't need any kind of interface to run it
2. Akai are a good brand, i like them. Can't speak for that particular model though
3. If you haven't bought your essentials copy yet then I'd suggest you check out balance. That has reason essentials included for free.
Audio interfaces all depend on your needs so if you list what you might need it for then people will be better off to be able to help you

Lastly, welcome
  #3  
Old 2012-11-19, 08:35
akanoworms akanoworms is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Great that's most helpful. I was lost regarding the keyboard, last time I used midi it.was hooked up to an Atari ST (showing my age there!) Regarding the audio interface, main requirements are:
- Portable
- Mic / instrument inputs ( balanced and line)
- Decent outputs
- Potential also use to catalogue vinyl collection

Have spotted an M audio USB pre, I'm thinking that's the way to go!
  #4  
Old 2012-11-19, 10:23
ryszard's Avatar
ryszard ryszard is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 691
I have the AudioBox and find it useful and adequate. I use USB MIDI for my keyboard and so far haven't needed the 5-pin DIN connector, but I do have some older modules and still might, so I'm glad I have it. You do want some form of audio I/O other than your laptop ports. The only reason you might want more than the AudioBox is for more ports or more than the 48 kHz max sampling rate. It also gives you front-panel hardware control of input levels and separate knobs for headphone and speaker volume--very handy.

By the way, you get a bundled copy of Presonus' Studio One DAW software with it. It doesn't support Rewire (you have to have the full version for that) but it might be fun to play with; I've heard good things about it.

HTH,

Richard
__________________
Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Reason 7, BIAB 2013
Intel i5 2500K 3.3 Ghz, Gigabyte ZX77X-UD3H, 16 Gb Corsair DDR3 RAM
OCZ 60 Gb SSD, WD 1 Tb Caviar Black 7,200 RPM HD
Zotac/Nvidia GeForce GTX 560 2 Gb, NZXT H2 "Silent" case w/liquid cooling
Presonus AudioBox USB, Behringer B2031A, JBL PSW D110 sub

Kennesaw (Atlanta), Georgia, USA

Last edited by ryszard; 2012-11-19 at 10:52.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feature Suggestion: Spider MIDI Splitter stormchild General Forum (read only) 17 2013-04-07 22:26
Midi file does not load in keyboard anndramc Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2007-02-28 21:32
Will Combinator allow live playing of more than 4 instrument jackn2mpu Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2005-02-03 15:58
CAN I MIDI AN EXTERNAL DRUM MACHINE WITH REASON REDCHIN Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2005-01-19 23:52
Why does my MIDI Keyboard NOT work in REASON syrious General Forum (read only) 2 2003-06-24 14:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:40.