Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-11-20, 05:24
jfrichards's Avatar
jfrichards jfrichards is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,021
Super Grouper rack device

How about a rack device that lets you run 32 rack channels through it, but does not merge them, it simply allows parallel control over the channels going through it? This would be for group fading mainly, but could allow group effects also, adding any chosen effect to each channel separately, without doing anything to the settings in the original devices or in the SSL mixer channels.
__________________
John - San Francisco www.soundcloud.com/john-richards
Reason 7; 27" iMac; Akai MPK88; Konnekt6; Amplitube; Miroslav Gold; Fender Strat, Tele, Jazz Bass, Blues Jr III, SCXD; Spector Bass; Agile Les Paul; Ergo Bass; Zero-G Total Rex; Trident A-Range; RE-2A; Vermilion; Creme; Revival; Futurator; Glitch; Logic Studio 9; Reaktor 5.8.
  #2  
Old 2012-11-20, 05:27
normen's Avatar
normen normen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,470
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfrichards View Post
How about a rack device that lets you run 32 rack channels through it, but does not merge them, it simply allows parallel control over the channels going through it? This would be for group fading mainly, but could allow group effects also, adding any chosen effect to each channel separately, without doing anything to the settings in the original devices or in the SSL mixer channels.
You mean like a channel strip but it manipulates many channels of audio? One fader and pan that works on many channels is certainly possible but I don't think a device that internally doubles other devices would work (as in your example: you insert only one device and its used multiple times). There has to be one device that works each audio channel.
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer
  #3  
Old 2012-11-23, 22:08
jfrichards's Avatar
jfrichards jfrichards is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,021
Oops, I guess there already is a group fader function in Reason.

Create a Combinator in the rack (holding down the Shift key).
Add a Pulverizer inside the Combinator (holding down the Shift key) for each device you want to group.
Turn off the Squash, Dirt and Filter on each Pulverizer and set the blend on Dry.
Click the Show Programmer button on the Combinator.
Highlight each Pulverizer and set its Rotary 1 Target on Volume.
Run the audio cables from each rack device (Mix or Audio) that you want grouped into one of the Pulverizers and back into the device.

Now the Rotary 1 knob on the Combinator is a group fader, and it doesn't affect any of the settings on the rack devices or the SSL channels.

I mapped the Combinator Rotary 1 knob to one of the faders on a midi keyboard and it becomes an automatable group fader.
__________________
John - San Francisco www.soundcloud.com/john-richards
Reason 7; 27" iMac; Akai MPK88; Konnekt6; Amplitube; Miroslav Gold; Fender Strat, Tele, Jazz Bass, Blues Jr III, SCXD; Spector Bass; Agile Les Paul; Ergo Bass; Zero-G Total Rex; Trident A-Range; RE-2A; Vermilion; Creme; Revival; Futurator; Glitch; Logic Studio 9; Reaktor 5.8.
  #4  
Old 2012-11-23, 22:29
rogerlevy rogerlevy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfrichards View Post
Oops, I guess there already is a group fader function in Reason.

Create a Combinator in the rack (holding down the Shift key).
Add a Pulverizer inside the Combinator (holding down the Shift key) for each device you want to group.
Turn off the Squash, Dirt and Filter on each Pulverizer and set the blend on Dry.
Click the Show Programmer button on the Combinator.
Highlight each Pulverizer and set its Rotary 1 Target on Volume.
Run the audio cables from each rack device (Mix or Audio) that you want grouped into one of the Pulverizers and back into the device.

Now the Rotary 1 knob on the Combinator is a group fader, and it doesn't affect any of the settings on the rack devices or the SSL channels.

I mapped the Combinator Rotary 1 knob to one of the faders on a midi keyboard and it becomes an automatable group fader.
Huh. Wow. Never thought of doing that. It's not clean, but it sounds like it works.
  #5  
Old 2012-11-24, 01:35
jfrichards's Avatar
jfrichards jfrichards is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,021
Oh it definitely works:



If Ochen K or the Props made a little $5 volume control rack box, you wouldn't even need the Pulveriser. Hint, hint.

And if the little brushed aluminum volume box showed the name of the track device it was coming from, you'd instantly see what was in your group.
__________________
John - San Francisco www.soundcloud.com/john-richards
Reason 7; 27" iMac; Akai MPK88; Konnekt6; Amplitube; Miroslav Gold; Fender Strat, Tele, Jazz Bass, Blues Jr III, SCXD; Spector Bass; Agile Les Paul; Ergo Bass; Zero-G Total Rex; Trident A-Range; RE-2A; Vermilion; Creme; Revival; Futurator; Glitch; Logic Studio 9; Reaktor 5.8.

Last edited by jfrichards; 2012-11-24 at 01:38.
  #6  
Old 2012-11-24, 04:34
selig's Avatar
selig selig is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfrichards View Post
How about a rack device that lets you run 32 rack channels through it, but does not merge them, it simply allows parallel control over the channels going through it? This would be for group fading mainly, but could allow group effects also, adding any chosen effect to each channel separately, without doing anything to the settings in the original devices or in the SSL mixer channels.
Cool idea! This is how my ReHEAT concept works. I would only suggest that the Pulveriser isn't the best choice for this job. First of all, if you're using 100% dry you don't have to worry about turning the other stuff off. But the problem is that it's adding 9 dB of gain in that configuration, and that's probably not what you want. And it's difficult to know how to reduce it's level by 9 dB since it's volume know isn't labeled in dB.

I'd use an MClass Compressor because it as "dB" markings, it defaults to 'unity gain', and I also wonder if it's less CPU intensive because it's a 'native' device and fairly simple (it's just a compressor). When using the MComp you can set Ratio to 1:1 or the Threshold all the way up, to ensure there's no compression happening. :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #7  
Old 2012-11-24, 04:41
rogerlevy rogerlevy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1,899
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
Cool idea! This is how my ReHEAT concept works. I would only suggest that the Pulveriser isn't the best choice for this job. First of all, if you're using 100% dry you don't have to worry about turning the other stuff off. But the problem is that it's adding 9 dB of gain in that configuration, and that's probably not what you want. And it's difficult to know how to reduce it's level by 9 dB since it's volume know isn't labeled in dB.

I'd use an MClass Compressor because it as "dB" markings, it defaults to 'unity gain', and I also wonder if it's less CPU intensive because it's a 'native' device and fairly simple (it's just a compressor). When using the MComp you can set Ratio to 1:1 or the Threshold all the way up, to ensure there's no compression happening. :-)
Heh, we've got that Morfin XF RE now, that's probably the best thing to use, in Linear mode. With that at least you can take volume down to 0%, pretty sure MComp can't.
  #8  
Old 2012-11-24, 06:57
jfrichards's Avatar
jfrichards jfrichards is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by rogerlevy View Post
Heh, we've got that Morfin XF RE now, that's probably the best thing to use, in Linear mode. With that at least you can take volume down to 0%, pretty sure MComp can't.
Yep, that's why I made it with the Pulveriser, the MComp only does -12dB. It actually worked really well with the RE-2A, using the gain with the compression left on about 30. It has a nice sound. I was hoping Props or OchenK would make a simple volume control box.

My ideal box would be one with the name of the source track on the left, a volume knob in the middle, and a Sparkle knob on the right (a 0 to +5 dB 5KHz to 6KHz EQ boost that could be controlled by the Combinator Rotary 2).

But for now, for very simple group fading, this Combinator setup works OK. You can label the Pulveriser with whatever the source track is. Then you can see all the group components when you minimize the Pulverisers.
__________________
John - San Francisco www.soundcloud.com/john-richards
Reason 7; 27" iMac; Akai MPK88; Konnekt6; Amplitube; Miroslav Gold; Fender Strat, Tele, Jazz Bass, Blues Jr III, SCXD; Spector Bass; Agile Les Paul; Ergo Bass; Zero-G Total Rex; Trident A-Range; RE-2A; Vermilion; Creme; Revival; Futurator; Glitch; Logic Studio 9; Reaktor 5.8.
  #9  
Old 2012-11-24, 07:46
jfrichards's Avatar
jfrichards jfrichards is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
it's adding 9 dB of gain in that configuration, and that's probably not what you want. And it's difficult to know how to reduce it's level by 9 dB since it's volume knob isn't labeled in dB.
I found that with the Combinator Rotary 1 set on 70, that set the Pulveriser volume on 55 and that seems to be the same as bypassing the whole thing. Somebody once said that 66 was the magic number for such things, so maybe this is one of those cases.
__________________
John - San Francisco www.soundcloud.com/john-richards
Reason 7; 27" iMac; Akai MPK88; Konnekt6; Amplitube; Miroslav Gold; Fender Strat, Tele, Jazz Bass, Blues Jr III, SCXD; Spector Bass; Agile Les Paul; Ergo Bass; Zero-G Total Rex; Trident A-Range; RE-2A; Vermilion; Creme; Revival; Futurator; Glitch; Logic Studio 9; Reaktor 5.8.

Last edited by jfrichards; 2012-11-24 at 08:15.
  #10  
Old 2012-11-24, 17:12
jfrichards's Avatar
jfrichards jfrichards is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,021
This is how to do a drum group with 7 mics.

I learned that you can set the Target volume range in the Combinator programmer to 52% for each Pulveriser and set the Rotary 1 knob to max (127), and you then have a 0 dB to -56 dB group fader with no gain.

This example shows a 2-bar group fade-in. It's so cool to watch all the Volume knobs in the Pulverisers go from 0 to 52. If anybody wants this Reason file with the Combinator patch and the Pulveriser patch, I could email them to you. Send your email in a Private Message.

__________________
John - San Francisco www.soundcloud.com/john-richards
Reason 7; 27" iMac; Akai MPK88; Konnekt6; Amplitube; Miroslav Gold; Fender Strat, Tele, Jazz Bass, Blues Jr III, SCXD; Spector Bass; Agile Les Paul; Ergo Bass; Zero-G Total Rex; Trident A-Range; RE-2A; Vermilion; Creme; Revival; Futurator; Glitch; Logic Studio 9; Reaktor 5.8.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to quick-jump to rack device for a selected sequencer track? futurepet General Forum (read only) 7 2013-05-31 16:20
Pull those straps tight one more time. Plasma Phead User Forum (read only) 26 2011-08-16 06:28
Codemeter is awesome!!! russweiss General Forum (read only) 10 2010-06-22 23:51
The mystery device can't be rack mounted... saulbass General Forum (read only) 45 2004-11-25 05:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:47.