Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-11-20, 19:21
sagana33's Avatar
sagana33 sagana33 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Question SubTractor -- coming out as stereo?

Basic question about SubTractor:

When I create a SubTractor, the signal that comes out of it is mono. There's only one cable going to the mixer.

So how come I hear the sound on both speakers?

Thanks!
  #2  
Old 2012-11-20, 19:30
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
Strange, you should hear both speakers anyway!

http://www.datafilehost.com/download-67a178a3.html
  #3  
Old 2012-11-20, 19:30
colcifer's Avatar
colcifer colcifer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,518
Unless a sound is panned all the way to one side, it comes put pf both speakers. If it only came out of your left, you wouldn't be able to pan it anywhere else other than far left.
  #4  
Old 2012-11-20, 19:46
djdexta2k djdexta2k is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 160
Mono sound isn't meant to just come out of one side, its just that the left and right side will be EXACTLY the same, the LEFT/MONO input is duplicated in both channels LEFT & RIGHT.
There are times when this is beneficial (bass, lower frequency sounds to stop phase cancellation).

Last edited by djdexta2k; 2012-11-20 at 20:15. Reason: Clearer definition
  #5  
Old 2012-11-20, 20:01
SubTractor's Avatar
SubTractor SubTractor is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mate View Post
Strange, you should hear both speakers anyway!
That's what he said. There is nothing wrong with my output.
  #6  
Old 2012-11-20, 20:31
Sawtooth Sawtooth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mate View Post
Your Spider routing in that file is incorrect.
  #7  
Old 2012-11-20, 20:46
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by SawTooth View Post
Your Spider routing in that file is incorrect.
For me it's cool!

What exactly is incorrect?

You can't do stereo by other way!
  #8  
Old 2012-11-20, 20:53
Sawtooth Sawtooth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mate View Post
What exactly is incorrect?
First you used the merger section instead of the splitter section, and second you should stay in one row.
  #9  
Old 2012-11-20, 20:54
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by SawTooth View Post
First you used the merger section instead of the splitter section, and second you should stay in one row.
Throw me an example, then we'll see... Anyway it will be a fake stereo in merge or split ways!

Last edited by Mate; 2012-11-20 at 20:57.
  #10  
Old 2012-11-20, 20:54
dudelab21's Avatar
dudelab21 dudelab21 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,155
It's funny how Subtractor itself and a Sawtooth comments on this thread...lol Didn't know they can talk...lol
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rewire Stereo Channels SonicDimension Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2010-05-31 21:51
Question with Stereo Imaging... Trnzaddict General Forum (read only) 7 2006-03-04 16:49
mclass stereo imager vs. mono compatibility (?) belbeeta General Forum (read only) 4 2005-04-10 05:06
audio quality when exporting stereo vs splits albertfox General Forum (read only) 5 2003-11-20 18:46
Outputting reason from a mac to a mixer in stereo... Slickie General Forum (read only) 4 2002-08-19 23:54


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:43.