Propellerhead Software
  #31  
Old 2012-11-22, 03:31
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,729
The dongle is a minor irritation. If your new to Reason its nice to know you're buying into something that cannot be pirated, which IMO gives more weight to your purchase, along with all the benefits of being a registered user of course. The Rack Extension / Authorizing / Licensing aspect can be a bit of a hurdle for people. There are guides to show you how this works, and mostly I've found its a completely painless process.

Best advice, as people have said, is to download the demo & give it a whirl
__________________
  #32  
Old 2012-11-22, 04:09
sagana33's Avatar
sagana33 sagana33 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by dreampolice View Post

ok and to the guy whos friend lost his dongle before a gig, just click demo mode and go to town. No need to save a live set. Not sure the issue there.
The issue is, in demo mode Reason does not let me open .rns files -- only create and save new projects.

All the sounds and songs that I use when gigging are .rns files.
No dongle, no .rns files. No .rns files... no gig!

Let me know if I have completely missed something here. (That would be great.)

Apart from that, I very much agree with the points made by dreampolice.
  #33  
Old 2012-11-22, 04:49
reasoner498's Avatar
reasoner498 reasoner498 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by sagana33
All the sounds and songs that I use when gigging are .rns files.
No dongle, no .rns files. No .rns files... no gig!
Reason 6/6.5 will still open .rns files in demo mode, but of course you can't save in this format. Just open Reason, and drag & drop the .rns file onto it.

Another option is to build your instruments as combinator patches, as you can still open .cmb patches in demo mode.

IMO, the dongle should be done away with, and let the codemeter software handle it, since it's running anyways.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
changing tempo with out changing the wav tempo modsoundmind Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2011-11-02 15:23
Best and Worst DAW's boyaka2000 General Forum (read only) 85 2011-08-31 21:11
Changing pitch of vocals jcarnicelli Phead User Forum (read only) 5 2008-08-22 01:07


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:50.