Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-03-04, 05:25
williamcontrol williamcontrol is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
"Midi Input about to overflow" Error Message Help

Hey I'm getting this message "Midi input about to overflow, you computer isn't fast enough" when I am trying to work with reason 4. I don't understand because I am running Leopard on my G5 and I have a dual processor and 2 GB of Ram. can someone help me?
  #2  
Old 2010-03-04, 09:47
RCX-1030's Avatar
RCX-1030 RCX-1030 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,170
hi
i get this sometimes.
give us a run down of what ya using...do you have any motorised faders on any control surfaces? does it happen when you look at instrument patches, or song files etc. when does it generally happen?
regards
danni
__________________
"Some answers simply do not deserve a question." - Dicky Rawlplugs
  #3  
Old 2010-03-04, 09:58
pomo pomo is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8
its happened to me a few times also. usually after a long run of working and oddly, when searching my library for a new device etc. What that has to do with midi overflow still confuses me.

intel mbp 4 gigs of ram, no motorized faders..
  #4  
Old 2010-03-04, 10:21
RCX-1030's Avatar
RCX-1030 RCX-1030 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,170
hello
i used to get it alot...then the bcf2000 i have was replaced and it hardly happens at all now, btw the bcf has motorised faders and by moving through instrument patches quickly, reason/record sends the settings of the instrument to the bcf , which in turn sets the faders in the correct position. i think (although not 100%) that it causes the usb/midi to become "jammed" like too much data is being sent and its not responding quickly enough.

oh and there seems to be a "usb" problem with certain aspects of OSX, so if you are using usb to plug everything in then thats probably why. like i said though its not happened half as much since i replaced the bcf unit.

i dont think there is a clear answer to this one, and its come up more than once on these forums, but it quickly gets forgotten about as it doesn't seem to be a major issue...but i tell thee...it was for me when it was happening everyday...it drove me up the bloody wall !!

feedback is appreciated as i think the more of us highlight this, the quicker a solution can be found.

regards
danni
__________________
"Some answers simply do not deserve a question." - Dicky Rawlplugs
  #5  
Old 2010-03-05, 01:55
williamcontrol williamcontrol is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
I'm not using a midi controller I'm just using a Korg K25 miniature keyboard. That's what is so wierd. This problem shouldn't be happening. AHhhhhhh. Hahaha

What should I do?
  #6  
Old 2010-03-05, 01:56
williamcontrol williamcontrol is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Also I tried plugging in a different keyboard and still had the same problem.
  #7  
Old 2010-03-05, 02:17
RCX-1030's Avatar
RCX-1030 RCX-1030 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3,170
sorry to hear you having this.
an other usb issues?
i occasionally get it like i said in previous post. any better if you restart or rescan midi/reset usb hub (if any),
regards
danni
__________________
"Some answers simply do not deserve a question." - Dicky Rawlplugs
  #8  
Old 2012-11-22, 14:39
Rmase83 Rmase83 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
I'm getting the same issue using a Korg K61 controller. Very frustrating.
  #9  
Old 2012-11-22, 15:45
TreasonLaw's Avatar
TreasonLaw TreasonLaw is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 583
I get this message sometimes, usually always when my MIDI keyboard is switched off. I just have to switch it on to resolve it. I don't know what to suggest though.
__________________
Jordan


http://soundcloud.com/jordanmiller
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Midi Input about to Overflow!" Baritot Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2012-11-22 14:35
Record audio input problems eliterun Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2010-01-30 20:56
Audio Input Program Jeff242 General Forum (read only) 4 2007-01-27 11:31


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:12.