Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-11-27, 09:58
Crution
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Rns files not in Reason Folder

Hello,

Since I installed Reason 3 (still using that) on my new computer the rns files are no longer beeing saved into the Reason folder. I noticed that, but did (unfortunately) not think about it much, since I could still open, save and export my tracks through the program. Now my pc crashed, but I was able to back up my hard drive completely. However I cannot find the rns files anywhere on the hard drive. They have to be somewhere, right? Any ideas? Could they maybe be saved as some kind of library or in a different format?

Help is much appreciated, since every track would be lost if I dont find them!
Thank you!
  #2  
Old 2012-11-27, 10:18
BonezMcCoy's Avatar
BonezMcCoy BonezMcCoy is online now
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,697
First question is: where did you put the old rns files? They do not transfer on their own.
Second: have you looked in your Documents folder? I think they are saved there unless you set up preferences differently.
Third: have you searched for .rns files on your HD? If they are there, you'll find them.
If you need more specialised help, I suggest registering your licence and contacting support on this site.
  #3  
Old 2012-11-27, 10:31
Crution
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'm not sure what you mean by "the old rns files". On my old computer the rns files would just be saved in the program files reason folder. Since I installed it on my new computer, I couldnt find them anymore. I checked my documents folder and ran a search for rns but nothing came up.

I wanted to see if someone had that problem before, before I contact support.
thank you
  #4  
Old 2012-11-27, 10:40
PsyTale's Avatar
PsyTale PsyTale is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crution View Post
I'm not sure what you mean by "the old rns files". On my old computer the rns files would just be saved in the program files reason folder. Since I installed it on my new computer, I couldnt find them anymore. I checked my documents folder and ran a search for rns but nothing came up.

I wanted to see if someone had that problem before, before I contact support.
thank you
Are you expecting your projects .rns files to be transferred to a new install? You need to putt he rns files in a different location and copy them back or point to the other location. If you didn't save them from your old pc then they won't show up on your new one?!
  #5  
Old 2012-11-27, 10:45
Crution
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
No of course not. I copied my complete HD onto an external drive. So I still have all the files, I just cannot find the .rns files anywhere in there. Before, not knowing, where on my HD the .rns filed were saved, wasnt as important, since Reason "knew" it. But now on my reinstalled pc, I obviously have to tell Reason were these files are, only that I dont know that.
  #6  
Old 2012-11-27, 10:46
PsyTale's Avatar
PsyTale PsyTale is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 801
What windows are you using? Mac?
  #7  
Old 2012-11-27, 10:48
Crution
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'm using Windows 7. Two years ago I was still running XP and back then Reason would save the .rns files in the program files Reason folder, that obviously changed on Windows 7
  #8  
Old 2012-11-27, 11:11
PsyTale's Avatar
PsyTale PsyTale is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crution View Post
I'm using Windows 7. Two years ago I was still running XP and back then Reason would save the .rns files in the program files Reason folder, that obviously changed on Windows 7
Check;

C:\ProgramData\Propellerhead Software
C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\Propellerhead Software
  #9  
Old 2012-11-27, 11:30
platzangst's Avatar
platzangst platzangst is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,346
Also: make sure that the .rns extension is not, for whatever reason, set as one of Windows' "hidden file" types.
__________________
Hey go listen to my new album it's almost like music.
Loading SoundCloud…

  #10  
Old 2012-11-27, 11:31
PsyTale's Avatar
PsyTale PsyTale is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by platzangst View Post
Also: make sure that the .rns extension is not, for whatever reason, set as one of Windows' "hidden file" types.
That doesnt matter when searching it would index the *.rns files anyway.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popular Plugins as Combinator Patches NoelGMusic Phead User Forum (read only) 216 2013-09-25 02:12
Reason rewired to SonarHomeStudio (6) xartrax Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2008-09-27 18:08
PROBLEMS SYNCING CUBASE SL AND REASON VIA REWIRE!? Muzak Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2008-08-12 20:26
Reason 3.0, ProTools 6.7 on a PC with Alesis Keyboard jiagap Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2005-08-19 22:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:07.