Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2012-11-28, 02:35
sazi's Avatar
sazi sazi is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anomecron View Post
Lets just copy and past Renoise into a Reason GIF shall we.
Why not buy Renoise and use Rewire - it's stupidly powerful, has great sample editor and can do some insanely complex things to audio but I don't see the purpose of it inside Reason myself either.
"Let's just explain some of the superior benefits with Renoise, and still act ignorant shall we."
You obviosly know what Renoise can do, yet you can't see any benefits with having control and power like that within Reason's interface? The sample-editor alone would be enough for many people to buy a RE like that. When people see how fast and easy it is to program complex beats, breaks and riffs in a tracker, they'd be blown away.

I am a registered user of Renoise. I do use it with Rewire and Reason.

The purpose for having a tracker-like unit inside Reason is because of its samplebased power and control, as you said. However at present I can't master my stuff on Reason without rendering my Renoise-work as wav and importing it into Reason. If Reason had rewire hosting capabilities my problems would be solved.
  #12  
Old 2012-11-28, 05:31
Anomecron's Avatar
Anomecron Anomecron is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,904
Quote:
Originally Posted by sazi View Post
"Let's just explain some of the superior benefits with Renoise, and still act ignorant shall we."
You obviosly know what Renoise can do, yet you can't see any benefits with having control and power like that within Reason's interface? The sample-editor alone would be enough for many people to buy a RE like that. When people see how fast and easy it is to program complex beats, breaks and riffs in a tracker, they'd be blown away.

I am a registered user of Renoise. I do use it with Rewire and Reason.

The purpose for having a tracker-like unit inside Reason is because of its samplebased power and control, as you said. However at present I can't master my stuff on Reason without rendering my Renoise-work as wav and importing it into Reason. If Reason had rewire hosting capabilities my problems would be solved.
Do you think most end users will be able to switch back and forth between a tracker paradigm using key commands and hex entry and midi as it stands in Reason without having ever used it ?
It's a realistic question to ask - some people just don't gel with the tracker paradigm.
People realize how powerful trackers can be.
The way you can scramble a humble break in Renoise can make rex files look like an embarrassment.
I agree with you the audio editor, and the power of Renoise is a huge selling point, never really liked Jeskola Buzz for example but Renoise is a really slick, super stable and incredibly powerful tool.
I also agree that you can get a level of complexity out of trackers that's hard to beat.
I personally think Reason should be updated to have either bidirectional rewire or to operate as either a Rewire Master or Slave - personally one of Renoise's selling points is it's VST compatibility which is a real bonus when dealing with FX within the program itself.
I just wouldn't want 1/4 of a great tracker like applications power bolted into Reason when the sum total of the experience would be lost as a consequence.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason freezes when Pro Tools 002 Rack is powered on Yamasa General Forum (read only) 1 2007-06-12 04:30
Help, my Reason rack will only load VSTs! MIDISwede General Forum (read only) 8 2007-05-28 00:43


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:26.