Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

View Poll Results: Do you want MIDI-Out Reason?
Yes 1,495 92.28%
No 125 7.72%
Voters: 1620. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1581  
Old 2013-03-16, 12:42
normen's Avatar
normen normen is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyluck View Post
LOL I love that people keep voting!
Actually I never voted and just wanted to see the results now
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer
  #1582  
Old 2013-03-16, 13:00
Wyggy Wyggy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by joeyluck View Post
LOL I love that people keep voting!
The question is still relevant. I do not have a fully equipped studio. In fact I do not have a studio at all. What can I do with MIDI-out?
  #1583  
Old 2013-03-16, 13:21
vivadangermouse's Avatar
vivadangermouse vivadangermouse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyggy View Post
What can I do with MIDI-out?
Stare at the feature and go "Oh man, why don't I have any external synths?"
  #1584  
Old 2013-03-16, 13:46
XSTmusic XSTmusic is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 938
I don't care anout synths.

But for a show or play in a bar with a machine like a GT-10 (or Axe FX), you can have all the effects to change at given times directly in the hardware. Even directly control some amplifiers.

Don't have to press on a pedal to switch between clean/distortion or so have a delay/reverb/chorus and whatnot change (on/off or anything else.. duration, level, any parameter you can think of).

That's a big plus for me. You can set up your songs and don't have to look back, ready to jam along and only concentrate on the playing. It's like a cruise control of some sort
  #1585  
Old 2013-03-16, 13:58
Koshdukai's Avatar
Koshdukai Koshdukai is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by XSTmusic View Post
you can have all the effects to change at given times directly in the hardware. Even directly control some amplifiers.

Don't have to press on a pedal to switch between clean/distortion or so have a delay/reverb/chorus and whatnot change (on/off or anything else.. duration, level, any parameter you can think of).

That's a big plus for me. You can set up your songs and don't have to look back, ready to jam along and only concentrate on the playing. It's like a cruise control of some sort
Exactly.

This was also something we could do IF using Reason's Rack effect devices through audio input (not recording, just audio in->FX->out) if latency was usable, all the FX automation could be dealt by the sequencer while playing your acoustics/voice.

Now this became possible also with automating hardware, through MIDI.

...finally
__________________
Suggestions: Tags; Scope; Itch; IK OnlineAuth; New?; +1; RTFM
  #1586  
Old 2013-03-16, 14:26
vivadangermouse's Avatar
vivadangermouse vivadangermouse is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by XSTmusic View Post
I don't care anout synths.

But for a show or play in a bar with a machine like a GT-10 (or Axe FX), you can have all the effects to change at given times directly in the hardware. Even directly control some amplifiers.

Don't have to press on a pedal to switch between clean/distortion or so have a delay/reverb/chorus and whatnot change (on/off or anything else.. duration, level, any parameter you can think of).

That's a big plus for me. You can set up your songs and don't have to look back, ready to jam along and only concentrate on the playing. It's like a cruise control of some sort
That's a very cool concept that I haven't given much thought to since the majority of my instruments are already automated by design. Thanks for sharing!
  #1587  
Old 2013-06-18, 13:37
devilfish's Avatar
devilfish devilfish is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,067
Midi Out has been completed.

this topic can be closed!
  #1588  
Old 2013-06-18, 13:59
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,727
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilfish View Post
Midi Out has been completed.

this topic can be closed!
Indeed

Thanks for everyone's contributions over the years.

And a MASSIVE thank you to the Propellerheads for listening to us
__________________
  #1589  
Old 2013-06-18, 15:37
devilfish's Avatar
devilfish devilfish is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogboy1973 View Post
Indeed

Thanks for everyone's contributions over the years.

And a MASSIVE thank you to the Propellerheads for listening to us
I hope it takes less time with the slow file browser
  #1590  
Old 2013-06-18, 15:46
Exowildebeest Exowildebeest is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogboy1973 View Post
Indeed

Thanks for everyone's contributions over the years.

And a MASSIVE thank you to the Propellerheads for listening to us
Where's your tattoo
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Controlling hardware with MIDI output from Record or Reason demo bighorse Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2010-07-02 04:42
Reason 3 vs Reason 4 AJCC General Forum (read only) 78 2009-05-15 21:49
MIDI Problems on Reason 4 XsharkstaX General Forum (read only) 3 2008-06-08 15:50
Reason sending midi data to Cubase - how do I stop it? NevilleTubb Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2005-08-04 07:17
Reason / DP / OMS Test Results Within... arothman General Forum (read only) 2 2003-03-05 03:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:48.