Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-12-27, 10:15
eXode's Avatar
eXode eXode is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,482
Modular Rack Frame in Reason with 3rd party RE Support

Reason Modular Rack Frame Device

I've been thinking about this request for some time now and thought that now is the time to try and summarize a suggestion.
  • The Modular Rack Frame device in Reason is a device that is at least 3U in height and a full 19" in width. It's a dynamic device that supports modular style modules of certain fixed sizes according to a certain scheme. The size of the modules are as follows:

    6HP, 12HP, 18HP, 24HP, 32HP, etc all growing with 6HP up to 84HP (full rack width).
  • 6HP is great for small utility modules such as buffer, multiple, inverter, ring mod, etc.
  • 12HP is the "standard" size for modules such as VCO's, VCF's, VCA's, LFO's, ADSR's etc.
  • The larger HP formats are suitable for special function modules, sequencers etc.
  • With 12HP modules, 7 will fit in a single rack row. When you have filled up one row, just create another Modular Rack Frame Device.
  • The Modular Rack Frame format is designed in such a way that any 3rd party RE developer can design their own module, single purpose if so desired, and the user can mix and match modules from different developers as they see fit. This enables the user to purchase i.e. the VCO module from developer X and the sequencer module from developer Y.

    I'm open for the suggestion of support for front-side patching, but seeing as the Reason platform is highly modular and has it's patching on the back, it might be a good idea to leave patching as is, i.e. on the back for easier integration with the rest of the Reason environment.
  • Some limitations that I'd personally like to see dealt with is that of the control signals. It would be great if all the cables in the Modular Rack Frame device were equal and that it support full audio-rate modulation between modules (i.e. audio rate FM between oscillators, etc).
I'm sure that there's more to specify regarding this standard but this is it for now!
  #2  
Old 2012-12-27, 13:52
JohannEmmanuel's Avatar
JohannEmmanuel JohannEmmanuel is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,202
I also suggested this in another thread +100000
__________________
Bong on!!
  #3  
Old 2012-12-27, 16:03
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,485
Are you not describing my ReRack idea, adding the the idea of 3rd party support?

This just came up recently in another thread…remember the ReRack? It supports expanded Kong modules, Thor modules, and even modules from the SSL mixer. You can fit up to 16 single-wide modules in a single unit and fully link two devices with a single 'special' cable for 32 single sized units under full control. It supports units from 1u size up to full width (8u), has audio/CV jacks on the back (plus extensive I/O for the master section), plus a full fold-out modulation matrix (via the "show programmer" button, MRBS not shown in the mockup below). All patching supports audio and CV rate I/O, both on the back panel and via the MBRS. It also includes 8 assignable buttons and 8 faders, which can be labeled, as well as supporting unison mode voice count and detune amount. :-)

__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #4  
Old 2012-12-27, 19:33
eXode's Avatar
eXode eXode is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
Are you not describing my ReRack idea, adding the the idea of 3rd party support?
Nope. I wouldn't even call it my idea either. It's a conceptualization of a virtual Eurorack system in Reason based on the sizes of Analogue Systems RS Integrator module series. I chose those sizes because they offer a good divisor of the 84HP that one row of 19" 3U Eurorack offer, and make a potential system easier to fill out compared to if you offered modules that were anything from 1HP to 84HP (including odd sizes).

The Doepfer and Analogue Systems series of Eurorack modules have been available since the mid 90's, thus way older than both Reason or any of your or mine ideas of a modular environment in Reason.
  #5  
Old 2012-12-27, 20:04
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXode View Post
Nope. I wouldn't even call it my idea either. It's a conceptualization of a virtual Eurorack system in Reason based on the sizes of Analogue Systems RS Integrator module series. I chose those sizes because they offer a good divisor of the 84HP that one row of 19" 3U Eurorack offer, and make a potential system easier to fill out compared to if you offered modules that were anything from 1HP to 84HP (including odd sizes).

The Doepfer and Analogue Systems series of Eurorack modules have been available since the mid 90's, thus way older than both Reason or any of your or mine ideas of a modular environment in Reason.
Exode,
I hope my original post didn't sound like I was suggesting you were copying my idea in any way, but do you agree or disagree with the notion that our ideas are extremely similar? [insert comment about 'great minds thinking alike' etc…]

FWIW my idea is based on a 500 series rack, which predates all of those, though I'm not sure what that has to do with anything. ;-)

What other differences do you see? :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #6  
Old 2012-12-27, 20:47
eXode's Avatar
eXode eXode is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
Exode,
I hope my original post didn't sound like I was suggesting you were copying my idea in any way, but do you agree or disagree with the notion that our ideas are extremely similar? [insert comment about 'great minds thinking alike' etc…]

FWIW my idea is based on a 500 series rack, which predates all of those, though I'm not sure what that has to do with anything. ;-)

What other differences do you see? :-)
Great minds think alike!

The biggest difference (albeit a small one) is that your solution involves a top panel with polyphony, controls and a MBRS. Myself, I'm speaking of a very strict barebones system, literally an empty rack holder for modules that allow for patching only.

Something like this really (with support for the already mentioned module sizes)

  #7  
Old 2012-12-27, 23:18
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXode View Post
Great minds think alike!

The biggest difference (albeit a small one) is that your solution involves a top panel with polyphony, controls and a MBRS. Myself, I'm speaking of a very strict barebones system, literally an empty rack holder for modules that allow for patching only.

Something like this really (with support for the already mentioned module sizes)

OK, I'm following you now. Sadly neither of our approaches is possible in a RE format, so both would have to come from the Props IMO. Of course I'd advocate for my system (!), for obvious reasons and also because (if I'm understanding your device correctly) mine does everything your's does and more (presets, master controls, MBRS, internal CVs at audio rate and full polyphony to name a few). My device also provides audio/cv jacks on the rear, so I believe you could still use it like your device if you like, right?

And it's worth pointing out that both approaches allow not just synths, but FX or synths + FX.

But the biggest difference IMO is third party support - by adding third party support you've ensured a diversity of modules in the present and on into the future, which would be awesome IMO. So naturally I want to 'borrow' that idea from your device for my device, with all due respect and credit to you, naturally! :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason 3 vs Reason 4 AJCC General Forum (read only) 78 2009-05-15 21:49
Help, my Reason rack will only load VSTs! MIDISwede General Forum (read only) 8 2007-05-28 00:43
Reason needs support from third parties ekoutalas General Forum (read only) 23 2006-10-05 23:09
Does Reason support these features? Rothgarr General Forum (read only) 23 2004-12-18 06:08
Reason = profesional tool... yes and now (very long ) miziq General Forum (read only) 10 2002-12-19 07:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:17.