Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2012-12-27, 13:48
basedgod basedgod is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 60
FIle has bad format error?

when i try to open this project i made on reason 5 i get this message

File has a bad format

The file "master" has a bad format and can not be loaded.



why is this happening?
can it be fixed?


gosh this was such a awesome melody i had going on
  #2  
Old 2013-04-18, 23:52
basedgod basedgod is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 60
bump.........................
  #3  
Old 2013-04-19, 00:36
pushedbutton's Avatar
pushedbutton pushedbutton is online now
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5,598
Send it to support, they'll probably be able to strip the header and rebuild it for you. I think there was a program knocking about but I've lost track of it. If you've tried to open the file in a newer version of reason it'll probably not work when you take it back to an older version, just a hunch. Reason files don't often screw up but when they do there's not a lot you can do about it on your own. Support are very helpful but you may have to be patient while they're working through beta bugs for the end of month deadline for reason 7.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
This Is My Song
@pushedbutton on twitter
I live in Lancashire, England.
  #4  
Old 2013-04-19, 13:15
marc64's Avatar
marc64 marc64 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 995
i hate when this happend to a track. the props should make a program that fixes this or fix reason so it wont happend at all...
__________________
New webpage with my music and stuff http://kentvalden.se
  #5  
Old 2013-04-25, 10:40
basedgod basedgod is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 60
emailed support
told me they couldn't fix the file

yep im sticking to fl studio
only going to use reason as a vst
  #6  
Old 2013-06-29, 10:19
nahkapiiri nahkapiiri is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
I have had the same problem with a couple of my recent projects on Reason 6.5. Any idea what this is about and, more importantly, how to restore the projects?

Edit: I'm new to this forum, didn't see the replys at first. Damn, seems like there's not much I can do.

Last edited by nahkapiiri; 2013-06-29 at 10:22.
  #7  
Old 2013-06-29, 13:34
PSoames's Avatar
PSoames PSoames is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by nahkapiiri View Post
I have had the same problem with a couple of my recent projects on Reason 6.5. Any idea what this is about and, more importantly, how to restore the projects?

Edit: I'm new to this forum, didn't see the replys at first. Damn, seems like there's not much I can do.
Have you upgraded to 6.5.3?

Doing so, solved my problems when using the PX7 RE.
  #8  
Old 2013-06-29, 17:18
nahkapiiri nahkapiiri is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by PSoames View Post
Have you upgraded to 6.5.3?

Doing so, solved my problems when using the PX7 RE.
I must confess I have been playing around with that synth a lot lately. Could just be the problem here. Now downloading the update. Thanks for the advice, I hadn't even noticed the updates.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RNS file Bad format... marc64 Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2012-11-09 18:08
ReCycle 2.2 problem "The file is in an unknown format or corrupt" shoichi30 General Forum (read only) 1 2011-12-26 11:05
Crap! HEY PROPS!! I'm closing in on 'bad format' error doinky Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2007-10-19 06:03
File System Error eloman1 Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2005-06-02 19:14
Bad File Format with 2.5 in OS X jodillin General Forum (read only) 2 2003-05-10 05:38


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:46.