Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2012-03-21, 21:54
Trestrey's Avatar
Trestrey Trestrey is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Using e-kit w/EZ or Superior Drummer, ultimately tracking into Reason 6

Hi,
I am a home producer trying to use my Yahama DTXplorer e-kit with EZ Drummer(or similar) to be able to ultimately track into Reason 6. In particular, I would like to be able to individually track the drums into Reason 6 so they can be individually mixed and eq'd in my projects.

I am not a drummer by trade, but can play well, and want to be able to lay human drum tracks (via Yamaha DTXplorer e-kit w/3 zone snare pad) to my projects in place of the Reason Octo-Rex loops that I have in most of them, currently. I realize that because I use Reason 6, I am going to need to use an additional host DAW to handle the drum tracks coming from EZ or Superior Drummer (or similar), then "Rewire" that additional DAW into Reason 6. Also, I use an Axiom 25 Midi Keyboard and a Line 6 TonePort UX2 as interfaces with my Mac Mini(dual i7 processors, 8GB ram), i also monitor through the TonePort UX2. I plan to have my DTXplorer connected via MIDI cable to the Axiom 25, which is connected to the MAC via USB 2.

So here are my questions:

1. Given my rig, can I get my Yamaha DTXplorer e-kit to individually track each drum piece's midi and/or audio to Reason 6?

2. In your opinion, what is the best additional DAW to use in this particualr chain to accomplish getting EZ or Superior Drummer(or similar) to track drum pieces, played on my Yamaha e-kit, individually into Reason 6 (only want to use this extra DAW to get the drums to Reason 6), and why?

3. Does my plan of attack make the most sense?

4. Would it be better to send my Yamaha DTXplorer to my computer through my Axiom 25 via Midi Cable, or just use a MIDI to USB connector cable and skip the Axiom 25? Ultimately, does it even matter?

5. How the heck do I actually do all this above?

Reason/Propellerhead is the only DAW I have ever really used. I have spend countless hours getting up to speed with it, and don't want to switch DAWs. I am willing to add another DAW into the equation to accomodate EZ or Superior Drummer(or similar) drums with my e-kit. I am going to buy some kind of Drum Application, and am willing to spend to get it right the first time so my home studio can have a fully functional, individually trackable, e-kit in it.

If someone here knows about what I am after, and is willing to somewhat hold my hand through this, you will likely save me tens of hours, and I will be sure to document my process, and share it with others that are likely looking to do the same thing. I am most appreciative to anyone taking the time to read this and repsond. I love most everything about Reason, and have been able to work effortlessly with it. Tackling the task of encorporating my Yamaha DTXplorer e-kit into my home studio, as an individually trackable drum set, is my last big hurdle in having a totally functioning home production studio. Computers and DAWs are not my strong suit, but I can play everything, and am able to cruise once my settings are good. I make up for gear/tech abilities with playing ability. Please help me!

Thanks again,

Trestrey
  #2  
Old 2012-03-22, 00:46
petegwatson's Avatar
petegwatson petegwatson is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,288
With EZ Drummer or Superior drummer you can assign each sound to it's own audio channel. So you don't need to have the midi on separate channels.

You need to check the manual for your drumkit and check if it transmits fixed midi notes or whether the pads can be assigned. Even if it is fixed it will probably use standard GM (general midi) mapping and that should work fine with EZ kits.

There are lots of DAWs you could choose, Reaper is very cheap and popular.

I would suggest bouncing tracks and importing to Reason for mixing. Rewire can work ok but you cannot use Reason mixer or effects on your drums in you DAW (which you can if your import the audio).
__________________
Pete
London, UK
Soundcloud
  #3  
Old 2013-01-03, 15:57
Congero Congero is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Hi

I don't know if this is a viable solution for your issue but this is something I have done that is sort of a hack to resolve this issue. I use Reason for most of my recording and I was frustrated about not being able to map the DT explorer in Reason.

My fix was to use Superior Drummer with Cakewalk which allowed me to use Superior drummer's mapping feature to correctly map the DT Explorer to the desired drum sounds. Then I would rewire Cakewalk to Reason so I could record the desired drum sounds in sync with the reason tracks.

I admit this is not the most elegant solution and may possibly encounter some latency issues on a slower computer but this was one way to resolve the issue. Hope this helps!
  #4  
Old 2013-01-03, 22:18
QVprod's Avatar
QVprod QVprod is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,586
If you haven't already bought superoir/EZ drummer you might want to consider some of the drum refills such as the Ryan Green Alt Drums here, as well as the relatively new BFD core refill.

The above refills are just as good as EZ drummer with the added bonus of them being compatible with reason. There's also a tutorial series on hooking up an ekit with reason here
Also plenty of results on google.
This might also help with mapping you kit http://midipipe.en.softonic.com/mac

If you still prefer EZ/superior drummer however, you can record the audio directly into reason from the standalone app using soundflower, jack or something similar to route the individual channels. (that is if midi sequncing of the drums isn't a concern for you)

As of midi connections, the axiom isn't necessary if you have a midi to usb cable.

Last edited by QVprod; 2013-01-03 at 22:38.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popular Plugins as Combinator Patches NoelGMusic Phead User Forum (read only) 216 2013-09-25 02:12
Why I simply cannot bring myself to buy Reason kolakube General Forum (read only) 156 2013-03-23 00:37
People just face it; Reason rules again! :) [n/t] eric General Forum (read only) 26 2011-08-02 01:49
How do I solve that factory sound bank thingie? vectro Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2009-05-19 20:11
My Reason 3 workflow and general thoughts about Reason 4 Andrew108 General Forum (read only) 7 2007-02-12 10:17


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:09.