Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-01-07, 04:47
KingNate88 KingNate88 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 13
Looking to get a Mac.

So Im looking to get a Mac. As of now i'm running a HP G36 and all it takes is one nice combinator to spike my ram to where i cant even finish songs.

Any sugguestions on a Mac where I could run Reason 6.5 with no issues?
Not too familiar with Mac models.
  #2  
Old 2013-01-07, 05:31
dreampolice's Avatar
dreampolice dreampolice is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,045
How much do you want to spend?
__________________
http://drunkpedestrians.com/
  #3  
Old 2013-01-07, 07:20
QVprod's Avatar
QVprod QVprod is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,591
All macs will run Reason well. You're pretty much good with any of them. Everything else comes down to whether you want your mac to be expandable (able to upgrade hard drives, ram...etc...) Afaik the mackbook air and the retina display macbook pro are not. All the other specs are just the same as any pc you would look at.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…

Website
  #4  
Old 2013-01-07, 08:47
rVOLT's Avatar
rVOLT rVOLT is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 666
Thumbs up

Go look at the new iMac 27... 32 gb i7 mmmmm Its about as thick as an Ipad now too. They're seriously nice.
__________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/rvolt
  #5  
Old 2013-01-07, 09:41
gwynebiau's Avatar
gwynebiau gwynebiau is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,360
Right now I'd either buy a 27" iMac or a Mac Mini, unless you really want a laptop in which case I'd get a MacBook Pro. In any case try to get an i7 processor if you can and buy extra RAM separately to install yourself (it's easy).

Right now I would not buy a 21" iMac or a Mac Pro (although next year when they get a good update I want to buy a Mac Pro), and I would not recommend a low end laptop for Reason.

Right now I'm using one of the latest model Mac Minis with an i7 processor and I put in 16 gigs of RAM myself. My only complaint with it really is that the Intel HD 4000 it uses for video is a bit on the low end for some games or other heavy graphics work, but for Reason it's working well.

If you care about high graphics performance or you want a nice display with it, I'd definitely go with the 27" iMac. You'll also get better performance for a longer time since it's got a faster processor.
  #6  
Old 2013-01-07, 18:16
am0eba's Avatar
am0eba am0eba is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 365
Just a note, for MacBook pro, you can no longer buy/install 3rd party memory chips. It's all integrated, as is the flash hard drive, so you must purchase everything you want up front from Apple...

_Dave_
__________________
"F" the ineffable!

http://soundcloud.com/am0eba

Loading SoundCloud…
  #7  
Old 2013-01-07, 20:50
cisplatin271's Avatar
cisplatin271 cisplatin271 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 31
Yeah... I agree. I got one of the last late 2011 imac 27s. it is peaked at 16 g ram, and I only have 12 g ram but it runs like a champ. never crashed yet, I admit only to only stacking with 6 items in the combinator but it works great. I added an external 4 channel lexicon omega sound card with awesome results.
  #8  
Old 2013-01-07, 20:53
QVprod's Avatar
QVprod QVprod is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,591
Quote:
Originally Posted by am0eba View Post
Just a note, for MacBook pro, you can no longer buy/install 3rd party memory chips. It's all integrated, as is the flash hard drive, so you must purchase everything you want up front from Apple...

_Dave_
Just for clarity, that's only the case with with the retina display macbook pro. The regular ones are still upgradeble without ordering from apple. They still use seagate hard drives afaik (for example) which can be bought externally for cheaper than from apple. only thing that can't be upgraded is the processor.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…

Website
  #9  
Old 2013-01-07, 21:33
arnoleri arnoleri is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 24
It will always depend on what you are running in 6.5.

I have 32GB of RAM and have yet to run out because of Reason, but it will probably happen eventually if I don't start converting more midi tracks to audio.

But why get a Mac when you will get more RAM and a faster CPU for the same amount of money if you buy or build a windows machine? Better yet, build a Windows machine and make it compatible with the Mac operating system like I did (I did it mainly because my audio interface only works for Macs and I didn't wanna buy another). Then, you will get the best of both worlds.
  #10  
Old 2013-01-08, 03:02
gwynebiau's Avatar
gwynebiau gwynebiau is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 2,360
I'm not sure that's the best of both worlds...there's a lot of hardware out there that is low quality or just doesn't work well with other things, and if you similar quality hardware you're probably not going to save much money.

Plus running MacOS on a home-built computer is not supported and even if you only get hardware that works with it you can easily waste a lot of time. Maybe it's worth the trouble if you're on a very tight budget, but if you can afford to just buy a Mac I think it's well worth it.

As for a cheap PC running windows...well...I think that's one of the best things about having a Mac - I don't have to deal with windows bullshit or half-assed garbage hardware that a lot of PC manufacturers (and even manufacturers of many off-the-shelf parts) sell anymore, and I don't give money to what I consider one of the worst companies in the history of computers.

...although if Apple continues with certain practices like soldering RAM into some models I'm going to be very disappointed in them too. That's why I don't recommend some models like the 21" iMac right now by the way.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:28.