Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

View Poll Results: Do you want MIDI-Out Reason?
Yes 1,495 92.28%
No 125 7.72%
Voters: 1620. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1591  
Old 2013-06-30, 22:54
devilfish's Avatar
devilfish devilfish is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,076
mhh...

the first post was 5/30/2011
it tooks 2 years to get midi-out ...

@props:

8 months left for a faster file browser!
  #1592  
Old 2013-06-30, 23:10
Koshdukai's Avatar
Koshdukai Koshdukai is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 4,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by devilfish View Post
mhh...

the first post was 5/30/2011
it tooks 2 years to get midi-out ...

@props:

8 months left for a faster file browser!
hmmm.. not really.

2003-12-15 Jorim Now for my special needs...

2003-12-16 adfielding Audio-in!! MIDI-out!! VST(i)...

2004-01-21 metalingo Flame me, please.

...etc...

2009-09-16 Dogboy1973 The official 'MIDI-Out for Record' thread

...

I guess Reason users learned early on to be a patient bunch...

"Enjoy what you have while waiting for what's missing" kinda motto.
__________________
Suggestions: Tags; Scope; Itch; IK OnlineAuth; New?; +1; RTFM

Last edited by Koshdukai; 2013-06-30 at 23:15.
  #1593  
Old 2013-07-01, 03:23
emersound's Avatar
emersound emersound is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 57
the funny story about this thread is that it's already there on reason 7.
  #1594  
Old 2013-07-01, 06:18
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exowildebeest View Post
Where's your tattoo
It's coming Still not working full time in Oz so money's too tight to mention! Priority is get a job, build new PC, install Reason 7 & get up to speed. I'm using Reason 7 on a relative's PC but obviously none of my kit is hooked up to this one. Very frustrating ....... maybe I can swap the innards when nobody is looking?

Quote:
Originally Posted by emersound View Post
the funny story about this thread is that it's already there on reason 7.
The thread was started around 3 years ago!
__________________
  #1595  
Old 2013-10-01, 16:02
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,730
FINALLY got Reason 7 on my main machine after FINALLY getting Windows 7. Performance is poor as I've still not upgraded the guts of my PC. But MIDI performance seems very bloody tight Works a treat. Very good stuff (as I always knew it would be from the Props) I can't believe after wanting MIDI-out for so long in Reason it then took me another year or so to get on board!! Jeez that was painful. Never again. Just glad I finally got there
__________________
  #1596  
Old 2013-10-01, 18:28
mcatalao's Avatar
mcatalao mcatalao is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,432
Yeah man it took it time.

But i am glad we have it now!
__________________
Good Luck,
MC
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Configure Multiple Behringer BCF2000 on Reason 6:
https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...992#post903992
  #1597  
Old 2013-10-01, 18:30
phasys's Avatar
phasys phasys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,891
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogboy1973 View Post
FINALLY got Reason 7 on my main machine after FINALLY getting Windows 7. Performance is poor as I've still not upgraded the guts of my PC. But MIDI performance seems very bloody tight Works a treat. Very good stuff (as I always knew it would be from the Props) I can't believe after wanting MIDI-out for so long in Reason it then took me another year or so to get on board!! Jeez that was painful. Never again. Just glad I finally got there
Sucks to be you bro!!! Haha welcome back.
__________________
"Having unlimited choices can paralyze you creatively." - David Byrne

"Some questions simply do not deserve an answer." - Richard Dawkins

https://soundcloud.com/dutch-bastard

omfg one million megahurz CPU
  #1598  
Old 2013-10-01, 22:25
Dogboy1973's Avatar
Dogboy1973 Dogboy1973 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 4,730
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcatalao View Post
Yeah man it took it time.

But i am glad we have it now!
I took my time! I was most vocal about MIDI-out and probably last to get things up and running, although I have had Reason since soon after it was launched Windows 7 and my PC were the missing links. Glad to get it sorted finally.

The EMI works so well. As with most things Propellerhead do when they do it they do so better than most. MIDI-output shouldn't be a big deal bit with many DAWs I've used it feels very clumsy, awkward and often confusing to set-up basic stuff. Not so with the EMI. It's a sublime implementation of the technology.
__________________
  #1599  
Old 2013-10-05, 21:11
chrisbern's Avatar
chrisbern chrisbern is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 220
There is already any better way to record external VST instruments in Reason? Something nicer and more easy than this methods with virtual cables ect?
  #1600  
Old 2013-10-05, 21:31
BonezMcCoy's Avatar
BonezMcCoy BonezMcCoy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6,702
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisbern View Post
There is already any better way to record external VST instruments in Reason? Something nicer and more easy than this methods with virtual cables ect?
The ONLY way is with virtual cables. You know, ReWire, AudioUnits, VST, AAX, etc, ARE virtual cables so you can connect apps. Since Reason does not support in its code any protocol other than ReWire (but acting as slave only), the only alternative is to use Soundflower, Jack, or any other similar protocol that works as a multi-channel audio driver. Even if Propellerhead coded their own, it would still work as Soundflower and Jack, though they could certainly make it less confusing than Jack seems to be.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Controlling hardware with MIDI output from Record or Reason demo bighorse Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2010-07-02 04:42
Reason 3 vs Reason 4 AJCC General Forum (read only) 78 2009-05-15 21:49
MIDI Problems on Reason 4 XsharkstaX General Forum (read only) 3 2008-06-08 15:50
Reason sending midi data to Cubase - how do I stop it? NevilleTubb Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2005-08-04 07:17
Reason / DP / OMS Test Results Within... arothman General Forum (read only) 2 2003-03-05 03:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:05.