Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-01-10, 13:17
emperium emperium is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
Red face How to record "what im hearing on the mac"

How do i set my mac to record the music playing in my itunes player for example in reason 6.5?
i dont need answers on how i can make wave files in audacity but how to record directly in reason the sounds playing on the computer. it was possible in the old days.
  #2  
Old 2013-01-10, 14:09
3rdFloorSound's Avatar
3rdFloorSound 3rdFloorSound is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10,762
Not positive, as I'm a windows guy and this one is mac only, but I'm pretty sure the program I've seen people mention for routing internal sounds to reason is Soundflower.
__________________
  #3  
Old 2013-01-10, 15:16
rVOLT's Avatar
rVOLT rVOLT is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 666
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3rdFloorSound View Post
Not positive, as I'm a windows guy and this one is mac only, but I'm pretty sure the program I've seen people mention for routing internal sounds to reason is Soundflower.
In system pref / sound
change your input to your desired source.

I think thats all...
__________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/rvolt
  #4  
Old 2013-01-10, 17:47
releaux's Avatar
releaux releaux is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 21
Soundflower is definitely your friend here.
  #5  
Old 2013-01-10, 18:35
reason2dance's Avatar
reason2dance reason2dance is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 2,538
This tool is very useful for this:

http://www.ambrosiasw.com/utilities/wiretap/
  #6  
Old 2013-01-10, 20:34
plaamook's Avatar
plaamook plaamook is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,222
yeah, soundflower. just be sure to turn reason's master out off or you'll get all kinds of feedback.
  #7  
Old 2013-01-10, 20:39
dioxide's Avatar
dioxide dioxide is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,288
I recommend http://www.rogueamoeba.com/audiohijackpro/

I've not tried it but this might be worth a look too:
http://rogueamoeba.com/piezo/
  #8  
Old 2013-01-10, 21:32
releaux's Avatar
releaux releaux is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 21
Soundflower has the benefit of being free, but if you have the money to spend, both the Wiretap and Audio Hijack Pro options mentioned above will provide more features and less configuration wonkiness.
__________________
--
raytoler.com
My Soundcloud page
  #9  
Old 2013-01-10, 21:43
reason2dance's Avatar
reason2dance reason2dance is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 2,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by releaux View Post
Soundflower has the benefit of being free, but if you have the money to spend, both the Wiretap and Audio Hijack Pro options mentioned above will provide more features and less configuration wonkiness.
Absolutely. If you use this function very often, it's money well spent.

@emperium:

You could use Snapz Pro X for this, too.

http://www.ambrosiasw.com/utilities/snapzprox/

A brilliant screen capturing tool, which also can record audio. After a recording you can save just the audio track und dump the video part...
  #10  
Old 2013-01-10, 21:56
reason2dance's Avatar
reason2dance reason2dance is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 2,538
Quote:
Originally Posted by dioxide View Post
I've not tried it but this might be worth a look too:
http://rogueamoeba.com/piezo/
This is definitely a cool tool. Imagine this would be a Rack Extension with audio directly streaming into an audio track within Reason ...
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Record using Record with ReWire KidBomba Phead User Forum (read only) 4 2011-07-08 20:48
Record and why 'professionals" might not touch it Alchemium Phead User Forum (read only) 82 2011-06-22 21:58
Record 1.5 problem - can't authorize! Pat303 General Forum (read only) 21 2011-04-21 10:42
Can I open Reason Separately from Record? and Record with Pro Tools? JMRobins General Forum (read only) 7 2010-06-02 16:22
Cubase + Record + ReWire -- how do I record audio in Record? navaira Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2009-12-30 15:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:53.