Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-01-14, 20:06
anonymouslyricist anonymouslyricist is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Exclamation Sharing reason 6 with a buddy ?

I just purchased a balance so now I don't need the ignition USB key , anyway I have a buddy that I collab with but we are not on the same page because he has reason 3 and I have 6 . Can I let him use my ignition key and have him download reason 6.5 from the website so we can collab and send songs back and forth ?
  #2  
Old 2013-01-14, 20:24
Despondo's Avatar
Despondo Despondo is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 365
In a word, no. He'd have to upgrade from 3 to 6.5 to be legal.
  #3  
Old 2013-01-14, 20:27
anonymouslyricist anonymouslyricist is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
So I can't put my reason 6 on his computer ? It's legit I'm not trying to scam anyone it's just so we can make music together
  #4  
Old 2013-01-14, 20:33
RXTX's Avatar
RXTX RXTX is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 562
That's an interesting question. Technically you're allowed to install Reason on as many computers as you like, but you're not allowed to run two instances of the same license simultaneously.

But if you have Balance AND an ignition key, it seems Props can't stop you from doing so. Loophole?
  #5  
Old 2013-01-14, 21:33
anonymouslyricist anonymouslyricist is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
It's just that it would be easier if I kept the ignition key at his house that way we don't have to pack up our gear and bring it back and forth . Plus he has a Mac an I have a pc and he has a apogee interface . So that's why I am asking .
  #6  
Old 2013-01-14, 22:01
Arsenic's Avatar
Arsenic Arsenic is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 708
The official line - from the EULA:

1.Use of the Software
a. Unless otherwise specified, this license is your personal license and the software may only be used by you.

c. At any given time, you may only use the software on as many computers as your license permits. Unless specifically specified, licenses are single user licenses and may only be used on one computer at a time.
  #7  
Old 2013-01-14, 22:07
Spectrephonic's Avatar
Spectrephonic Spectrephonic is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,498
I don't believe you can use both (key and balance), but I am not sure. I think you can activate only one at the time.
__________________
Did someone already made the Kessel Run with less than twelve Parsecs?

Loading SoundCloud…
  #8  
Old 2013-01-14, 22:09
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectrephonic View Post
I don't believe you can use both (key and balance), but I am not sure. I think you can activate only one at the time.
He don't need more than one at the time, while he making track his buddy resting, while his buddy making a track he's resting!
  #9  
Old 2013-01-14, 22:55
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is online now
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectrephonic View Post
I don't believe you can use both (key and balance), but I am not sure. I think you can activate only one at the time.
Actually, owners of Balance and those in possession of an Ignition Key are allowed to authorize both at the same time. The ELUA still prohibits running more than one instance at a time, though, and they are supposed to be in possession of the licensee.
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
  #10  
Old 2013-01-14, 22:59
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnochLight View Post
Actually, owners of Balance and those in possession of an Ignition Key are allowed to authorize both at the same time. The ELUA still prohibits running more than one instance at a time, though, and they are supposed to be in possession of the licensee.
So he can lend IK to his friend & use Balance as IK for himself & they could use it back & forth, I mean as I've said in the my previous post!
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More RE cpu usage madness vs VST/AU - Softube TheodoreM Phead User Forum (read only) 253 2013-06-17 15:26
Does Reason Block the Midi Signal to other PLugins? bifbangpow General Forum (read only) 7 2013-01-04 19:38
People just face it; Reason rules again! :) [n/t] eric General Forum (read only) 26 2011-08-02 01:49
How do I solve that factory sound bank thingie? vectro Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2009-05-19 20:11
Reason rewired to SonarHomeStudio (6) xartrax Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2008-09-27 18:08


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:50.