Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-01-15, 15:36
dacess123 dacess123 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 252
Scream Oversampling

Hi Props

Any chance of fitting Scream with an oversampling button on the next version?

Thanks in advance ;-)
__________________
Check out the links below to hear Music I've made using Reason!

http://www.patrickjay.co.uk/
http://soundcloud.com/search?q%5Bfulltext%5D=patrickjay
  #2  
Old 2013-01-18, 00:14
qwan qwan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 136
what would oversampling do? I guess I could google it, but I am too lazy...
  #3  
Old 2013-01-18, 12:38
dacess123 dacess123 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 252
Try this, start a new project and set your audio preferences sample rate to 44100 Hz. Create a simple synth pad patch (or whatever you like, but something which has a wide freq range) then add a scream unit at the end of the chain and play about with it for a while. Now, change your sample rate to 88200 Hz and play the same sound... Hear the difference? In my opinion the distortion sounds more pleasant in 88200. Try tweaking the settings and trying different algorithms...

I believe oversampling doubles/quadruples the sample rate inside that particular unit, so I'm hoping that if oversampling could be added to Scream, the output would come out sounding more like the 88200 Hz version.
__________________
Check out the links below to hear Music I've made using Reason!

http://www.patrickjay.co.uk/
http://soundcloud.com/search?q%5Bfulltext%5D=patrickjay
  #4  
Old 2013-01-18, 13:43
devilfish's Avatar
devilfish devilfish is online now
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,070
Smile

@dacess

you bring me an idea !
thanks a lot my friend
  #5  
Old 2013-01-18, 14:52
dacess123 dacess123 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 252
@devilfish

hmmm, what idea is this then? :-)
__________________
Check out the links below to hear Music I've made using Reason!

http://www.patrickjay.co.uk/
http://soundcloud.com/search?q%5Bfulltext%5D=patrickjay
  #6  
Old 2013-01-18, 22:46
qwan qwan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by dacess123 View Post
Try this, start a new project and set your audio preferences sample rate to 44100 Hz. Create a simple synth pad patch (or whatever you like, but something which has a wide freq range) then add a scream unit at the end of the chain and play about with it for a while. Now, change your sample rate to 88200 Hz and play the same sound... Hear the difference? In my opinion the distortion sounds more pleasant in 88200. Try tweaking the settings and trying different algorithms...

I believe oversampling doubles/quadruples the sample rate inside that particular unit, so I'm hoping that if oversampling could be added to Scream, the output would come out sounding more like the 88200 Hz version.
I will try this when I get home tonight, and report back
  #7  
Old 2013-01-19, 08:24
eXode's Avatar
eXode eXode is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,486
Why only Scream?

I'd like to see it for all devices!
  #8  
Old 2013-01-19, 15:19
jlgrimes jlgrimes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXode View Post
Agreed.

This actually could benefit most Reason devices ESP the synths.
  #9  
Old 2013-01-21, 16:49
dacess123 dacess123 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 252
I didn't really notice much difference on the other devices I checked but that was only on Thor, Subtractor, MClass EQ and Comp. I'm being biased because I use Scream quite a lot but I have to say, I bought RP Distort last week and I'm liking the sound of it so far :-) I haven't even tested it at 88200 because it sounds so darn good already!
__________________
Check out the links below to hear Music I've made using Reason!

http://www.patrickjay.co.uk/
http://soundcloud.com/search?q%5Bfulltext%5D=patrickjay
  #10  
Old 2013-01-21, 17:44
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,500
Here's my confusion: oversampling addresses aliasing. When Predator came out I compared it's aliasing to Thor and Predator was much worse (Thor was quite impressive, btw). Predator has been updated, and my trial expired before I could compare them again, but still…

Problem for me is, Predator has 32x oversampling and Thor (supposedly) has none. So I'm confused why folks think that oversampling will automagically fix things that in some cases aren't even an issue in the first place? As always, I'm open to the fact I may be mis-representing the issue here or unaware of things that could have led me to different conclusions…

So my question is; in exchange for the CPU hit, what do you expect oversampling to do for you?
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scream 4 (again) nega9000 General Forum (read only) 0 2006-06-30 20:40
Bypassing Scream in Aux Rox ctreitzell General Forum (read only) 0 2003-06-24 13:43
Scream on my guitar! millionVALVE General Forum (read only) 8 2003-05-17 00:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:42.