Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #141  
Old 2013-01-14, 13:53
devilfish's Avatar
devilfish devilfish is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,067
this Post and the idea behind it, should be supported
  #142  
Old 2013-01-15, 00:28
pjeudy's Avatar
pjeudy pjeudy is online now
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 586
Dude You are Mixing your apples and your Oranges !! The Answer to your own dilemma regarding Sounds in Reason not being as good, is in your own post ! ;-)
Read your own quotes :

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djwill1s View Post
Listen to artists such as Lucky Date (who exclusively use Reason) and you'll hear them make proffesional sounds
Ok I agree he's good ...go on..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djwill1s View Post
That said no matter how long I try and work on a patch, or indeed use somebody elses patch I still can't get sounds that are as "big" or clean as what producers get with Sylenth1
OK ...go on..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djwill1s View Post
I think the sound design isn't quite as good as some other softwares
Wait what !?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djwill1s View Post
I can't see the sound quality being addressed any time soon
What The F ?


If Luckydate creates those sounds with REASON, and you can't make your sounds as big etc.... why is that a Reason Issue and not a user issue ?

You Mention the power of Sylenth1! Sylenth sound design is perfect for the genre of music that you probably like righT. Well that's because of the sound designers not just the Synth !!!

you want proof ? there ya go ..ALL REASON AT WORK

https://soundcloud.com/vengeancesoun...e-sound-com-15

http://therefillshop.com/products/th...-house-dubstep
https://soundcloud.com/luckydaterefi...l-4-demo-click

http://www.loopmasters.com/product/d...inator-Presets

etc..... By the way the one From Vengeance all those patches are "ALL THOR" not a single other rack effect. So where's the sound issue I don't hear it! All I hear is great sound designers !

Last edited by pjeudy; 2013-01-16 at 01:40.
  #143  
Old 2013-01-16, 09:35
JensenTNI JensenTNI is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 780
A good synth sounds good even without tones of effects make to make it sound good. I have yet to find a synth in Reason that does exactly that: sound good without effects. Saying that, applying effects can make the Reason synths sound very good and in the end I guess it’s the results that count and not how they were achieved.

And yes, there IS such a thing as "The Reason Sound" absolutely yes. You can recognize it, you can hear when a Scream was applied, you can recognize a Malström synth and even the Reason Piano and string sound banks are recognizable. Is it everybody's cup of tea, certainly not but it’s an option nonetheless
  #144  
Old 2013-01-16, 11:27
normen's Avatar
normen normen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by JensenTNI View Post
A good synth sounds good even without tones of effects make to make it sound good. I have yet to find a synth in Reason that does exactly that: sound good without effects. Saying that, applying effects can make the Reason synths sound very good and in the end I guess it’s the results that count and not how they were achieved.

And yes, there IS such a thing as "The Reason Sound" absolutely yes. You can recognize it, you can hear when a Scream was applied, you can recognize a Malström synth and even the Reason Piano and string sound banks are recognizable. Is it everybody's cup of tea, certainly not but it’s an option nonetheless
What exactly is the "synth" to you? Like the oscillator or what? I guess you just don't see the modulators and effects settings in your hardware cause its some sub-menu... Also, if you only listen to presets you will always hear some sound, namely the preset designers taste.
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer
  #145  
Old 2013-01-16, 12:22
JensenTNI JensenTNI is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 780
For me the synth is the oscilators, the filters and the method of synthesis (if any other than analog imitation). Every synth in Reason has its own flavor, the Thor sounds instantly different than the Malström and the Subtractor and even now the PX7, even at very basic settings. Its mostly the filters in the end, I agree but not always (e.g. Malström). I can not make them all sound exactly the same and why would I want to. This is not what I referred to anyway, the subject would be more, what can you do with the sound the synth creates without applying external effects? That is the synthesis I'm talking about.
  #146  
Old 2013-01-16, 12:39
nhsh nhsh is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by JensenTNI View Post
And yes, there IS such a thing as "The Reason Sound" absolutely yes. You can recognize it, you can hear when a Scream was applied, you can recognize a Malström synth and even the Reason Piano and string sound banks are recognizable. Is it everybody's cup of tea, certainly not but it’s an option nonetheless [/COLOR]
But a Scream or a Malstrom doesn't sound like Reason Piano or string sound bank, like there's some inexplicable taint to the sound. So it's not a Reason sound. All your saying is different sound devices sound different. What do you want, a f---ing Nobel prize?
  #147  
Old 2013-01-16, 12:52
JensenTNI JensenTNI is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 780
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhsh View Post
But a Scream or a Malstrom doesn't sound like Reason Piano or string sound bank, like there's some inexplicable taint to the sound. So it's not a Reason sound. All your saying is different sound devices sound different. What do you want, a f---ing Nobel prize?
Sure, if you give me the f---ing Nobel prize, I take it

And no, you did not get what I was saying. Do you have a Scream or Malström in any other application than Reason? No. So its a Reason specific device/sound. Because without devices in Reason you will have no sound at all, yes? And the Reason Piano and String soundbanks where recorded for Reason and not Contact or whatever, so they are Reason specific as well. Sure, not the original pianos and strings that were recorded, that of course is not Reason specific. But the soundbacks have their own character. And I did not speak about taint, did I say anything dismissive about the sound? No, I said Reason typical and not in a negative way

Last edited by JensenTNI; 2013-01-16 at 13:34.
  #148  
Old 2013-01-16, 13:47
nhsh nhsh is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 413
Lol I get you now! There is no Reason sound, except Reason makes sounds, and what sounds it does make or offer up in the form of readily accessed settings, pragmatic sound design potential and sound bank presets could legitimately be called Reason sounds, the sum of which could be called the Reason sound. So there is and there isn't a Reason sound. I agree entirely! I'll put the kettle on.
  #149  
Old 2013-02-06, 23:21
aubynprod aubynprod is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 9
Did this thread happen exactly the same on another forum but with reason and cubase substituted for x and y but the first page was exactly the same ... or am i losing it?
  #150  
Old 2013-02-07, 03:07
tylae's Avatar
tylae tylae is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
1.) learn how to tweak.

2.) a bad workman blames his tools

3.) evolution of sound

-tyler rae
-lyter era
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freemasons Propellerhead Record Article kultan Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2010-12-08 16:48
Work, work and more work. PapaPajamma General Forum (read only) 19 2010-11-17 17:48
Reason's pop culture references... Matti General Forum (read only) 27 2010-11-08 07:02
Audio Input Program Jeff242 General Forum (read only) 4 2007-01-27 11:31
can't get reason 3 to save my work any more please help!! JOEMANDEL General Forum (read only) 2 2006-09-19 00:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:41.