Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-01-30, 02:39
luisherno
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Can I buy only Reason 6 Update if my copy of R5 is not original?

Hi.
Some time ago I downloaded Reason 5 because someone recommended it to me, with the purpose of trying it before I buy it. It came with a serial number and works fine. But now that I have used it for a while, I'm a big fan of the product and I'm interested on buying it. The question is, can I just buy the update even if the copy of Reason 5 is not original or I have to buy the whole version, which is like 4 times more expensive than the 1st option??? Does anyone in this forum have a similar case?? Hope you can help me. Greetings from Mexico and sorry for my bad english

Last edited by luisherno; 2013-01-30 at 02:41. Reason: I wrote something wrong
  #2  
Old 2013-01-30, 02:45
SteveDiverse's Avatar
SteveDiverse SteveDiverse is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,612
You can only upgrade a legit version of reason.

The first time you buy Reason, you have to buy a full version, which gives you a full/base license.

the upgrade license is linked to the original base license.

what you can do is look on ebay and other sources, including posting here, to purchase any older version of reason...once you own a legit older version, you can purchase the upgrade.

before you set out to purchase a used copy of reason, i suggest you read both the buying and selling sections at this link: https://www.propellerheads.se/suppor...ion=buyandsell

with a little effort, you should be able to get a used copy of an older version of reason.

good luck.
__________________

HP Pavillion DV7T-3300 Laptop | i7 Q720 @ 1.6 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win7 Pro 64-bit
m-audio Axiom Pro 61 keyboard controller || iPad2 | RetouchControl DUO | TouchOSC | LoopBe30 MIDI
m-audio Mobile Pre USB (original) audio interface | ASIO4ALL || RØDE NT-3 mic
Reason 6.5.3 || Pulsar | Saturation Knob | Rough Rider | TSAR-1 | Uhbik-A | Re-Tron | Polar | Echobode | Uhbik Q | Uhbik F | Morfin XF | Uhbik S | Uhbik D | Uhbik G | CV Suite Line Processor | wbl5515 | Uhbik P | RE-2A | Radical Piano
  #3  
Old 2013-01-30, 06:17
reasoner498's Avatar
reasoner498 reasoner498 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveDiverse View Post
You can only upgrade a legit version of reason.

The first time you buy Reason, you have to buy a full version, which gives you a full/base license.

the upgrade license is linked to the original base license.

what you can do is look on ebay and other sources, including posting here, to purchase any older version of reason...once you own a legit older version, you can purchase the upgrade.

before you set out to purchase a used copy of reason, i suggest you read both the buying and selling sections at this link: https://www.propellerheads.se/suppor...ion=buyandsell

with a little effort, you should be able to get a used copy of an older version of reason.

good luck.
With a little effort, OP can also get a copy of Reason 6/6.5 for $200-250.

I've seen 4-5 sellers in the past few days between here & KVR.
  #4  
Old 2013-01-30, 12:13
BoddAH's Avatar
BoddAH BoddAH is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 312
You should be able to buy an older legit license of Reason (1-5) for relatively cheap on eBay. You can then get the Reason 6 upgrade.

Alternatively, you can also buy a full Reason 6 license second hand (can be found for $ 200).

Also consider the student version of Reason if you're still a student (or have a close relative who is a student).
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update old Reason songs to new Reason 6 WillYum Phead User Forum (read only) 7 2011-10-12 13:20
An Analysis of Reason & Fair Product Pricing Strategy Concept To Sort Things Out scottym Phead User Forum (read only) 18 2011-10-04 00:58
?'s about exporting tracks out of RSN and into another app. DSUB Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2011-02-21 03:42
How do I solve that factory sound bank thingie? vectro Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2009-05-19 20:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:28.