Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-02-01, 21:39
kimps07's Avatar
kimps07 kimps07 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 102
Sub Bass Velocity

Basically i want to be able to control the velocity of each note hit on a sub bass i'm using in Thor. How do i go about doing this in Thor

Thanks

p.s this probably should have gone in the music forum i know, apologies.
  #2  
Old 2013-02-01, 22:06
LABONERECORDINGS's Avatar
LABONERECORDINGS LABONERECORDINGS is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 506
Right in the middle of THOR is the AMP Gain control, and to the left is Vel amount. If all the way to the left then not velocity sensitive so all notes hit same volume. If you turn this to the right, velocity starts to play a part by affecting the volume, until you turn up full and every note's velocity then controls the volume of THOR's main AMP output.
  #3  
Old 2013-02-01, 22:07
philipw7's Avatar
philipw7 philipw7 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 111
If you want the MIDI velocity to control the Thor's output volume the easiest way is to open up the programmer and turn up the 'Vel' knob in the Amp section. This will control the velocity response for the whole patch,
  #4  
Old 2013-02-01, 22:18
kimps07's Avatar
kimps07 kimps07 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 102
Brilliant! worked a treat. Thanks for sharing some knowledge gents.
  #5  
Old 2013-02-01, 22:44
Reason1O1's Avatar
Reason1O1 Reason1O1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,096
However, IF you only want velocity affecting the amp of the sub oscillator, but want to leave the other parts unresponsive to velocity, you wouldn't use the Velocity knob in the amp section at all. You would program the following in the MBRS:

MIDI Key - Velocity : 75 > Mixer - Oscillator 3 Level

Assuming that your sub oscillator is in the Oscillator 3 slot. That way, you can use one or two oscillators in slot 1 & 2 for the main bass, and the sub bass in the third oscillator slot.

Also, be sure to turn down the Mixer's Oscillator 3 level so that you give room for the velocity to work it's magic on the Mixer.

You can still use the Amp Velocity if you want, but the amp velocity will affect all three oscillators (unless you also break the signal and send one or all of them straight into Filter 3 Input).

So many ways to slice a cat.
  #6  
Old 2013-02-02, 12:28
LABONERECORDINGS's Avatar
LABONERECORDINGS LABONERECORDINGS is online now
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 506
Nice, PhiSequence

Cat slicing always a good art
  #7  
Old 2013-02-02, 14:41
Reason1O1's Avatar
Reason1O1 Reason1O1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,096
Quote:
Originally Posted by LABONERECORDINGS View Post
Nice, PhiSequence

Cat slicing always a good art
Cat slicing is my specialty. Here kitty kitty. . .
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reeeeefillss??? SoulElemental Phead User Forum (read only) 26 2010-12-05 17:51
PCR-1 Velocity problems... (OSX) bluemusic Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2005-04-01 13:29
Does anybody know if reason can adjust velocity on midi in? rpugwash Phead User Forum (read only) 5 2005-03-29 20:33
Problems with bass christofer General Forum (read only) 5 2003-09-02 18:06


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:38.