Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-02-08, 18:22
DogCake
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
How much Ram for a Mac Mini with Reason ?

Hi there !

I'm thinking about setting up a Daw workstation for home music production.

The basic idea is a new Mac Mini quad-core plus Reason.

so, the question is ... how much Ram do I need for running a complex Reason Session .. ?

8 or 16 ?

Thx
  #2  
Old 2013-02-08, 18:41
jzquantum's Avatar
jzquantum jzquantum is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 364
16 at least.

I have i5 3570k processor with 16gb of 1600 speed ram running on windows 7. On one of my songs with tons of devices and REs, I use about 50 percent of both processor and ram. I figure that leaves me some overhead for the future.
  #3  
Old 2013-02-08, 18:46
jlgrimes jlgrimes is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by DogCake View Post
Hi there !

I'm thinking about setting up a Daw workstation for home music production.

The basic idea is a new Mac Mini quad-core plus Reason.

so, the question is ... how much Ram do I need for running a complex Reason Session .. ?

8 or 16 ?

Thx
8 gb will probably be enough but you can't go wrong with 16 gigs. I got mine for about $80.

My suggestion is to buy the Mac Mini with the base 4 gigs of Ram, then buy the Ram secondhand.

Putting the Ram in the Mac Mini was dead easy. There are a few You Tube videos on this.



I had 8 gigs on my old PC and it worked fine except in cases where I would open multiple projects at once.
  #4  
Old 2013-02-08, 19:07
JoshuaPhilgarlic's Avatar
JoshuaPhilgarlic JoshuaPhilgarlic is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,376
I've 8GB in my MB Pro. If you use a lot of samples the more RAM the better. But 8GB is just ok for me.
__________________
• MacBook Pro 15'' 2.6 GHz i7 • M-Audio Ozone • Akai EWI USB • Korg nanoSeries • Re-Tron • Predator-RE • Antidote • Bitspeek • Pulsar • Saturation Knob • Echobode • Uhbik A, D, G, P • Polar • Flower Audio Loudness Meter • Shelob • Mordred • PDT2 • Volt CB-1 • Volt SH-1 • Ozone Maximizer • Yoko • Glitch • ReVolt • CV Tuner • CV Suite Line Mixer • CV Suite Line Processor • PCV • RPDistort • Morfin XF Crossfader • Viking • Anansi • Itsy • Stereo Splitter • G8 Gate • Divisor • Polysix • PX7 • Audio To CV • Truth • AutoArp • A-100 Series • WBL5515 • Neutron • Measure • Distributor • Now • Later • Lolth • Volt SL-1 • Charlotte • 4 Phase LFO • Directre • Wbl3001 • Scope Jr • DCAM EnvShaper • BZR-1 • Little LFO • RP-Verb • Equation Bundle • Mingler • Noxious • One-note stand • MonoPoly • Revival • Tick Tick • Randrome Bundle • AutoTheory • CV-8 • Tres • C1-L1 • Red Queen • Parametrix • Parsec • RE 200 • CV Mutant • Ammo 1200BR • Vermilion • PlayGate • TableOscillator • Snakebite • AdditiveOscillator • Module Maker Bundle • EDS06s • Crapre • Synchronous •
Loading SoundCloud…
  #5  
Old 2013-02-08, 20:47
DogCake
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks for your replies !

... I have a good Tech attitude ... but I heard putting Ram on the last series Mac Mini is not an easy job ... maybe I'm wrong.
  #6  
Old 2013-02-08, 20:54
DogCake
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I'm wrong ! ... I was thinking about HD change job !
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Reason 6 with ReWire (32bit) on a Windows 64-bit operating system sazi General Forum (read only) 51 2013-04-02 07:17
Learning Reason paskel13 General Forum (read only) 6 2013-03-23 07:58
Reason 6: Upgrades & Putting Things In Perspective scottym Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2011-08-11 01:43
People just face it; Reason rules again! :) [n/t] eric General Forum (read only) 26 2011-08-02 01:49
How do I solve that factory sound bank thingie? vectro Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2009-05-19 20:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:13.