Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-02-09, 23:50
N03L's Avatar
N03L N03L is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 46
Powered USB hub?

Do you know if there's been any change in the Props policy on using USB hubs?
I've got an ongoing problem with the USB ports/drivers in my laptop which, incidentally, was bought to replace my main music PC for running Reason 6, and I'm still getting DPC latency issues with Balance.
I can't afford to replace the laptop or the desktop and Acer are offering to "look at the problem" but I really don't think they'll find anything that they'll call a problem.
Balance suffers from terrible drop-outs when connected to any of the USB ports and my Novation Impulse 49 controller isn't properly recognised by two of the three USB ports.
I think my only hope is to get a powered hub that'll provide the quality of connection that Balance and the Impulse need.

Thanks in advance.

N03L
  #2  
Old 2013-02-10, 00:27
jkheal jkheal is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,576
What policy?
__________________
Jon Heal
---
Reason 7.0.1 • A computer • A few boxes that do something or other • Virtually no talent and/or skill

Ye Olde FishCAM
  #3  
Old 2013-02-10, 00:54
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Props don't have a policy, it is recommended any audio interface is connected directly to the root hub and not via an external hub... powered or not.
  #4  
Old 2013-02-10, 13:11
N03L's Avatar
N03L N03L is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 46
You know what I mean.
The lovely support peeps are very specific about not using a hub but I can't get a good enough signal on two of the three ports in my laptop and unless I use the one good port for my
Impulse controller, it isn't even recognised by Automap and Reason doesn't pick it up properly.
I'm stuck.
  #5  
Old 2013-02-10, 17:35
charlycharlzz's Avatar
charlycharlzz charlycharlzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by N03L View Post
You know what I mean.
The lovely support peeps are very specific about not using a hub but I can't get a good enough signal on two of the three ports in my laptop and unless I use the one good port for my
Impulse controller, it isn't even recognised by Automap and Reason doesn't pick it up properly.
I'm stuck.

like most laptops they build sometimes I usb port up front that work and then the others are hubs !
your laptop is a Acer well no wonder you got screwed man ! sometimes desktop pc does that !
__________________

It's like gambling !!!
but you get something out the slot everytime you click ! lol

▓▓▓
dಠಠb
_(Θ)_

No Respect for the Talion Law , I whant it All !
  #6  
Old 2013-02-10, 17:44
SteveDiverse's Avatar
SteveDiverse SteveDiverse is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 3,618
open device manager (somewhere in control panel, depends on your OS and which view mode you have set).

click on Universal Serial Bus controllers

right-click on the root hub(s) and select properties

select the power management tab and make sure there's nothing set that could stop power - usually means uncheck all boxes

then goto Power Options (somewhere in control panel) and set the option for highest performance - especially if you are running laptop using battery.

laptops vary, and have all sorts of power management things built in to help save/extend battery power, it's possible yours is cutting power to usb ports so you can run longer without plugging in.

you can also try updating the usb device drivers...right-click on root hub and select update drivers.
__________________

HP Pavillion DV7T-3300 Laptop | i7 Q720 @ 1.6 GHz | 4GB RAM | Win7 Pro 64-bit
m-audio Axiom Pro 61 keyboard controller || iPad2 | RetouchControl DUO | TouchOSC | LoopBe30 MIDI
m-audio Mobile Pre USB (original) audio interface | ASIO4ALL || RØDE NT-3 mic
Reason 6.5.3 || Pulsar | Saturation Knob | Rough Rider | TSAR-1 | Uhbik-A | Re-Tron | Polar | Echobode | Uhbik Q | Uhbik F | Morfin XF | Uhbik S | Uhbik D | Uhbik G | CV Suite Line Processor | wbl5515 | Uhbik P | RE-2A | Radical Piano

Last edited by SteveDiverse; 2013-02-10 at 17:49.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Korg microKEY USB Powered Keyboard Koshdukai General Forum (read only) 1 2010-09-01 19:09
powered usb hub and record john13 Phead User Forum (read only) 7 2009-09-24 00:15
Any suggestions on 6.5" Bi-amplified powered studio monitors urbansound Music Forum (read only) 1 2008-09-09 02:35
Passive or powered? RedSkwirrell Phead User Forum (read only) 18 2007-09-20 11:29


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:38.