Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-02-11, 14:15
piop piop is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Balance?!

I posted this thread in the user forum but barely anyone even looked at it.

The last few months I've been experiencing issues with Balance that I don't think I did in the past. Whenever I'm monitoring incoming audio in Reason (even if nothing is plugged in) I get really loud background noise. It's even worse when I switch to the 'GUITAR' input because it begins to feedback.

I've recorded an example of the noise ( http://dl.dropbox.com/u/105169810/Balance%20Noise.mp3 ) , first half on the 'MIC' input and second half on 'GUITAR'. This was recorded without any recording devices plugged in to show just how bad the issue is. My gain is also well below 12 o'clock so I'm at a total loss.

Thanks for any help.
  #2  
Old 2013-02-11, 15:01
jengstrom jengstrom is offline
Propellerhead
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 931
Is anything plugged in?

The feedback should be coming from something that picks up part of the audio output and feeds it back to the input. Is a guitar plugged in?

What else is plugged into Balance? Try unplugging everything except headphones.
  #3  
Old 2013-02-11, 15:16
piop piop is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Thanks for the reply. As I mentioned in the OP, there are no input devices plugged in. The only things I have plugged into Balance are the USB lead and the OUT to my speakers. I also get the sound with headphones plugged in.

That's the reason I recorded the noise, because nothing is inputting to Balance and it's not a problem with my speakers/headphones. I only get this noise when I'm monitoring audio
  #4  
Old 2013-02-11, 16:25
jengstrom jengstrom is offline
Propellerhead
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 931
Did you make any changes to your workspace around Balance?

Balance has a low noise floor, but noise can come from the environment around the device.

If you unplug everything except the headphones, including speakers, so that only (passive) headphones and USB are connected to Balance, do you still hear the noise in the headphones? Is it at the same volume as it was when the speakers were connected?
  #5  
Old 2013-02-12, 21:56
Aiden's Avatar
Aiden Aiden is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 159
Sounds like it could be Ground Loop Interference.

I suffered incredibly badly with this to the extent that it sounded like the Aliens were landing. I ended up curing it with an ART DTI Dual Transformer/Isolator which cost around £40. If it is Ground Loop Interference there are a great many ways of defeating it depending on your own personal circumstances and you would really have to read up on it and begin a process of trial and error until you find what works in your own specific case - and just because the ART unit worked for me doesn't mean it would for you.

You can read my thread here https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...ht=ground+loop

Best of luck mate

Aiden
  #6  
Old 2013-02-19, 12:27
piop piop is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
I've tried using just USB and headphones and it doesn't change anything. There is still a huge amount of noise. I've also tried it in a different room and it's still as bad. Any ideas?
  #7  
Old 2013-02-19, 16:30
jengstrom jengstrom is offline
Propellerhead
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 931
OK, did you really disconnect every cable from Balance, except the headphones and USB connection?

Are the headphones passive? (Not connected to a power source)

Can you actually hear that same rising feedback sound in those headphones, when everything else except USB is disconnected?

I'm at a loss right now, have never heard of an issue like this.
If you have access to another computer, please test the Balance device there to see if it sounds better, which would mean the issue is somehow local to your computer. (maybe some kind of power supply / USB power issue somehow?)

If it is really coming from Balance itself, it would be even more strange if it was not like that from the beginning, but started sounding like that suddenly.

It would be best if you create a e-mail support case.
Start here: https://www.propellerheads.se/compan...balancesupport

(The point of disconnecting everything for this test is to make sure Balance is only electrically coupled to a single AC power source (the computer), which would eliminate ground loop interference as a cause.)
  #8  
Old 2013-02-19, 20:45
domain domain is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 166
The audio sounds like a recording of a very sensitive mic in a room.
You sure your equip or mic or headphones is plugged in correctly and have the correct drivers or setttings?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Those Using Balance on iMac ifonline General Forum (read only) 2 2013-01-03 18:28
Balance Audio Track Issues After 6.5 Upgrade bhopperfield Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2012-07-27 13:43


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:31.