Propellerhead Software
  #21  
Old 2012-11-14, 11:00
something something is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 211
Ok as Tizzybanger said here https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...7&postcount=16 i bought a cable (1x 6.3 male jack to 2x male XLR) to record what's been heard in the headphones channel.

Set everything up and level it to around 0 and on my Focusrite 2i2 the gain led's are set to maximum green and seems to work, but the recording result is horrible.



Not sure if i did something wrong but it all records with a huge echo.

Hear http://www52.zippyshare.com/v/30800289/file.html
  #22  
Old 2012-11-14, 11:15
ZKH42's Avatar
ZKH42 ZKH42 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 41
My guess is that you are getting a feedback loop since you have the monitor button activated.. Try to record without it..
__________________
_________________
PC with Intel X79 Express chipset | Intel Core i7-3820 Processor @ 3.6 GHz | 16 GB RAM
120 GB SSD + 2 TB HD | GeForce GTS450 1 GB Graphics | Dual 24" LCD screens | Windows 7 Pro 64bit

ESI ESP-1010 PCI soundcard | Propellerhead Reason 7 | Steinberg Cubase 7
Nektar Panorama P4 controler/keyboard
  #23  
Old 2012-11-14, 11:29
something something is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZKH42 View Post
My guess is that you are getting a feedback loop since you have the monitor button activated.. Try to record without it..
Thanks that seems to "fixed" the issue (of the echo in the record).
So if i understand it correctly i have to disable monitoring while recording a sample this way?

Far from ideal tough, the Propellerhead Dev's really need to fix this to let us be able to record anything that goes trough the soundcard.
Unbelievable that a software like Reason does not support this.
  #24  
Old 2012-11-14, 11:37
ZKH42's Avatar
ZKH42 ZKH42 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 41
Yes, Reason is playing back both the original sound AND the result of the sampling on the headphone output. Hence feedback..

I agree, there should be a better solution for this..
__________________
_________________
PC with Intel X79 Express chipset | Intel Core i7-3820 Processor @ 3.6 GHz | 16 GB RAM
120 GB SSD + 2 TB HD | GeForce GTS450 1 GB Graphics | Dual 24" LCD screens | Windows 7 Pro 64bit

ESI ESP-1010 PCI soundcard | Propellerhead Reason 7 | Steinberg Cubase 7
Nektar Panorama P4 controler/keyboard
  #25  
Old 2012-11-14, 11:41
something something is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZKH42 View Post
Yes, Reason is playing back both the original sound AND the result of the sampling on the headphone output. Hence feedback..

I agree, there should be a better solution for this..
Thanks buddy.
After messing around a few days to finally start sampling whatever i hear from my computer i am finally able to do that with this "workaround".

Thanks again, and thanks to Tizzybanger for the "solution" as well.
  #26  
Old 2012-12-15, 04:01
Tizzybanger Tizzybanger is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by something View Post
Thanks buddy.
After messing around a few days to finally start sampling whatever i hear from my computer i am finally able to do that with this "workaround".

Thanks again, and thanks to Tizzybanger for the "solution" as well.

Sorry about taking long to reply some things came up that had to be handled. Just remember the source your recording from has a volume and your head phone jack has a volume bring them down to get a clear good sample. And your welcome. Also heres another tip if 30 seconds is not enough for you. Create an audio track and follow the same steps you can record whole songs if you want and save them as wavs then open in recycle and chop away I learned how to do this years ago on cubase People say the quality is not good when you sample like this but once I find what I want to sample I search for the best quality on the NET. Also turn off those computer sounds Email alerts, mouse click, ect
  #27  
Old 2013-02-12, 22:05
ahyzjac ahyzjac is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 224
Quote:
Originally Posted by something View Post
Any help from a Windows user would be helpful.
I searched on Google but can't find any manual how to setup that JackAudio with VLC and Reason.

Nonetheless, i still find it a real shortcoming in Reason that Reason does not capture everything what goes in and out trough the soundcard.
Wether it's a audiostream from online radio, audio from a movie/audiofile played by any mediaplayer, VOIP call, whatever.
Propellerhead Reason should be able to record it....

Thanks anyway for thinking with me
Quote:
Originally Posted by BonezMcCoy View Post
It seems you forgot to route audio from VLC to Reason. On a Mac, we call it creating an aggregate device and then routing audio from one virtual audio outout to a virtual audio input. I use Soundflower to do that. Under Windows, I think you need ASIO4ALL or something and an application like JackAudio. This way you can set up virtual audio connections between different applications. Hopefully a Windows user who does that will pop in and help you with more details.

http://jackaudio.org/


Hey guys, found this threat..

I am trying to set up Soundflower to samples sounds from melodyne into Reason - much like the following vid:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um3ukGUxTPI

I can get the sound sampled into Kong ok but cannot hear any playback while im sample. I have no soundcard and am just using maca minijack in & out.
Is it possible to create this setup without an external soundcard

many thanks,
j
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason 5 is good, but... Espejo Phead User Forum (read only) 47 2011-05-10 08:07
Reason rewired to SonarHomeStudio (6) xartrax Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2008-09-27 18:08
Sampling my Guitar with Reason!? Muzak Phead User Forum (read only) 12 2005-01-15 00:13


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:04.