Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-02-21, 15:29
tomriv tomriv is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 303
Figure question

Hi

Im a keen Reason user but have also started playing with Figure for a bit of fun when ive got a couple of mins. The thing is I dont really get it. I can play with it and make a nice tune, mix it whilst playing (i.e. mute the drums for 4 bars then bring back in / play with the delay or filter on the bass or lead) - however when it comes to exporting to soundcloud or itunes it only takes 20 seconds or so of song and wont record or capture me playing with it (mixing etc).

Am i being dumb or can you really only export 20 seconds or so? If so i cant see the point of exporting - its just something to play with for a few mins now and again
__________________
>>>> https://soundcloud.com/rivum <<<<
  #2  
Old 2013-02-21, 18:05
vanKloot's Avatar
vanKloot vanKloot is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,161
You can export what you can record, which is an 8 bar max loop. Export is a non-real-time function so nothing you have to do in realtime, will be exported.

Complete automation of everything including mix and key changes, is something those of us who love Figure have been asking for fairly regularly.

If you can handle an effective resolution of only 1/8th notes, try setting your tempo very very low and play everything at double speed. You can essentially get 16 bars this way.
__________________
I've decided to get serious about my music again at last.
So go ahead... ask me how my new album is coming!

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL ME & SAY HI



Some stuff I've made with Reason...

Loading SoundCloud…
  #3  
Old 2013-02-21, 18:48
tomriv tomriv is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 303
hmm thanks!! for now its just a toy to play with occassionally then!
__________________
>>>> https://soundcloud.com/rivum <<<<
  #4  
Old 2013-02-21, 19:37
vanKloot's Avatar
vanKloot vanKloot is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,161
Well... yes and no. You can mute tracks and export them one by one to iTunes and then import into Reason, loop them, etc. It can certainly be used as part of a complete production workflow, it's just not nearly as fluid or flexible as it *could* be.
__________________
I've decided to get serious about my music again at last.
So go ahead... ask me how my new album is coming!

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL ME & SAY HI



Some stuff I've made with Reason...

Loading SoundCloud…
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Figure and iphone Alzabo General Forum (read only) 2 2013-07-06 22:05
Figure needs midi clock sync over network session (slave and master) acebanner General Forum (read only) 1 2013-04-14 02:55
Figure + iMS-20 = Musical Alchemy! kevmove02 Phead User Forum (read only) 4 2012-09-18 08:06
Question about Record filesave behavior. descathach Phead User Forum (read only) 11 2009-05-20 03:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:19.