Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-02-20, 13:58
jeddy3 jeddy3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Suddenly I can't launch Reason. Help!!!

Hi all,

I've been using reason 6.5.3 with Propellerhead balance for a month now with no problems.

All of a sudden, I can't even launch Reason. I get this error message:

"ReWire installation failed because access to a file or directory was denied whilst installing the ReWire DLL in the System directory"

Anyone know what that means?

Also, is there a number where you can actually talk to someone from Propellerhead?
  #2  
Old 2013-02-20, 15:13
tonalaxis's Avatar
tonalaxis tonalaxis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,512
Hav you installed any other DAW software after installing Reason?? I had this exact message pop up after installing Tracktion 4 today. I had to do a reinstall for Reason and now it works again.
  #3  
Old 2013-02-20, 15:29
jeddy3 jeddy3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
No mate, no other software installed, and I have tried re-installing Reason, but to no avail. Of course now I have Reason 6.5 with no way of opening the program to upgrade back to 6.5.3

Last edited by jeddy3; 2013-02-20 at 15:31.
  #4  
Old 2013-02-20, 15:42
Ambientdave Ambientdave is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,753
Hi Jeddy

email Props tech support,they are very good ,and will respond.Provide as much info about the problem you can,(screen shot of the error message as an example),etc,etc
Have you tried an un install and re install?
  #5  
Old 2013-02-20, 16:04
jeddy3 jeddy3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Hi Gardener, I have tried to re-install to no avail, have e-mailed support, awaiting reply, thanks
  #6  
Old 2013-02-20, 16:28
tonalaxis's Avatar
tonalaxis tonalaxis is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,512
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeddy3 View Post
No mate, no other software installed, and I have tried re-installing Reason, but to no avail. Of course now I have Reason 6.5 with no way of opening the program to upgrade back to 6.5.3
You can download 6.5.3 from here:- https://www.propellerheads.se/downlo...reason_updates

You don't have to have 6.5.0 installed to get 6.5.3
  #7  
Old 2013-02-20, 16:36
Ambientdave Ambientdave is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,753
No worries bud
Guessed you have seen Tonalaxis posting?

Hope you get this sorted out,Props tech are pretty good at answering and helping out,as I found out!
  #8  
Old 2013-02-20, 16:57
jeddy3 jeddy3 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Many thanks guys, think I need to get the launching problem out of the way first, then I'll try to upgrade.
  #9  
Old 2013-02-22, 00:40
TheDarkHorse TheDarkHorse is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
I too have Balance with 6.5.3 (which I upgraded from Essentials) and after 3-4 weeks of using it without issues, I've started getting this message come up when I try to open it. Reason then closes due to the error.

The strange thing is, if I leave it for about 5 minutes (for example whilst I'm on here reading about this problem...) then try again, it tends to work even though I've done nothing. Very odd. And hey presto- I've just tried it, and it's opened without any problem.

I'm interested to see what reply you get from Propellerheads. If you get a solution, please post it on here!

Last edited by TheDarkHorse; 2013-02-22 at 00:42.
  #10  
Old 2013-02-22, 00:45
pushedbutton's Avatar
pushedbutton pushedbutton is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 5,589
I saw that message yesterday, tried again pretty much straight away and it was fine. odd.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
This Is My Song
@pushedbutton on twitter
I live in Lancashire, England.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Reason 6 with ReWire (32bit) on a Windows 64-bit operating system sazi General Forum (read only) 51 2013-04-02 07:17
Learning Reason paskel13 General Forum (read only) 6 2013-03-23 07:58
Why did i buy record?????!!!!!*$ Mathmatech General Forum (read only) 131 2013-01-14 17:02
Reason 6: Upgrades & Putting Things In Perspective scottym Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2011-08-11 01:43
My Reason 3 workflow and general thoughts about Reason 4 Andrew108 General Forum (read only) 7 2007-02-12 10:17


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:07.