Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

View Poll Results: Do you use Blocks in Reason ?
Yes 124 43.66%
No 141 49.65%
I don't know how 19 6.69%
Voters: 284. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #111  
Old 2013-01-03, 13:36
dub08's Avatar
dub08 dub08 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinnerfire View Post
WTF? Now i know why 008 thought i was crazy and TBH.... he was right.
Haha!
Why do people want to take my blocks away from me!? lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by djSidious View Post
I hear ya but if this thread has accomplished anything, its this... Blocks! Useful or not...doesnt seem like it will be missed that much if taken out and replaced with Radical Keys *sips his hopeful juice*
That will never happen. So, you should just quit drinking "hopeful juice" right now and, put the money you save toward RadKeys.
__________________
www.008refills.com 15 FREE Reason ReFills in the -008' Newsletter
  #112  
Old 2013-01-03, 16:04
lemec's Avatar
lemec lemec is online now
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 661
Quote:
Originally Posted by omshanti20 View Post
I haven't voted yet as the options don't cover my use of Blocks.

I do not use blocks as Props intended - I use them as (a damn poor substitute for) markers.

When I think about it, it's incredible that we have 'Blocks' but no markers.
WE NEED MARKERS!
I also began to use reason blocks as markers . I've seen him do in this video and
it has been my ruin: D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GVN5woDo8gw
  #113  
Old 2013-01-21, 22:28
rVOLT's Avatar
rVOLT rVOLT is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 666
People who dont like it, just havent figured it out yet. It really can work with every style of music in some way, as more than just a way to label stuff. =)
__________________
http://www.soundcloud.com/rvolt
  #114  
Old 2013-03-05, 17:57
kingpinnsix kingpinnsix is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
I don't actually edit the blocks, I just use them to mark where phrases start and end
  #115  
Old 2013-03-05, 20:56
xbitz's Avatar
xbitz xbitz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 414
Unhappy

what kind of method do use if you want to create linked repetitive midi clips (so if I change something inside one of them all of them should change itself the same way), as far as I know the only way for this is the block mode, or have I missed something obvious (ctrl+drag method creates independent clips, doesn't it)?

Last edited by xbitz; 2013-03-05 at 21:09.
  #116  
Old 2013-03-05, 21:36
guitfnky's Avatar
guitfnky guitfnky is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 644
what kind of crazy person would want to get rid of Blocks? it's one of the best features of the sequencer when it comes to figuring out and manipulating song structure.
  #117  
Old 2013-03-05, 22:20
davidvilla's Avatar
davidvilla davidvilla is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 398
I hope the PROPS guy who thought BLOCKS was a good idea stays far away from Reason 7
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #118  
Old 2013-03-05, 22:43
dub08's Avatar
dub08 dub08 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidvilla View Post
I hope the PROPS guy who thought BLOCKS was a good idea stays far away from Reason 7
Nevermind that, I just hope the people that don't understand the value of Blocks can launch Reason 7 and comprehend it without hurting themselves!

__________________
www.008refills.com 15 FREE Reason ReFills in the -008' Newsletter
  #119  
Old 2013-03-05, 23:46
TunedAgent's Avatar
TunedAgent TunedAgent is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 287
I'll bite...

I see the block button. I understand its features. I don't use it.

As a person who records more audio than midi here, I feel it would dishonor the song if I were to loop a audio phrase throughout the song. That tends to dehumanize the tune. I like to play right through, and add/edit to that recording afterwards. I treat the whole song as a block. That's how I roll.

Still didn't vote. You don't pigeonhole me
__________________
Cookie I think you're tame.
  #120  
Old 2013-03-06, 04:33
pastoreric's Avatar
pastoreric pastoreric is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 628
I use both methods dependent upon what the project is. It's very handy, but I don't lock myself into just one form of working, it can stifle creativity.
__________________
Ricé

Loading SoundCloud…

Last edited by pastoreric; 2013-03-06 at 04:34. Reason: mispelled word
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stumbled upon a great way to use blocks Upright Phead User Forum (read only) 7 2011-08-14 15:32
Blocks - best thing since sliced bread Svencanz Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2010-12-20 21:29
BLOCKS (my best friend and yours) MrROUSH Phead User Forum (read only) 48 2010-10-08 01:23


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:55.