Propellerhead Software
  #31  
Old 2013-03-09, 03:15
therawski therawski is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 19
Selig,
I tried comparing 2 songs waveforms in Reason, very interesting. I also loaded several songs into Audacity and used "show clipping" to reveal an enormous amount of clipping in every song, including my exported file from Reason that reported no clipping on the meter. I am using Balance with up to date drivers so why is any of this?

I think I can save my song by increasing the level/gain/etc. on the instrument racks as I tried this with the bass drum to some success but drowning out the rest of the song even after adjusting faders.

I printed out the manual in color on nice paper in a 3 ring binder (double sided), I'm doing my reading ;-)

How do I share a Reason file with you, I hope you have time as I'm quite serious about this. Thanks!
  #32  
Old 2013-03-11, 07:42
littlejam's Avatar
littlejam littlejam is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 377
hello, i just got finished with a 6 hour wtf session regarding export quality and i finally tracked it down to 'playback drivers' of the software i use to playback tracks: zoom player and vlc media player: i had to go in to the options and select the correct 'codec'/'driver' and now everything sounds like when it is inside reason or reaper or acidpro...i'm happy now, i got the fullness back to my mixes...(another poster in this thread mentioned the same thing on like page 2 or so) thanks, j
win 7 64 bit hp dv4 reason 6.53 asio4all
  #33  
Old 2013-03-11, 17:01
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by therawski View Post
Selig,
I tried comparing 2 songs waveforms in Reason, very interesting. I also loaded several songs into Audacity and used "show clipping" to reveal an enormous amount of clipping in every song, including my exported file from Reason that reported no clipping on the meter. I am using Balance with up to date drivers so why is any of this?

I think I can save my song by increasing the level/gain/etc. on the instrument racks as I tried this with the bass drum to some success but drowning out the rest of the song even after adjusting faders.

I printed out the manual in color on nice paper in a 3 ring binder (double sided), I'm doing my reading ;-)

How do I share a Reason file with you, I hope you have time as I'm quite serious about this. Thanks!
Clipping in the digital world is defined differently by different products. Most define it as "3 consecutive samples at full scale", and some can even adjust this setting. When I export from Reason I use Ozone Maximizer with 0.3 to 0.5 dB margin below clipping. This helps to ensure no clipping will be 'revealed' by other playback engines. Part of the issue is in how clipping is defined (see above), but there's also the issue of inter-sample clipping which happens only when the digital file is converted to analog. Some apps will show any inter-sample clipping, and that may be what's going on in your case. Hope this helps. :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #34  
Old 2013-03-12, 20:01
VANGASSEN's Avatar
VANGASSEN VANGASSEN is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by emzy21 View Post
Hey guys my concern is the audio quality after exporting a song out of Reason 5. My exported songs sound muddy. In the program they sound great. I'm not sure if its because the levels on certain instruments are peaking or not. I've tried adjusting everything to where nothing is peaking but then it sounds very "weak". It seems lowering the volume level dramatically reduces the punch or power of an instrument leaving me very unsatisfied. I guess my main question is there a happy medium? Or am I doing something wrong or missing something entirely?

Thanks!
Just had similar problem so for all that may expirience such thing one of reasons :
I've also noticed that after exporting my "mix" sounds weird , muddy , too much bass and basically not the same Reason produce on the go. I went through most of this thread but not whole lot so apologies if I'm doubling already given answer.
I have checked my audio input in Reason and the difference here was quite the same when swapping from ASIO 4all to Direct Sound. I have got how to say... shitty on-board Realtek card for now so after tweaking almost everything in export and ASIO options , went deeper to realtek options. Imagine that such simple thing as MAXX AUDIO3 SYSTEM (using Dell XPS) was causing the problem by boosting sound especially bass frequencies. Switched everything off to no extra effects and viola. Export sounds the same now.

Even though the thread is old I've decided to post it here cause that may help someone with recent problem like mine.

VΛNGΛSSΞИ
http://soundcloud.com/vangassen/morphine

Last edited by VANGASSEN; 2013-03-13 at 13:56.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zero-X (BeatCreator) News item about REX2 format JohnVulich General Forum (read only) 22 2013-01-07 20:24
sample accuracy of exported audio is bad Buzzfunk Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2005-05-27 18:28
A question for Reason and Sonar users? Audio Quality... DjDarkside General Forum (read only) 7 2002-12-05 01:12


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:28.