Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Music Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2013-03-15, 21:31
EXCONGUITAR EXCONGUITAR is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 30
Johan,
I battled trying to get a mastered track by using Reason alone for a LONG time. Dude, Reason can NOT, i repeat, CAN NOT do what Ozone does for mastering. Trust me!
use reason to get the best 2 channel mix you can possibly get. Then run that mix thru ozone, it's the only way your going to get what your looking for.
  #12  
Old 2013-03-15, 22:15
johanbackman's Avatar
johanbackman johanbackman is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 36
Thanks for sharing! I found an Ozone "before and after" clip, it seems to do magic.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #13  
Old 2013-03-15, 22:21
EXCONGUITAR EXCONGUITAR is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 30
It truly does. I almost feel like i'm cheating by using it. Dont kid yourself though. it's ULTRA .. SUPER... AMZINGLY complex if you aren't familiar with the stuff it's actually doing.
  #14  
Old 2013-03-16, 01:23
MikeRex MikeRex is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
Ozone 5 came very highly recommended in all the home recording mags. I use the basic version. There is also a much more expensive version which appears to offer more versatility.

What I like about Ozone is that the presets make it so easy to use and they all carry-out several changes at the same time with regards to added effects, compression, eq-adjustment, etc. Everything can be over-ridden but I have found no need to learn all of that and no need to spend the vast amount of time it would take to learn how to use it "properly". I should imagine that the mastering tools within Reason could produce similar results if you took the time to experiment with them. I prefer to spend my time writing and recording my songs, then using Ozone, the mastering can be completed very quickly. Mike

Last edited by MikeRex; 2013-03-16 at 01:27.
  #15  
Old 2013-03-16, 01:31
MikeRex MikeRex is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 18
That is why it's best to use the presets. There are a huge number to choose from but using Excite and Widen, then another one such as Country Master Rock, CM Pop, or whatever on top of that, gives fantastic results - far more power, impact and volume, which seems to be what radio stations, in particular, are wanting nowadays.
  #16  
Old 2013-03-16, 15:08
johanbackman's Avatar
johanbackman johanbackman is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 36
Yes, definitely the pre-sets. To me it seems complicated enough having to use two programs outside Reason for proper mastering. Maybe it could be worthwhile to first wait and see what Reason 7 will offer in this respect?

Thanks again for sharing
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mastering in Reason 6? POPPRODUCTIONZ General Forum (read only) 153 2012-06-17 03:26
mixing and mastering in reason six tylae General Forum (read only) 3 2012-03-18 08:44
Noob Time...Need Advice on Mixing, Mastering, Exporting prototai Phead User Forum (read only) 17 2012-02-16 05:13
Amateur question: Mixing vs. Mastering gerti General Forum (read only) 12 2011-06-07 01:07
Mixing and Mastering processes used in Reason swizz General Forum (read only) 14 2006-06-08 19:49


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:05.