Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-03-22, 21:21
perisean's Avatar
perisean perisean is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
best cpu for reason 6.5

I'm thinking about upgading my pc but i'm not sure what cpu to go with. I've read different articles comparing amd and intel (for the most part intel is more preferred).
Guess I thought I should be specific in my search since i will be buying reason balance and will be running 6.5. any suggestions? Also, I know I7 is th most powerful intel, but is it necessary or will an I5 work also? thanks
  #2  
Old 2013-03-22, 21:22
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is online now
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by perisean View Post
I'm thinking about upgading my pc but i'm not sure what cpu to go with. I've read different articles comparing amd and intel (for the most part intel is more preferred).
Guess I thought I should be specific in my search since i will be buying reason balance and will be running 6.5. any suggestions? Also, I know I7 is th most powerful intel, but is it necessary or will an I5 work also? thanks
Intel i7, preferably the 3770k or greater. The i5 series doesn't do Hyperthreading.
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
  #3  
Old 2013-03-22, 21:26
Sipher's Avatar
Sipher Sipher is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 417
i currently have a 2600k and it handles the business well. i am looking at the newer i7 k series for an upgrade in the near future. basically the i7's are the way to go.
__________________
Windows 8 pro I7 2600K 4.5Ghz Asus z77 sabertooth 16 gb ram crucial C300 SSD 256gb
  #4  
Old 2013-03-22, 23:11
perisean's Avatar
perisean perisean is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
tx enochlight & sipher
  #5  
Old 2013-03-23, 00:44
charlycharlzz's Avatar
charlycharlzz charlycharlzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by perisean View Post
I'm thinking about upgading my pc but i'm not sure what cpu to go with. I've read different articles comparing amd and intel (for the most part intel is more preferred).
Guess I thought I should be specific in my search since i will be buying reason balance and will be running 6.5. any suggestions? Also, I know I7 is th most powerful intel, but is it necessary or will an I5 work also? thanks

Do you whant to upgrade (open your pc up and change cpu) or upgrade (go in the shop and buy a new pc) because to just buy a new cpu means you need 2 know what motherboard you got ?!?!

if it's a new pc (get a i7) if it got a K at the end and if it's a i7 it's all Kandy !
__________________

It's like gambling !!!
but you get something out the slot everytime you click ! lol

▓▓▓
dಠಠb
_(Θ)_

No Respect for the Talion Law , I whant it All !
  #6  
Old 2013-03-23, 01:25
guinnessfee guinnessfee is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnochLight View Post
Intel i7, preferably the 3770k or greater. The i5 series doesn't do Hyperthreading.
I also want to upgrade my computer and wondered if Hyperthreading improves merely the use of Reason.

Since the k models are more expensive I decided against it but I want a very fast computer for audio-related tasks.

I read that sometimes Hyperthreading slows down certain processes like games, because one real core also has to compute a virtual one and not every program uses the virtual one efficiently...

If you ensure that Reason will profit from getting the 3770k with activated HT I will probably go for it.
  #7  
Old 2013-03-23, 02:17
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is online now
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by guinnessfee View Post
I also want to upgrade my computer and wondered if Hyperthreading improves merely the use of Reason.

Since the k models are more expensive I decided against it but I want a very fast computer for audio-related tasks.

I read that sometimes Hyperthreading slows down certain processes like games, because one real core also has to compute a virtual one and not every program uses the virtual one efficiently...

If you ensure that Reason will profit from getting the 3770k with activated HT I will probably go for it.
The "k" in the i7 series just means that they can easily be overclocked. If that's not your thing, then you can save a few bucks by getting the non-k version. That said, Reason does utilize Hyperthreading and it helps performance. Games may be hit or miss, but you can always turn Hyperthreading off for those instances if needed anyway.
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
  #8  
Old 2013-03-23, 02:19
3rdFloorSound's Avatar
3rdFloorSound 3rdFloorSound is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10,766
Quote:
Originally Posted by guinnessfee View Post
If you ensure that Reason will profit from getting the 3770k with activated HT I will probably go for it.
Somewhere on the forum is a quote from PH developer JEngstrom about the fact that reason makes use of hyperthreading for everything it can in an effective manner. The exception is when rendering audio, I believe for the reason you mention, so it relies purely on physical cores for that.
In any case, the "K" tacked on to i7 processor models signify that they can be overclocked. As far as I know hyperthreading is a featue of all the new i7's
Here's a thread listing the differences between the 3770 and 3770K: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/33...70k-difference
__________________
  #9  
Old 2013-03-23, 03:03
Sipher's Avatar
Sipher Sipher is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 417
The k just means the multiplier is unlock able. If you are competent in building a computer swapping a cpu is not hard to do if you have never built a computer from an empty case it can be daunting. Though it isn't as had as it used to be.
__________________
Windows 8 pro I7 2600K 4.5Ghz Asus z77 sabertooth 16 gb ram crucial C300 SSD 256gb
  #10  
Old 2013-03-23, 03:47
Bonkhead's Avatar
Bonkhead Bonkhead is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,748
Today I installed my new hand build system, with i7 3770 cpu.

It's the one without th "K" , because I'm not an overclocker anymore (don't need the unlocked multiplier) and it was 36 euro's cheaper than the "K" version. So I put that 36 euro's on my SSD budget and got a super fast Samsung 128 GB SSD to run windows 7. It starts up in just 20 seconds ... amazing

I just tried all demosongs at lowest latency and I'm not even above one dsp bar.
Tomorow gonna load my heaviest projects my Q6600 quadcore could hardly handle, see how this i7 holds up

Last edited by Bonkhead; 2013-03-23 at 10:35.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:37.