Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-03-25, 19:26
phormz phormz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Arrow Customisable Keyboard Shortcuts

Absolutely love Reason, but can't believe we can't customise our own keyboard shortcuts ??!!

Is there a reason why we can't do this? I've never seen this limitation in any other "pro app" before and had to check several times to make sure I wasn't missing something.

Please, please, please PH ....can you let us do this?

I use KS all the time in any app ...and in Reason I especially want to be able to set some for navigation functions such as zoom to loop, zoom to selection, zoom to fit all ...amongst many others.

Also, I wanna be able to change some of the default shortcuts to my own as I alternate between DAWs and am constantly getting caught out with habitual key pressing as I fly about.

Obviously, it's possible to adapt to anything, but it's just another thing making you think when you could just do ...Not good for the creative flow.

Reason is so much fun in so many ways, but I feel the sequencer is like pulling teeth in comparison to say Logic.

Thanks for everything so far, really looking forward to upgrading to 7.

  #2  
Old 2013-03-25, 21:38
vanKloot's Avatar
vanKloot vanKloot is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,162
If you're on the Mac, you can set your own shortcuts for anything that exists in a menu, in the System Preferences. If you want to go beyond that, there are many utilities to allow for this, or even using AppleScript or Automator if you don't want to add something third party.
__________________
I've decided to get serious about my music again at last.
So go ahead... ask me how my new album is coming!

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL ME & SAY HI



Some stuff I've made with Reason...

Loading SoundCloud…
  #3  
Old 2013-04-05, 13:10
phormz phormz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Customisable Keyboard Shortcuts

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanKloot View Post
If you're on the Mac, you can set your own shortcuts for anything that exists in a menu, in the System Preferences. If you want to go beyond that, there are many utilities to allow for this, or even using AppleScript or Automator if you don't want to add something third party.
Thanks for your reply. That's a nice tip, and good to know for general application, but unfortunately it doesn't help me out as it's limited to menu items ...and nothing I want to create a shortcut for is in the menus.

Can't see why it's not possible to customise our own like in virtually every other app ever?!

Anyway, here's hoping.

While I'm at it ...No midi clock out? ...Hmmm, that's another thread.
  #4  
Old 2013-04-06, 02:38
vanKloot's Avatar
vanKloot vanKloot is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,162
Yes you're right, this only works for menu items and I have been frustrated by that limitation as well. There are third party shortcut & macro programs you can get, but it would certainly be much nicer to simply have complete control over keymappings. Just about every videogame these days allows for complete custom keybindings... so why not our music apps??

As for MIDI clock out, one would reasonably expect that to come with MIDI out in Reason 7.
__________________
I've decided to get serious about my music again at last.
So go ahead... ask me how my new album is coming!

CLICK HERE TO EMAIL ME & SAY HI



Some stuff I've made with Reason...

Loading SoundCloud…
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a PDF or book or Keyboard Shortcuts for Reason 4 ? studiotime Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2007-10-20 16:02
Keyboard shortcuts in version 4 sp0bjogu Phead User Forum (read only) 4 2007-10-01 22:41
where can I find a list of keyboard shortcuts for 3.0? churchrd Phead User Forum (read only) 4 2005-09-24 23:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:30.