Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-03-28, 11:25
Punchinello's Avatar
Punchinello Punchinello is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 223
How many EQs can I use to do Surgical EQ?

Hi all!

I have this drumloop that i am trying to get as clean as possible.
First I put a M-Class EQ to it, next a M-Class EQ.

How many EQs can I use to do Surgical EQ, and get rid of all the frequencies that "hurt"???
Is there a rule to it?

Thanks!
Chris
__________________
"Music is a Place to take Refuge. It's a Sanctuary from Mediocrity and Boredom. It's Innocent and it's a Place you can loose yourself in Thoughts, Memories and Intricacies." (Lisa Gerrard)

  #2  
Old 2013-03-28, 13:36
scifunk's Avatar
scifunk scifunk is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 918
As many as you see fit
__________________
Scientific Funk & Cactus Jack - deep house, tech-house and techno
  #3  
Old 2013-03-28, 13:48
normen's Avatar
normen normen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,464
Yeah, as in Reason you don't have real cables and transformers diminishing the sound quality in every device you can really put them in endlessly. They will only shift the phase where they work a little, like all EQs. But they do virtually nothing to other parts.
__________________
Plugin latency issues? Phasing on parallel channels? Want to know the real latency of your audio interface? Try the VMG-01!
Professional Audio Engineer at Theater Bremen, Germany • Part Time Programmer
  #4  
Old 2013-03-28, 16:25
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,473
I don't know how many YOU can use, but I can use seven: ;-)


Taken from the Selig B3-Leslie, specifically the Treble Rotor speaker/cabinet emulation section, FWIW. :-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #5  
Old 2013-03-28, 20:25
nickmorgan19457's Avatar
nickmorgan19457 nickmorgan19457 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
I don't know how many YOU can use, but I can use seven: ;-)


Taken from the Selig B3-Leslie, specifically the Treble Rotor speaker/cabinet emulation section, FWIW. :-)
I've looked at that a dozen times or so and gone "he must have a reason for this...I'll leave it alone". I've mentioned this before, but that combi is freaking awesome.

Does anyone know if the MClass EQ is phase linear? I know the crossover section of the Stereo Imager is.
  #6  
Old 2013-03-28, 20:29
JustinCorza's Avatar
JustinCorza JustinCorza is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 243
Good to see I'm not the only stacking lots of MClass EQs on each other. I wish it had more bands, so we could save rack space.
  #7  
Old 2013-03-28, 20:40
scifunk's Avatar
scifunk scifunk is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 918
Be nice to have an option on the SSL to have 2, 4, 6 or 8 mid bands of fully parametric eq
__________________
Scientific Funk & Cactus Jack - deep house, tech-house and techno
  #8  
Old 2013-03-28, 21:46
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,473
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickmorgan19457 View Post
I've looked at that a dozen times or so and gone "he must have a reason for this...I'll leave it alone". I've mentioned this before, but that combi is freaking awesome.

Does anyone know if the MClass EQ is phase linear? I know the crossover section of the Stereo Imager is.
I'm not sure the Stereo Imager uses linear phase filters for it's crossovers - are you reading this somewhere?

The reason for all the EQs is that I'm matching the frequency response of the Treble Rotor of a Leslie rotating speaker cabinet. There are so many different cancellations/reflections inside that box! That's simply how many EQs it took to reproduce the frequency response of the original. I should note that without the EQs, the Leslie effect is quite tame and more like a stereo chorus IMO - I even have a preset saved that way for just such comparisons! ;-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #9  
Old 2013-03-28, 21:49
selig's Avatar
selig selig is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 10,473
Quote:
Originally Posted by scifunk View Post
Be nice to have an option on the SSL to have 2, 4, 6 or 8 mid bands of fully parametric eq
But without changing the Q significantly it wouldn't help much - and once you go a make all of those changes you're deviating so much from the original design as to probably be better to just create a new EQ IMO. BTW, other than for modeling Leslie Speakers, I probably wouldn't have much use for such an EQ, though I'm sure there are others who would. ;-)
__________________
Giles Reaves, aka 'selig'
Audio Illusionist, Musical Technologist
Selig Audio, LLC
USA
  #10  
Old 2013-03-28, 21:49
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by selig View Post
I don't know how many YOU can use, but I can use seven: ;-)


Taken from the Selig B3-Leslie, specifically the Treble Rotor speaker/cabinet emulation section, FWIW. :-)
Is it comparable with the Ableton EQ Eight?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to use surgical EQ within reason. Reason Tutorial. Ronnietober Phead User Forum (read only) 16 2011-12-05 18:06
How to use surgical EQ within reason. Reason Tutorial. Ronnietober General Forum (read only) 0 2011-11-30 18:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:40.