Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-04-02, 21:28
brownmd brownmd is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Cool Audio In

Can I record live from YouTube into reason 6.5?
  #2  
Old 2013-04-03, 03:15
cpetersus's Avatar
cpetersus cpetersus is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 167
Have you ever set up JACK and it work well? It looks a little involved and it seems that there are several conflicting methods on setting it up. I'd like to use it along with R7 midi out functionality to route audio back into Reason.
__________________
Chris Peters
Richmond, VA, USA

Reason 7 - Studio One Pro V2.5
Optiplex780 8G Win7 & Dell Latitude E6410 4G Win7 64 bit
Presonus AudioBox1818 - Focusrite VRM - Fender SuperChamp X2
MAudio Oxygen61 - Akai MPD26 - iPad2
  #3  
Old 2013-04-04, 20:20
wkeever's Avatar
wkeever wkeever is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 439
Or you could just setup Windows or OSX to use your audio interface for it's sounds.
Then plug a wire from your audio interface's outputs back to it's inputs.
  #4  
Old 2013-04-05, 06:25
Jazon Jazon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpetersus View Post
Have you ever set up JACK and it work well? It looks a little involved and it seems that there are several conflicting methods on setting it up. I'd like to use it along with R7 midi out functionality to route audio back into Reason.
Yes, in fact I have been running NI standalones into Reason audio for some time now. With MIDI out it should theoretically be possible to control the plugs from the Reason sequencer and like I said, the audio part is easy.

Or yeah, for "sampling" from YouTube, do it the easy way and just run your line out from the computer main board into the inputs of your other audio interface.
  #5  
Old 2013-04-05, 07:13
littlejam's Avatar
littlejam littlejam is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 377
hello, @Jazon:

is it possible for you to comment back with set up instructions
on how to use JACK and possibly some screenshots that show the settings
that would really help the rest of us out who are trying to do the same thing

i've been using virtual audio cable and it's not consistent/dependable

thanks, j
__________________
littlejamaicastudios
hp dv4 laptop 2.3ghz 8gb ram asio4all win7 64bit
reason 6.5.3 / reaper / acidpro /akai mpk mini / korg padkontrol
  #6  
Old 2013-04-07, 06:21
Jazon Jazon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 124
Sorry I didn't see your message, and sorry I don't have the time/energy to walk you step-by-step through all of this, luckily the info is on the JACK website. It would be easy to miss though, I ended up piecing together how to do it through much research, trial, and error and only seen the documentation when I was searching for someone who had already done the work so...

http://jackaudio.org/jack_on_windows

Just skip all the blah blah at the top and go directly to "Installation and Configuration". Follow it and you should be good to go, just remember to put your ASIO device name into the target link of the jack audio connection. Also after you start the connection you will have to configure the audio drivers on all the software you want to connect to use the jackrouter, THEN open up Jack control program and do all the connection nonsense. Maybe it says that in there somewhere, but there is something about this program and the documentation that just makes people like me want to beat myself about the head and chest.

Anyway, that should work for you.

J.
  #7  
Old 2013-04-07, 06:29
littlejam's Avatar
littlejam littlejam is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 377
hello, @Jazon:

thanks for responding, i know it was asking a lot for a tutorial

can you answer me one more thing:

1.) is JACK good? is it stable, without dropouts, etc.?

2.) and also, is it loud enough?

3.) and is it in stereo? can you pan the sounds that come through it?

Virtual Audio Cable seems to be 10db too low
and all of the audio seems to be 'left channel' oriented to where i can't pan
and then it drops out and gets me mad

so if you can provide me with a quick vote of confidence for JACK
i'll start messing with it tonight

cheers and happy reasoning, j
__________________
littlejamaicastudios
hp dv4 laptop 2.3ghz 8gb ram asio4all win7 64bit
reason 6.5.3 / reaper / acidpro /akai mpk mini / korg padkontrol
  #8  
Old 2013-04-07, 08:30
Jazon Jazon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 124
Multiquote didn't work so the format of this reply might be annoying - sorry.

hello, @Jazon:

thanks for responding, i know it was asking a lot for a tutorial

Well it doesn't hurt to ask, I am just lazy. lol

can you answer me one more thing:

1.) is JACK good? is it stable, without dropouts, etc.?

For me, it is surprisingly fine. It doesn't seem like a whole lot of people use it so I don't have any other opinion about it. I first started using it a few (maybe less, memory is bad) years ago and between all the trouble trying to set it up and understand what was going on I think I found another way to do what I was trying. Since getting back into it the past few months it has only crashed my system once and I think that is because I tried closing JACK while things were still playing. No drop-outs, as low latency as rewire (from my perspective, not scientifically measured).

2.) and also, is it loud enough?

This seemed like a strange question until your comment about VAC, but there is no noticeable degradation of audio. It sounds the same with or without it. It is possible with certain things to create a positive feedback loop where you will have more loudness than you could ever want, but generally if you stay away from feeding an output of one thing into an input of another that goes back into the input of the first thing you will be fine.

3.) and is it in stereo? can you pan the sounds that come through it?

Again, it is just like rewire and as much stereo as anything if you configure it that way.

Virtual Audio Cable seems to be 10db too low
and all of the audio seems to be 'left channel' oriented to where i can't pan
and then it drops out and gets me mad

I gave up on VAC after about 20 minutes, although JACK is seemingly more complicated it works tremendously better.

so if you can provide me with a quick vote of confidence for JACK
i'll start messing with it tonight

Here is my vote of confidence, and it is free so all you have to lose is time and sleep.

cheers and happy reasoning, j

And to you as well sir/madame!
  #9  
Old 2013-04-07, 09:11
littlejam's Avatar
littlejam littlejam is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 377
hello, @Jazon: you rock, thanks a ton

hopefully i'll have it figured out by morning

cheers, j
__________________
littlejamaicastudios
hp dv4 laptop 2.3ghz 8gb ram asio4all win7 64bit
reason 6.5.3 / reaper / acidpro /akai mpk mini / korg padkontrol
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rack Extensions: Remote Map Scopes list Koshdukai Phead User Forum (read only) 263 2013-11-15 00:04
A method to use VST plugins in reason SpaceToad Phead User Forum (read only) 48 2013-03-11 14:54
How to record / sample system audio (Mac) jmcnama1 Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2010-10-22 00:59
Routing live audio through Reason from another host beatpoet Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2008-07-01 02:32
What if Reason 3 had an optional add on "Audio In" feature? dominik18s General Forum (read only) 9 2005-01-06 20:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:29.