Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-04-06, 19:33
umax5555 umax5555 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
New install

I just upgraded from XP to Windows 7 64 bit and hearing all sorts of issues with audio. I have 8 gig of ram, quad core 2.83 GHz processor using a Line 6 Pod HD for my audio interface and an Akai mpk49 keyboard. Everything worked perfect in XP and in Win 7 it's useless. Any ideas?
  #2  
Old 2013-04-06, 20:14
3rdFloorSound's Avatar
3rdFloorSound 3rdFloorSound is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10,766
Really depends on what the issues are, can you give some detail?
__________________
  #3  
Old 2013-04-06, 20:28
cpetersus's Avatar
cpetersus cpetersus is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 167
There are several guides to optimizing windows 7 for audio. Google it and try some of the suggestions that are high impact for starters. I know Presonus has a pretty good one and I thought PH had one as well. Also try uninstalling and reinstalling your audio interface drivers if the first item doesn't help.
__________________
Chris Peters
Richmond, VA, USA

Reason 7 - Studio One Pro V2.5
Optiplex780 8G Win7 & Dell Latitude E6410 4G Win7 64 bit
Presonus AudioBox1818 - Focusrite VRM - Fender SuperChamp X2
MAudio Oxygen61 - Akai MPD26 - iPad2
  #4  
Old 2013-04-06, 20:31
umax5555 umax5555 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
I keep having the audio cut out for a split second and pops and clicks. I did reinstall the audio driver and didn't help. I've played around with the buffers and that helped some but not 100%.
  #5  
Old 2013-04-06, 20:45
3rdFloorSound's Avatar
3rdFloorSound 3rdFloorSound is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10,766
Quote:
Originally Posted by umax5555 View Post
I did reinstall the audio driver and didn't help.
Oddly enough, I was just reading this morning that Line 6 finally updated their win7 driver WAY later than they should have and that the previous one was messed up - did you check their site for updates?
__________________
  #6  
Old 2013-04-07, 04:29
umax5555 umax5555 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
I installed them today but I will check and see if maybe they have updated today. Thanks!
  #7  
Old 2013-04-07, 05:51
umax5555 umax5555 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Figured out the issue. Thanks to another user suggesting disabling the network card. That took care of the issue. But I still wonder why it didn't cause the issue in XP?
  #8  
Old 2013-04-07, 15:40
3rdFloorSound's Avatar
3rdFloorSound 3rdFloorSound is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10,766
Hard to say, but I do remember having a similar problem with Record a while back that affected a line 6 related file. No clue, but glad it's all worked out
__________________
  #9  
Old 2013-04-07, 15:48
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,936
Quote:
Originally Posted by umax5555 View Post
Figured out the issue. Thanks to another user suggesting disabling the network card. That took care of the issue. But I still wonder why it didn't cause the issue in XP?
There's been some pretty hefty changes to the way networking is handled in Windows 7 compared to XP. For the most part the changes are massive improvements but occasionally your audio drivers don't play nice with it. Usually it's when you're using onboard integrated networking (like your WiFi), but rarely an actual networking card.

Perhaps see if finding the latest drivers for your networking card via the manufacturer's website may help? Either way - congrats on fixing your issue!
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll: How LONG did it REALLY take you to install 6.5? Can install be improved? stratatonic Phead User Forum (read only) 43 2012-06-19 18:57
Re shop prices says free??? WestAm Phead User Forum (read only) 32 2012-06-18 04:00
Balance Install Instructions are not correct! drdk Phead User Forum (read only) 2 2011-10-28 09:50
Cannot Install Rewire 1.7 Mac OS X j3yps General Forum (read only) 1 2010-08-16 16:38
Reason 4.0 won't read to install on XP jwalk777 Phead User Forum (read only) 7 2009-03-18 23:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:35.