Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2013-04-21, 13:28
superduper10000 superduper10000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arsenic View Post
All the pictures I have seen of the S/T version have actually had something on there about it. Have a look at the picture I've attached.

Now I not sure how old this picture is, and whether it has changed, but this is generally what I have seen, and I've not seen the word Education appear on the packaging for the S/T version.

As for the shop telling you it's the correct version, itd always pays to do your own research....There have been several reported cases on this forum, where a well know shop has sold the wrong versions of Reason to their customers - Incorrect upgrade versions seem to be a popular "mis-sell".

The fact that you only have an Upgrade ID, also seems to suggest that you have been sold an upgrade version instead of the base licence....
Ah, thanks. No, my package doesn't have that sticker. Mine has a black sticker saying "For schools and institutions single user license".

Probably you're right about me being given the wrong version in the store. Though, I don't think the store did that on purpose, but the people at the store is very professional in all matters, so if it's the wrong version it's kind of weird.

Why would any store "miss-sell" incorrect upgrade versions anyway? Isn't that bad for business?
  #12  
Old 2013-04-21, 13:29
Arsenic's Avatar
Arsenic Arsenic is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 708
Props generally don't work weekends, so you probably won't get an answer today - although with work under way for the release of Reason 7, you might be lucky - I just wouldn't hold my breath if I was you.
  #13  
Old 2013-04-21, 13:36
Arsenic's Avatar
Arsenic Arsenic is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 708
Quote:
Originally Posted by superduper10000 View Post
Ah, thanks. No, my package doesn't have that sticker. Mine has a black sticker saying "For schools and institutions single user license".
There is "part" of your problem - The other "part" is that it certainly seems to be an upgrade version that you have been given....

There seems to have been a fairly regular issue at one time, with one store selling the wrong upgrade version - I assume not on purpose, but more than likely the staff just didn't know any better...
  #14  
Old 2013-04-21, 18:08
3rdFloorSound's Avatar
3rdFloorSound 3rdFloorSound is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10,766
I remember that happening for a couple months too. And yeah, the S/T version is specifically for what it says, where the EDU version is for actual schools where the institution buys the license, from what I remember. Think I'd head back to the store and see what they can do for you, as it was their mistake.
__________________
  #15  
Old 2013-05-16, 18:57
superduper10000 superduper10000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Here's my story so far:

After explaining to the importer of Reason the difference between the versions "for schools/institutions" and "for teacher/students", the importer (who didn't know shit) concluded that they'd given me the wrong version. No problem, the importer said: I could just return the wrong version to the store, and the importer would make sure that I got the correct version.

That was over three weeks ago.

In the past three weeks the importer managed to order the same wrong version (for schools/institutions) once again, so they had to be explained - once again - the difference between the versions "for schools/institutions" and "for teacher/students". No problem - the importer said: They would order the correct version, and I would have it in a couple of days... Yeah sure.

Finally the store called today and said that the correct version had arrived, only that it was Reason 7, and not Reason 6.5 as I originally bought/ordered. (Reason 6.5 is no longer possible for the importer to get.)

No problem, Reason 7 must be better than Reason 6.5... so I thought.

Yeah... Since my music-production PC is not connected to the internet, (it doesn't even have a working network card), as of safety reasons, I'm now stuck with a useless version of Reason 7 which I'm not being able to use: There's no installation file on the DVD in the package, only download-link or whatever, and there's no USB-dongle/key/Codemeter (as it was in the package of version 6.5).

Any suggestions on to how to get a working copy of Reason? I want to give up this Reason stuff, and if anybody - with a internet connection to their music-production PC - wants to buy my Reason 7 you're probably welcome :-(

Update: I see that one can download the Reason 7 demo and then activate the demo with the use of an ignition key, but in the Reason 7 package there is no such ignition key (it was an ignition key in the 6.5 package though). I also see that one can buy an ignition key from Propellerhead's website for an additional 50USD + shipping? + taxes to Norway. So the ignition key that's needed to get the downloaded demo-software fully working will cost me approximately an additional 100USD + waiting time after ordered. Why is there no ignition key in the package?

I've actually paid for a package containing a DVD with a Reason 7 download link and some sound-samples and readme-files... No software, and no ignition key. That's really nice.

Last edited by superduper10000; 2013-05-16 at 19:44.
  #16  
Old 2013-05-16, 19:55
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by superduper10000 View Post
Update: I see that one can download the Reason 7 demo and then activate the demo with the use of an ignition key, but in the Reason 7 package there is no such ignition key (it was an ignition key in the 6.5 package though). I also see that one can buy an ignition key from Propellerhead's website for an additional 50USD + shipping? + taxes to Norway. So the ignition key that's needed to get the downloaded demo-software fully working will cost me approximately an additional 100USD + waiting time after ordered. Why is there no ignition key in the package?

I've actually paid for a package containing a DVD with a Reason 7 download link and some sound-samples and readme-files... No software, and no ignition key. That's really nice.
It's plainly stated in Reason 7 system requirements that a fast Internet connection is required in order to install and register.

http://www.propellerheads.se/products/reason/new/faq/

That said, once you download and install - you can authorize one computer for offline use. I suggest you do that with your Reason 7 license. Take your computer to a WiFi cafe or public place if you have to. It's worth it.
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
  #17  
Old 2013-05-16, 20:21
superduper10000 superduper10000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnochLight View Post
It's plainly stated in Reason 7 system requirements that a fast Internet connection is required in order to install and register.

http://www.propellerheads.se/products/reason/new/faq/

That said, once you download and install - you can authorize one computer for offline use. I suggest you do that with your Reason 7 license. Take your computer to a WiFi cafe or public place if you have to. It's worth it.
I actually bought Reason 6.5 full version for students, but was given an upgrade version and a version for schools & institutions. I returned the wrong version and was now given Reason 7 after much waiting. The importer can no longer get Reason 6.5, which contained the actual software and an ignition key.

It's not possible to connect my music-production PC to the internet: It has no working network card, purely for safety reasons as I've had previous unlucky experiences with computer-viruses and trojans.

I think the way around this is to download the Reason demo from Propellerhead's website, and burn this demo to a DVD and install Reason via the DVD to my music-production PC. Though I do need an ignition key which I must activate trough a computer that's connected to the internet, but in the Reason 7 package there's no ignition key...

Though I can buy an ignition key for an additional 100USD+ (price+shipping+taxes), thats money I don't have until next month. And when I order the ignition key from Propellerhead, I must wait more weeks before it gets here, and when the ignition key finally gets here I must personally travel to the customs office on other side of town and declare it (In Norway there's tax/vat on anything over 40USD).

I wonder why on earth there is no ignition in key in the Reason 7 package? It was one in the 6.5 package...

Now I feel like giving up Reason, before I even got it working. It's not cool.

At best I'll probably have a working copy of Reason in 5-6 weeks...
  #18  
Old 2013-05-16, 20:44
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by superduper10000 View Post
I wonder why on earth there is no ignition in key in the Reason 7 package? It was one in the 6.5 package...
The price of Reason 7 versus Reason 6.5 has been adjusted accordingly - you're not charged for the Ignition Key in 7 as it's purely optional. So many people were complaining about having to use a dongle that Propellerhead decided to allow you to use it without the dongle fully functional...

...assuming you activate/authorize via the Internet.

At any rate, good luck!
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
  #19  
Old 2013-05-16, 20:45
Arsenic's Avatar
Arsenic Arsenic is online now
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 708
Sorry that you have still not got things sorted out. It certainly seems that you are taking one step forward and two steps back...

Quote:
Originally Posted by superduper10000 View Post
It's not possible to connect my music-production PC to the internet: It has no working network card, purely for safety reasons as I've had previous unlucky experiences with computer-viruses and trojans.
I have my main workstation (for music only) set up with access to the internet, but as I am not running antivirus on that PC, I do it this way....The homepage for the browser is set to the propellerhead site - the only site I use, and then only for authorising and downloading Rack Extensions etc - no other other browsing under any circumstances...When I don't need the internet access for these things, it is disabled in Device Manager.

Any other browsing, reading the forums or downloading is done on my laptop.

Could you not set it up something like that.....obviously it's your choice, but it works for me, so I thought I would throw it out there....
  #20  
Old 2013-05-16, 20:51
superduper10000 superduper10000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by EnochLight View Post
The price of Reason 7 versus Reason 6.5 has been adjusted accordingly - you're not charged for the Ignition Key in 7 as it's purely optional. So many people were complaining about having to use a dongle that Propellerhead decided to allow you to use it without the dongle fully functional...

...assuming you activate/authorize via the Internet.

At any rate, good luck!
I did pay for Reason 6.5, but got 7... Didn't know about the price difference, 7 being cheaper?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with missing Reason 6 license number mikedmpls Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2011-10-10 05:18
License number for Reason adapted sightseer General Forum (read only) 4 2010-06-17 17:39
Reason Adapted won't open, asks for license number jef1f76 Phead User Forum (read only) 0 2009-10-06 21:47
did not get license number for reason adapted bunnymen General Forum (read only) 2 2009-08-03 14:31
license number please for reason 2.0 sonic2 General Forum (read only) 9 2002-07-28 17:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:29.