Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-04-26, 20:49
krisa334578 krisa334578 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
Question Reason 6.5.3 and Nektar p4

Hello again! so I bought reason 6.5 and a Nektar p4, all is working well, BUT, the pitchwheel is not working....yet if I try to find the control surface like so; add controller...choose Nektar.... then try to find the controller in Instrument Mode In port, it picks up the movement of the pitchwheel!?
so it IS working, its just not being picked up by the instruments themselves!

Also, as I am writing this, I am going back and forth on Reason to find the right terms, (such as "Instrument Mode In port") and the "Preferences" option is not highlighted, so I cant go into the preferences!?

I bought Reason and the Nektar yesterday so its all new.
I bought my pc 3 weeks ago (Lenovo H520s/8 GB RAM/i3 core)

The bad thing is, I love using Reason, an I love the flow and playability of the Nektar p4, but this hassle is starting to put me off both.

(I used Reason 2.5 for about 6 years and stopped in 2011 because my pc was getting old and could no longer cope with the demands )

If someone can help me out or point me in the right direction that would be great.
Thanks for reading!
  #2  
Old 2013-04-26, 21:20
geiger167 geiger167 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 250
You've probably accidentally disabled the pitch bend wheel in the settings, check the manual and make sure you haven't (it's somewhere in the zone edit pages I think) Best to check this before you do anything else
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #3  
Old 2013-04-27, 22:24
krisa334578 krisa334578 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
nope, its not that. The 4 zones seem to have the pitch bend on, yet its still not working.
  #4  
Old 2013-04-27, 22:51
krisa334578 krisa334578 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
and now the sustain is not being recorded, any ideas?
  #5  
Old 2013-04-29, 20:50
krisa334578 krisa334578 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
the sustain problem has been sorted, but still no luck with the pitchbend wheel, anyone got any sugestions?
  #6  
Old 2013-04-29, 22:17
geiger167 geiger167 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 250
Do you have another DAW (or access to a free one or a ableton demo maybe)
The panorama will act as a normal controller in other DAW's and you can check if the pitch wheel is actually working. If is still not working it is a Nectar hardware issue and you will need to contact them and get it replaced.
Are you connecting both usb leads by the way, the large one is for the motorised fader and the slim one for the keyboard, and is the keyboard going through the normal calibration routine where the fader moves up and down. Also in Reason preferences with the Nectar connected there should be two instances of the keyboard showing in the control surfaces, one for the master keyboard, and one for the mixer section which needs to be tied to options/surface locking for some features to work. If not, you need to go to the Nectar website, join, and read the support section to learn how to properly connect the keyboard as suggested in the small owners manual you got with the keyboard) If you have done all this sorry for rambling on but beyond these tips it is looking like a faulty unit
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #7  
Old 2013-05-03, 12:43
krisa334578 krisa334578 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 10
All is good! I emailed Nektar and they got back to me straight away, I simply had to reset the Nektar (turn off, press and hold buttons: patch - and patch + together while turning the unit on.
I had a feeling it was going to be something simple!

Thanks geiger167 for your knowledge, rambling is useful! and thanks to everyone else who helped too.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Reason 6.5 w REs, Nektar Panorama P4, Bunch of Refills textoaster Phead User Forum (read only) 4 2013-04-23 07:27
Reason ‘Power’ button to the Nektar Panorama P4 QVprod Phead User Forum (read only) 4 2013-04-22 11:50
now that Reason 7 has midi, will Nektar P series output midi from Reason? danny_f Phead User Forum (read only) 18 2013-03-22 20:50
Controller for Reason; NOVATION vs NEKTAR JJeanluc Phead User Forum (read only) 22 2013-02-02 16:46
Will Nektar Panorama work with Reason Essentials? Zbig Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2012-11-30 18:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:41.