Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

View Poll Results: Is Reason 7 now a DAW?
Yes - and I'm going to rush to Wikipedia to add it to the list. 85 64.39%
No - not by a long shot. 14 10.61%
I don't know 10 7.58%
A rose by any other name would smell as sweet 23 17.42%
Voters: 132. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-05-01, 17:03
xmofficial's Avatar
xmofficial xmofficial is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 79
Is Reason 7 now a Digital Audio Workstation (DAW) ?

What do you think?

I'm not trying to start a war, just trying to see what arguments will be from both sides.

Thanks.
  #2  
Old 2013-05-01, 17:40
DatAsian's Avatar
DatAsian DatAsian is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 39
I never got this arguement anyway.

First line from wiki: "A digital audio workstation (DAW) is an electronic system designed solely or primarily for recording, editing and playing back digital audio. "

I'm pretty sure Reason did all this from what, reason 5 already? Recording got easier in Reason 6, but i'm pretty sure it was possible, right?

Sure in the old old versions of Reason it was hard to call it a DAW, but I don't believe that statement still stands.


Reading the wiki page a bit more it would be better to call it a digital audio editor, I guess, but at the same time I also voted for the last poll awnser.

Because semantics.
  #3  
Old 2013-05-01, 17:59
rickblackdog rickblackdog is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Yeah I don't get the question, it has been ever since it started recording audio...
  #4  
Old 2013-05-01, 18:00
phasys's Avatar
phasys phasys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickblackdog View Post
Yeah I don't get the question, it has been ever since it started recording audio...
You couldn't record audio in Reason 5. That was Reason 6.
__________________
"Having unlimited choices can paralyze you creatively." - David Byrne

"Some questions simply do not deserve an answer." - Richard Dawkins

https://soundcloud.com/dutch-bastard

omfg one million megahurz CPU
  #5  
Old 2013-05-01, 18:49
urk10 urk10 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmofficial View Post
What do you think?

I'm not trying to start a war, just trying to see what arguments will be from both sides.

Thanks.
Not until it has mp3 export
  #6  
Old 2013-05-01, 19:18
Exowildebeest Exowildebeest is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,744
Quote:
Originally Posted by phasys View Post
You couldn't record audio in Reason 5. That was Reason 6.
It did have sampling - or didn't it?

Technically that qualifies as audio recording... Up to an amazing 30 seconds!
  #7  
Old 2013-05-01, 19:21
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
Yes! Period!
  #8  
Old 2013-05-01, 19:23
calmbird's Avatar
calmbird calmbird is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 326
Reason DAW? Come on.
This program doesn't have bus channels, recording/editing abilities, mixers, compresors etc.
Defenitely not a DAW! Not even a DA for me! Scandal! Propellerhead, shame on you! :<
  #9  
Old 2013-05-01, 20:26
QVprod's Avatar
QVprod QVprod is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by DatAsian View Post
I never got this arguement anyway.

First line from wiki: "A digital audio workstation (DAW) is an electronic system designed solely or primarily for recording, editing and playing back digital audio. "

I'm pretty sure Reason did all this from what, reason 5 already? Recording got easier in Reason 6, but i'm pretty sure it was possible, right?

Sure in the old old versions of Reason it was hard to call it a DAW, but I don't believe that statement still stands.


Reading the wiki page a bit more it would be better to call it a digital audio editor, I guess, but at the same time I also voted for the last poll awnser.

Because semantics.
Prior to version 6 it was just a DW (digital workstation)
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…

Website
  #10  
Old 2013-05-01, 20:34
PeterLansford PeterLansford is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1,226
Nope not a DAW still no VST support!
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
More RE cpu usage madness vs VST/AU - Softube TheodoreM Phead User Forum (read only) 253 2013-06-17 15:26
Digital Timestamps on Reason files marcustoni Music Forum (read only) 4 2012-10-30 17:23
Buy New Bose Lifestyle V25 $1,000/ Bose® Lifestyle V35 $1,999/ Bose 235 $1,200 vall4u Music Forum (read only) 0 2012-03-21 09:22
Reason 5 is good, but... Espejo Phead User Forum (read only) 47 2011-05-10 08:07
This audio issue is not handled well by the props -long post electrofux General Forum (read only) 41 2007-06-25 17:25


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:23.