Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > Feature Suggestion Forum

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-04-30, 17:42
mbain mbain is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,603
Ability To Type Slider and Dial Values In

I know, this has been asked for before, but Reason 7 does not contain it, so obviously Props hasn't heard or has heard but doesn't think it's important.

So I'm making the suggestion again.

Please please please implement the ability to type in values for sliders and dials instead of having to use the mouse. For people with bigger monitor resolutions, using the mouse to dial or slide the exact value we need can be quite tedious, even with the "fine" option selected and using the CTRL key.

I would think this would not be a difficult feature to implement. Am I right?
  #2  
Old 2013-04-30, 18:19
2welve's Avatar
2welve 2welve is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
This would be nice. +1
__________________
http://adambjallen.tumblr.com/
  #3  
Old 2013-04-30, 18:46
Exowildebeest Exowildebeest is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,744
It can be a nightmare to match fader levels to exactly the same value. Or any knob value anywhere that's very precise.

Given that a lot of people - me, that is - have OCD when it comes to these things, even if they're barely audible differences in values, I really hope they add this.
  #4  
Old 2013-04-30, 19:28
mbain mbain is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exowildebeest View Post
It can be a nightmare to match fader levels to exactly the same value. Or any knob value anywhere that's very precise.
You are exactly right. Tedious to the extreme.
  #5  
Old 2013-04-30, 19:31
Exowildebeest Exowildebeest is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3,744
That feeling of frustration when you've got the value, release the mouse button only to see it slightly over- or undershoot it... is... a very peculiar kind of frustration.

But let's enjoy R7 for now and keep our hopes for the next release.
  #6  
Old 2013-04-30, 19:45
mbain mbain is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exowildebeest View Post
That feeling of frustration when you've got the value, release the mouse button only to see it slightly over- or undershoot it... is... a very peculiar kind of frustration.

But let's enjoy R7 for now and keep our hopes for the next release.
I was intent on buying Reason 7 until I saw a couple of refills I'd much rather spend money on.
  #7  
Old 2013-05-01, 09:34
djfm1983's Avatar
djfm1983 djfm1983 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 949
Hope the next version will take care of this issue. Sounds like it would be simple to program but what do I know about codeing?
  #8  
Old 2013-05-01, 13:47
plaamook's Avatar
plaamook plaamook is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exowildebeest View Post
That feeling of frustration when you've got the value, release the mouse button only to see it slightly over- or undershoot it... is... a very peculiar kind of frustration.
tell me about it.

the way track pads are on a MBP these days i don't bother with a mouse any more.

it works perfectly well in most respects but this one. the little jump you get just as you release the thing. GRRRR.

[the other one is patching cables. with a mouse you can grab a cable and then scroll up or down with the wheel. can't with a track pad. but that's another issue.]
  #9  
Old 2013-05-01, 16:56
PulseOne PulseOne is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 9
Plamook: Have you tried enabling three-finger drag?
  #10  
Old 2013-05-01, 19:54
snuup408 snuup408 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 66
lol i feel ya
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:11.