Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2012-04-02, 12:21
DJSlipside's Avatar
DJSlipside DJSlipside is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
I hear that Reason is having some problems with certain AISO drivers upon starting up the program. I hear there is a work around that they can send you.
  #12  
Old 2012-04-02, 12:48
jengstrom jengstrom is offline
Propellerhead
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 931
If it's a hanging ASIO driver, there are indeed two workarounds built into the program. They are activated by two optional files in the folder for Reason preferences.

The attached file contains .bat-files that can enable and disable these workarounds.
Very simple instructions included. I'd appreciate to know if it works or not.

Edit: Replaced the .zip with the latest version.
Attached Files
File Type: zip ReasonASIOWorkarounds.20120712-1144.zip (2.0 KB, 25 views)

Last edited by jengstrom; 2013-01-15 at 17:29.
  #13  
Old 2012-04-02, 23:12
DJSlipside's Avatar
DJSlipside DJSlipside is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
Thanks... I will give it a shot!
  #14  
Old 2012-04-03, 00:11
DJSlipside's Avatar
DJSlipside DJSlipside is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 16
It worked!!!!
  #15  
Old 2012-04-03, 09:18
jengstrom jengstrom is offline
Propellerhead
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 931
Thanks for confirming that.
You can keep using the workarounds, they are stable.

The most proper solution however, is to uninstall the ASIO driver that hangs when the program behaves normally.

If you don't know what ASIO drivers are installed, you can look in Reason at the list under Preferences->Audio.

If there are ASIO drivers there that you don't use, you should uninstall them.
You can then disable both workarounds and test if that solved the hang.

The workarounds need to be reactivated if your preferences are deleted somehow, so you can keep the .bat-files in case you need to do that.
  #16  
Old 2013-05-07, 02:23
Eanna Eanna is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
This worked for me too.
I have Creamware/SonicCore Scope 5.0 installed here, and had no problems using that ASIO driver until tonight. I usually use Reason as a Rewire Slave, but I wanted to try Reason with my new Focusrite Scarlett interface. Not sure if it's Scope's ASIO driver or Focusrite's, but the workaround of the two prf files worked...

If I do narrow down the culprit, I'll post back here.

Thanks, Eanna
  #17  
Old 2013-05-18, 23:29
blandydoes2010 blandydoes2010 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Talking This Worked!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jengstrom View Post
If it's a hanging ASIO driver, there are indeed two workarounds built into the program. They are activated by two optional files in the folder for Reason preferences.

The attached file contains .bat-files that can enable and disable these workarounds.
Very simple instructions included. I'd appreciate to know if it works or not.

Edit: Replaced the .zip with the latest version.

This worked for me, the no ACE workaround stopped my Reason 6.5.3 on Win7 hanging. Cheers
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popular Plugins as Combinator Patches NoelGMusic Phead User Forum (read only) 216 2013-09-25 02:12
Why I simply cannot bring myself to buy Reason kolakube General Forum (read only) 156 2013-03-23 00:37
Musikmesse - any news from the propellerhead booth? -nt electrofux General Forum (read only) 22 2007-03-31 18:25
Reason / DP / OMS Test Results Within... arothman General Forum (read only) 2 2003-03-05 03:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:42.