Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-05-09, 06:00
lildude1989 lildude1989 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 146
SO... i need to authorize reason 7?

It let me download it for free, but i have to buy it to use it? Screw that, I will re-download 6.5. i paid 100 bucks when they had the name your price upgrade, so blah. lol.
  #2  
Old 2013-05-09, 06:23
3rdFloorSound's Avatar
3rdFloorSound 3rdFloorSound is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 10,762
Wait, it won't let you run in demo mode?
__________________
  #3  
Old 2013-05-09, 06:42
kylelee's Avatar
kylelee kylelee is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 298
you seem confused or misinformed perhaps. R7 is not a free update, it is a paid update. if you have a license to R6 and R6.5 then you can run those versions authorized. you will not be authorized for R7 unless you bought the update. you should be able to run R7 in demo mode and evaluate if you want to buy the upgrade.
  #4  
Old 2013-05-09, 06:45
lildude1989 lildude1989 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3rdFloorSound View Post
Wait, it won't let you run in demo mode?
I can, but not open any songs. so unless I keep them open, I am screwed. that And my works in progress? gone.
  #5  
Old 2013-05-09, 06:55
joeyluck's Avatar
joeyluck joeyluck is online now
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,523
You have to own the Reason 7 license in order to open songs in Reason 7.
  #6  
Old 2013-05-09, 07:26
lildude1989 lildude1989 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 146
ik. i realized that. lol im just bummed that the last 3 were so easy to get.
  #7  
Old 2013-05-09, 15:45
lildude1989 lildude1989 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 146
I was thinking about it... there is nothing in 7 that really makes it worth buying (to me). So I am probably not gonna waste my money.
  #8  
Old 2013-05-09, 17:33
lemec's Avatar
lemec lemec is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by lildude1989 View Post
I was thinking about it... there is nothing in 7 that really makes it worth buying (to me). So I am probably not gonna waste my money.
there is less waste of money in Reason than in other sequencers
(unless you do not find them pirated.
wastage in this case would be "zero" ).
  #9  
Old 2013-05-09, 17:50
particlejunkie's Avatar
particlejunkie particlejunkie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 2,548
Quote:
Originally Posted by lildude1989 View Post
I can, but not open any songs. so unless I keep them open, I am screwed. that And my works in progress? gone.
Installing R7 should not have deleted your works in progress, unless you keep them in the Reason app folder. Never keep any works in progress, refills, or homemade patches in the Reason app folder, or you risk deleting them when updating.
__________________
www.soundcloud.com/particlejunkie

Brought to you by Carl's Jr.
  #10  
Old 2013-05-09, 19:00
Philup Philup is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 604
In all my years of paying for and using software this has been the general scheme:


Full version upgrade i.e. 1.0 - 2.0 = you will pay

bug fix release i.e. 1.0 - 1.01 or 1.0.1 = always free no extras added but product runs better

update (usually features that were initially meant to go into the upgrade but time/resources would have delayed initial release) i.e. 2.0 - 2.5 = free with features added.

Has there ever been a situation where this is not expected with any company that sells software?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A method to use VST plugins in reason SpaceToad Phead User Forum (read only) 48 2013-03-11 14:54
Does Reason Block the Midi Signal to other PLugins? bifbangpow General Forum (read only) 7 2013-01-04 19:38
why do i keep getting asked to authorize every time i open reason 6? djgci2001 General Forum (read only) 5 2011-10-02 20:30
People just face it; Reason rules again! :) [n/t] eric General Forum (read only) 26 2011-08-02 01:49
How do I solve that factory sound bank thingie? vectro Phead User Forum (read only) 6 2009-05-19 20:11


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:50.