Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

View Poll Results: Do you use the blocks feature in Reason?
Yes - It's improved my work flow. 33 61.11%
No - Don't even know what it is. 5 9.26%
Nah, Can't be bothered spending 5 minutes to learn it to save 500 hours in future. 16 29.63%
Voters: 54. You may not vote on this poll

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2013-05-16, 01:35
MediaSVI's Avatar
MediaSVI MediaSVI is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,330
Funny I put out a video today asking if people use Blocks...I record in Blocks!

  #12  
Old 2013-05-16, 08:19
svenh svenh is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 81
No support for upbeats...

The main problem is that blocks don't support upbeats:

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=180678
  #13  
Old 2013-05-16, 08:24
JustinCorza's Avatar
JustinCorza JustinCorza is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 243
I know what it does, but I don't use it. Why isn't there an option for this?
  #14  
Old 2013-05-16, 08:45
musicbymartin's Avatar
musicbymartin musicbymartin is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
The poll options are loaded - the only option to say "No" assumes that this is because people are too lazy to find out how blocks work.

I use blocks sometimes, and find them useful, but at others times I deliberately avoid them, not because I "can't be bothered" but to avoid building too much repetition into my music.
  #15  
Old 2013-05-16, 08:54
Smedberg's Avatar
Smedberg Smedberg is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,094
Quote:
Originally Posted by svenh View Post
The main problem is that blocks don't support upbeats:

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=180678

Yes, I don't use blocks because of this.

Perhaps the OP don't know Blocks fully, or is to lazy to find out?
__________________
Pressing "PLAY" is NOT a live performance...
It's called "playback"
  #16  
Old 2013-05-16, 08:55
VillaNDubstep's Avatar
VillaNDubstep VillaNDubstep is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,978
Blocks were made for house and trance, well not really, but blocks would work very well with these genres. Blocks is all about consciously splitting your track into it's different sections as you produce, for example, intro, verse, chorus and outro/coda for the traditionalists.
But blocks do more than just split up your track, blocks actually make arranging easier and are also great for creating quick variations of the same loop.
James Bernard demonstrates blocks very well in one of his videos showing how to use a block/loop to create a build by chopping it up and repeating smaller sections of the block. Ok the video is about remixing with stems but it's interesting and does show a bit on blocks. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=towVbEtkt7E
  #17  
Old 2013-05-16, 08:58
VillaNDubstep's Avatar
VillaNDubstep VillaNDubstep is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,978
Ps, at the very least blocks are a handy way of storing midi clips, pieces of audio. Handy when remixing something, I quite often will load all the samples into a block and then just copy them as and when needed into the main sequencer. Avoids unwanted clutter in the main sequencer for me
  #18  
Old 2013-05-16, 09:45
raymondh's Avatar
raymondh raymondh is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 1,065
Blocks are not perfect (They would be if you could stack 'em with layers of blocks), but they are very useful, especially in collaborations, and forming song structure. Good for quickly switching verses, choruses around too.
  #19  
Old 2013-05-16, 10:53
misterc misterc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 56
I'd use them if there was a select clips > right-click > make block feature.
  #20  
Old 2013-05-16, 11:13
ProfessaKaos's Avatar
ProfessaKaos ProfessaKaos is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,477
I use them to mark sections of the song for easier navigation over the timeline, so I don't use them quite as intented
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reason 6: Upgrades & Putting Things In Perspective scottym Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2011-08-11 01:43
Reason 5 is good, but... Espejo Phead User Forum (read only) 47 2011-05-10 08:07
PROBLEMS SYNCING CUBASE SL AND REASON VIA REWIRE!? Muzak Phead User Forum (read only) 8 2008-08-12 20:26
Reason 3.0, ProTools 6.7 on a PC with Alesis Keyboard jiagap Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2005-08-19 22:08
Reason / DP / OMS Test Results Within... arothman General Forum (read only) 2 2003-03-05 03:26


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:23.