Propellerhead Software
  #51  
Old 2013-05-14, 16:43
MirrorEyes's Avatar
MirrorEyes MirrorEyes is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 842
I think the question should be does Hyperthreading deliver an adequate performance boost in relation to it's price premium!! IMO and last time I checked benchmarks, it didn't, however as has already been said, they do deliver performance gains and if best performance is your number 1 priority then the choice is obvious.
  #52  
Old 2013-05-14, 17:06
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0ahg View Post
XP reports HT as a real core so it can't take advantage of it and can cause more stalls and therefore increase the overhead. This would support you link!
The weird part is that I can't tell what OS those tests were ran on - I must be missing the test machine specs. I can find hardware, just not the OS. It was done in November 2008, and Vista was out in January 2007.. so likely it was Vista? Not sure.

*shrugs*
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
  #53  
Old 2013-05-16, 00:07
phasys's Avatar
phasys phasys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,891
hurr hurr HT hurr durr
__________________
"Having unlimited choices can paralyze you creatively." - David Byrne

"Some questions simply do not deserve an answer." - Richard Dawkins

https://soundcloud.com/dutch-bastard

omfg one million megahurz CPU
  #54  
Old 2013-05-16, 01:17
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by phasys View Post
Haha! Let's come into this discussion to say something completely random!
Yet again a useless comment from the same user without basic comprehension. Perhaps I should have left you in my ignore list :-/
  #55  
Old 2013-05-16, 01:19
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by MirrorEyes View Post
I think the question should be does Hyperthreading deliver an adequate performance boost in relation to it's price premium!! IMO and last time I checked benchmarks, it didn't, however as has already been said, they do deliver performance gains and if best performance is your number 1 priority then the choice is obvious.
Under XP, no... Under a modern OS you can see for yourself!
  #56  
Old 2013-05-16, 02:28
NickGeorge NickGeorge is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 147
I'm currently running an i5 and when I finish a project in Reason, I notice the DSP indicator is about halfway up and can go up to about 3/4's of the way on complex tracks or just because I'm using CPU hungry rack extensions.

My i5 is OK for now, but I'm planning on upgrading soon to an i7 soon regardless of Reason.
  #57  
Old 2013-05-16, 06:56
lyricalvolt's Avatar
lyricalvolt lyricalvolt is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by samrhee View Post
I'm building a computer exclusively for Reason 7. Can someone give me a performance breakdown between i5 and i7 processors AS IT PERTAINS TO R7?

I'm reading a lot of comparisons in the context of gaming and 3D rendering, but does R7 experience a significant performance boost?

I've spec'ed out 32gb of RAM and no bells or whistles that might bog the system down. The CPU is the last thing. I know i7 would be the "logical" choice, but I'd like to hear from you guys (and girls).
Intel i7 2600K. That monster!
__________________
Beats |Recording |Mixing |Mastering
http://www.beatsbyvt.com
www.twitter.com/beatsbyvt
  #58  
Old 2013-05-16, 10:29
friday's Avatar
friday friday is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 57
Exclamation Reason uses only half of my CPU's cores!

So where is the HT here?

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=164289

Reason mainly use the FPU (Floating Point Unit) of every core, but HT is useless for the FPU.
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…
  #59  
Old 2013-05-16, 15:19
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,920
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by friday View Post
So where is the HT here?

https://www.propellerheads.se/forum/...d.php?t=164289

Reason mainly use the FPU (Floating Point Unit) of every core, but HT is useless for the FPU.
First of all, I think you're confusing actual physical "cores" with Hyperthreaded virtual cores. You are correct in that Reason uses the FPU of every physical core. As discussed at length and according to Propellerhead software, Reason uses HT (virtual cores) for things such as GUI draw, high-quality stretch and resample, and disc i/o. Were you performing any of these when you took your screenshot?
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
  #60  
Old 2013-05-16, 15:41
friday's Avatar
friday friday is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 57
Hi, no i did only use DSP Power for synths, effects and some sample play back. I think most of us will have problems with this tasks. The few sample time strech, resampling and GUI drawing task are done after some time, but the realtime tasks (Audio DSP) will kill my workflow, when the CPU is at 99%. So i have to buy a CPU with a lot of physical cores and every core must have its own FPU. I think AMD has 1 FPU per 2 Cores?

(as allways sorry for my bad english)
__________________
Loading SoundCloud…

Last edited by friday; 2013-05-16 at 15:47.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:05.