Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-06-09, 12:38
Nazlive's Avatar
Nazlive Nazlive is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 89
i3, i5 or budget amd?

I want to buy a new pc, but i'm not sure wich processor.

I'm currently on a macbook with Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor P7450 (3M Cache, 2.13 GHz, 1066 MHz FSB)

And actually it handles everything. So maybe i'm just fine with a 4th gen i3? Just working with reason essentials (maybe 7 in future) , and just simple music productions.

See comparison with i3 4th gen:
[URL="http://ark.intel.com/compare/75989,36734"]


Another idea:

Code:
#
1	AMD A10-6800K Boxed	€ 134,90	€ 134,90
1	ASRock FM2A75 PRO4-M	€ 57,90	€ 57,90
1	Cooler Master Elite 344 USB 3.0 Zilver	€ 33,30	€ 33,30
1	Cooler Master Hyper TX3 Evo	€ 18,20	€ 18,20
1	Kingston HyperX Beast KHX21C11T3K2/8X	€ 63,74	€ 63,74
1	LG GH24NS95 Zwart	€ 19,95	€ 19,95
1	be quiet! System Power 7 300W	€ 30,99	€ 30,99
1	Samsung 840 series 120GB	€ 83,-	€ 83,-
(i have a 7200rpm 500GB disk)


isn't it to much processor power? I'm not a gamer (i would like to play a few maybe)
Not an professional or what ever. If i can get a pc for 350, that would be better for my money.

What are your thoughts?
__________________
'Exploring all the possibilities in Reason is like a Rubik's cube'
  #2  
Old 2013-06-09, 15:21
conundrum conundrum is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 66
Go for i7 quad core, if you can.
  #3  
Old 2013-06-09, 15:35
phasys's Avatar
phasys phasys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by conundrum View Post
Go for i7 quad core, if you can.
See, this is also something that annoys the hell out of me. Hello McFly! Anybody home? That's not what he's asking, is it? He probably doesn't have the budget for an i7, otherwise he would be askin about the i7 too, wouldn't he? Talk about totally useless answers.

Anyway, now for the on topic, before Enochlight gets in here to advocate his holy hyper threading

For lightweight production, the i3 should be fine. However, with the future in mind, I would pick an i5. I have an i5 myself and it's been great, I can throw anything at it and I always have enough headroom left. Also, you might want to pick out a good motherboard (if you are getting a custom built PC) so that you could upgrade the CPU at some point in the future. I would recommend an ASUS motherboard instead of Asrock, it's a bit more expensive (maybe 30 or so) but absolutely worth it in terms of design and stability.

Stay AWAY from AMD.
__________________
"Having unlimited choices can paralyze you creatively." - David Byrne

"Some questions simply do not deserve an answer." - Richard Dawkins

https://soundcloud.com/dutch-bastard

omfg one million megahurz CPU
  #4  
Old 2013-06-09, 15:38
charlycharlzz's Avatar
charlycharlzz charlycharlzz is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by conundrum View Post
Go for i7 quad core, if you can.

+1 for i7 , there is some i5 that are quad so maybe those but i7 will just work better unless you can buy a knew PC in one or two years it will be a money loss to get lower then a quad core !


you can have ASUS i7 3770 for not much more then i5 and with decent RAM and a solid motherboard and graphic card for like 750 dollars (ASUS CM6870)
__________________

It's like gambling !!!
but you get something out the slot everytime you click ! lol

▓▓▓
dಠಠb
_(Θ)_

No Respect for the Talion Law , I whant it All !
  #5  
Old 2013-06-09, 15:50
conundrum conundrum is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 66
Someone forgot their meds today. If OP has a macbook, he's probably not short for money. And even if he is, it pays to shop around. He even said his current macbook "handles everything", so there should be time to save more money, if need be. He shouldn't be sorry for holding out for an i7.

Now carry on with your temper tantrum, Principal.
  #6  
Old 2013-06-09, 15:51
phasys's Avatar
phasys phasys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlycharlzz View Post
+1 for i7 , there is some i5 that are quad so maybe those but i7 will just work better
No, it will NOT work better. It will do EXACTLY the same as the i5. The only difference is that you pay 100 extra for extra horsepower that you don't need.
__________________
"Having unlimited choices can paralyze you creatively." - David Byrne

"Some questions simply do not deserve an answer." - Richard Dawkins

https://soundcloud.com/dutch-bastard

omfg one million megahurz CPU
  #7  
Old 2013-06-09, 16:30
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,912
Ha! Too funny. I'll refrain from recommending an i7 or even touching on HT to keep Frans calm. That said - to address the OP - I'd at least go i5. The i3 line is downright anemic - it's truly the entry level budget line of Intel CPU's. I wouldn't consider AMD at this point, just because their tech hasn't impressed me since the Ahtlon X2 line many years ago. YMMV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by phasys View Post
No, it will NOT work better. It will do EXACTLY the same as the i5. The only difference is that you pay 100 extra for extra horsepower that you don't need.
Well now Frans, come on now - you know that's not entirely true...

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2404674,00.asp
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4

Last edited by EnochLight; 2013-06-09 at 16:34. Reason: MOAR
  #8  
Old 2013-06-09, 16:41
xbitz's Avatar
xbitz xbitz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 414
I'v got Intel® Core™ i7-2670QM (6M Cache, 2.20 - 3.1 GHz) and its far from enough (if I use REs ) so its not so important, IMO try to buy the strongest one as u can but it's no matter

Cheers!!!

Last edited by xbitz; 2013-06-09 at 16:45.
  #9  
Old 2013-06-09, 16:43
conundrum conundrum is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by phasys
No, it will NOT work better. It will do EXACTLY the same as the i5. The only difference is that you pay 100 extra for extra horsepower that you don't need.
And there goes *any* credibility you purported to have.
  #10  
Old 2013-06-09, 16:57
phasys's Avatar
phasys phasys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by conundrum View Post
And there goes *any* credibility you purported to have.
Ah yes of course. Next thing you're gonna tell me is that Reason 7 has a minimum i7 requirement.
__________________
"Having unlimited choices can paralyze you creatively." - David Byrne

"Some questions simply do not deserve an answer." - Richard Dawkins

https://soundcloud.com/dutch-bastard

omfg one million megahurz CPU
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When the initial wave of REs come what will your budget be ? laCandela Phead User Forum (read only) 33 2012-06-14 00:51
Budget outboard gear tyerac Phead User Forum (read only) 1 2012-04-26 02:14
budget wise long run use future purchases prenta84 Phead User Forum (read only) 3 2012-04-13 09:45
Compact Lower Budget Subwoofer selfdude General Forum (read only) 1 2009-08-21 07:01
What's the budget of Prop Software Corp? Grisch General Forum (read only) 4 2003-08-13 18:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:25.