Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-06-26, 21:11
joshcohen67 joshcohen67 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Post Redrum Suggestion

Hi,

I am writing this to the programmers at Propellerhead as possible suggestions for future upgrades.. but if anyone else can tell me if I'm missing something in the software that allows for these things to happen, please let me know.....

I use Redrum mostly and I wanted to suggest something that I think could make programming drums a little easier.

I like how when I click on the drum I wish to program, I see the created patterns on the row of pads. What I don't like is that I can't see the patter of the other drums I previously programmed. I've seen software that lets you see all the drums, and I know you can see all the drums when you open the sequencer. But my suggestion is for the instrument panel. To me, it would make things easier if I could see rows of only the drums I chose. For instance, if I'm programing a kick and a snare then I would see 2 rows of pads. If I want to add a hi hat, I could choose to see 3 rows, etc...

Also, I think it would be great to have more than 10 sounds available to me on one instrument. If I want to use 2 or more snares, 3 or more crashes, cowbells, shakers etc on top of a standard kit I have to open another Redrum... and even in the sequencer I cannot see both Redrums at the same time.

I suppose I am not the typical user of Reason, I'm a rock guy and I program my drums like a "real" drummer would play them, that's why I need more snares and crashes... I like to alter their tone a bit to make the hits sound different. Some snare hits are rim shots, some are in the middle of the drum and some aren't. You get the idea.

Lastly, in the sequencer, It would be ideal to me if the velocity control didn't control every drum that hits in that spot. In other words, if I program a hi hat and a kick in the same spot, at the moment I seems like any velocity change effects both drums and I would like to have control of each drums velocity instead.

I'm a musician, not an engineer so it's quite possible that I don't know all there is to know but from a user stand point I thing these changes could improve the over all use of Redrum.

Thanks for listening.

Best,

J C
  #2  
Old 2013-06-26, 21:12
joshcohen67 joshcohen67 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Post

Hi,

I am writing this to the programmers at Propellerhead as possible suggestions for future upgrades.. but if anyone else can tell me if I'm missing something in the software that allows for these things to happen, please let me know.....

I use Redrum mostly and I wanted to suggest something that I think could make programming drums a little easier.

I like how when I click on the drum I wish to program, I see the created patterns on the row of pads. What I don't like is that I can't see the patter of the other drums I previously programmed. I've seen software that lets you see all the drums, and I know you can see all the drums when you open the sequencer. But my suggestion is for the instrument panel. To me, it would make things easier if I could see rows of only the drums I chose. For instance, if I'm programing a kick and a snare then I would see 2 rows of pads. If I want to add a hi hat, I could choose to see 3 rows, etc...

Also, I think it would be great to have more than 10 sounds available to me on one instrument. If I want to use 2 or more snares, 3 or more crashes, cowbells, shakers etc on top of a standard kit I have to open another Redrum... and even in the sequencer I cannot see both Redrums at the same time.

I suppose I am not the typical user of Reason, I'm a rock guy and I program my drums like a "real" drummer would play them, that's why I need more snares and crashes... I like to alter their tone a bit to make the hits sound different. Some snare hits are rim shots, some are in the middle of the drum and some aren't. You get the idea.

Lastly, in the sequencer, It would be ideal to me if the velocity control didn't control every drum that hits in that spot. In other words, if I program a hi hat and a kick in the same spot, at the moment I seems like any velocity change effects both drums and I would like to have control of each drums velocity instead.

I'm a musician, not an engineer so it's quite possible that I don't know all there is to know but from a user stand point I thing these changes could improve the over all use of Redrum.

Thanks for listening.

Best,

J C[/QUOTE]
  #3  
Old 2013-06-26, 23:44
craven's Avatar
craven craven is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 675
Hi JC,

true, Redrum could be much better.
You might want to try out Kong (if you have Reason 5 at least). Kong gives you 16 sounds instead of 10 and lets you easily layer drums etc. There's no step sequencer though but editing in the sequencer gives you that overview you like to have anyways.
For sound fx like crashes, I often used a separate Redrum. Yes, it's a pity one can't see several midi lanes at once. I want this for years as well. And we are not alone.

To edit velocity notes only for selected notes, just keep the shift key pressed when editing.
I hope this helps already
  #4  
Old 2013-06-27, 17:08
lividinstruments lividinstruments is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 23
You can use the step sequencer in Thor or matrix pattern to drive Kong.
What would be really sweet is if Redrum could be mapped to a controller so you could program patterns with hardware!
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rex & Redrum: Is this possible? jabeez Phead User Forum (read only) 5 2005-04-25 01:54
Suggestion: redrum groove patterns davelowndes General Forum (read only) 1 2003-12-11 16:43
Why does soloing on the mixer steal the redrum aux effects? ceffe General Forum (read only) 5 2002-08-29 09:34
Source Vs. Render - ReDrum Results robinsarac General Forum (read only) 8 2002-08-15 19:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:01.