Propellerhead Software
  #1  
Old 2013-06-27, 22:44
DJYoshaBYD DJYoshaBYD is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Run Reason 5 on Linux EASILY!

So, I have been working on getting Reason 5 running through Wine on Linux machines. If anyone has tried before, then you know that the top menus are not clickable, so to save, open, etc., you have to use keyboard shortcuts.

I found a patch on WineHQ that fixed the issue, but didnt make it into the main branch, so I compiled it myself and tested a script.

Im happy to report that Reason 5 now runs on Linux just fine, with full features, using Wine and PlayOnLinux.

PlayOnLinux is simply a front-end for Wine that allows easier configuration through use of scripts.

If you have a linux machine, and want to try it, go for it. If you have any issues, please stop by our forums at www.playonlinux.com

NOTE* This is not an advertisement. We are a non-profit, open-source project, and Im a huge audiophile. haha. This just made my studio complete.
I hope this helps others.

http://www.playonlinux.com/en/supported_apps.html
  #2  
Old 2013-06-27, 22:45
DJYoshaBYD DJYoshaBYD is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
Screenshots running in Linux:





  #3  
Old 2013-06-28, 10:55
phasys's Avatar
phasys phasys is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,887
That would be an illegal copy of Reason 5, right?
__________________
"Having unlimited choices can paralyze you creatively." - David Byrne

"Some questions simply do not deserve an answer." - Richard Dawkins

https://soundcloud.com/dutch-bastard

omfg one million megahurz CPU
  #4  
Old 2013-06-28, 13:40
reasoner498's Avatar
reasoner498 reasoner498 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 836
Quote:
Originally Posted by phasys View Post
That would be an illegal copy of Reason 5, right?
It doesn't have to be, but of course, you already know that...
  #5  
Old 2013-06-28, 15:01
Grumbleweed's Avatar
Grumbleweed Grumbleweed is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by phasys View Post
That would be an illegal copy of Reason 5, right?
Aren't they all? .

Grum.
__________________
Soundcloud Soundclick Bandcamp DeadSpace
Reason 7, Sonar X3e Producer, Balance, Chillblast built desktop PC with an i7 3770K (@4.2 Ghz), 8 Gig RAM, Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit.
  #6  
Old 2013-06-28, 15:02
Mate Mate is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 8,326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumbleweed View Post
Aren't they all? .

Grum.
Until Reason 6 they are!
  #7  
Old 2013-06-28, 19:51
DJYoshaBYD DJYoshaBYD is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 3
No. It works on paid versions just fine. The problem with 6 and above working through Linux is the DRM that is now in place. I cant get it to function correctly in WINE, so 5 was about the best that I could do, which is still a great program and functional as all hell.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Learning Reason paskel13 General Forum (read only) 6 2013-03-23 07:58
A method to use VST plugins in reason SpaceToad Phead User Forum (read only) 48 2013-03-11 14:54
Reason 4 on Linux - stability? supersweeet General Forum (read only) 0 2009-09-02 03:41
Newbie Reason Recording Project wesleycobb General Forum (read only) 15 2003-05-29 05:55


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:00.