Propellerhead Software

Go Back   Propellerhead Forum > General Forum (read only)

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2011-10-16, 04:35
jereb's Avatar
jereb jereb is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 24
Question A New Computer For Reason 6 - But What About Ignition Key?

I just bought a brand mew computer (64 bit) to house my new reason 6 upgrade.

I won't be removing Record/Reason from the laptop its occupied for the past year and a half - BUT - just thinking - Once I install Reason 6 on the new dude - and after registration - how will I run it - since the ignition key will remain with the old unit?

Both systems have never been online and I plan on keeping them as such - I use another laptop to upgrade and register my programs.

Someone may have covered this - so I apologize in advance.

Thanks!
  #2  
Old 2011-10-16, 04:46
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
Simply move the ignition key between the two none internet connected computers, after all ypu are only licensed to run on one at a time.
  #3  
Old 2011-10-24, 02:08
jereb's Avatar
jereb jereb is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by jereb View Post
I just bought a brand mew computer (64 bit) to house my new reason 6 upgrade.

I won't be removing Record/Reason from the laptop its occupied for the past year and a half - BUT - just thinking - Once I install Reason 6 on the new dude - and after registration - how will I run it - since the ignition key will remain with the old unit?

Both systems have never been online and I plan on keeping them as such - I use another laptop to upgrade and register my programs.

Someone may have covered this - so I apologize in advance.

Thanks!
Thanks - But will the programs work on the same key or will Prop Heads send me a new key gen to be burned on my original ignition key?
  #4  
Old 2011-10-24, 02:17
n0ahg n0ahg is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 7,005
One licence is one ignition key, were you planning to run them at the same time?

Some users have managed to put both Reason 5 and Reason 6 on the same ignition key but I'm not sure if this is a glitch as it doesn't work for me.
  #5  
Old 2011-10-24, 02:39
jchilcott's Avatar
jchilcott jchilcott is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by jereb View Post
Thanks - But will the programs work on the same key or will Prop Heads send me a new key gen to be burned on my original ignition key?
You can move the key from the computer to computer with no issue. I have been going between my desktop and my laptop all the time, since getting Reason 6. Sometimes, on my lunch hours, I also fire up Reason on my work computer and noodle away.

jord
  #6  
Old 2011-10-25, 06:47
jereb's Avatar
jereb jereb is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 24
Thanks, I Appreciate that
  #7  
Old 2013-08-20, 03:03
DustyVan DustyVan is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
propellerhead reason 6 will not install on my new computer with windows 8. Is it because I previously had it installed on 2 computers? It also made me download codemaster. After the reason 6 install, it pops up and says "this application can not open because of an unexpected error" can anyone help me with this?
  #8  
Old 2013-08-20, 04:55
EnochLight's Avatar
EnochLight EnochLight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 5,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by DustyVan View Post
propellerhead reason 6 will not install on my new computer with windows 8. Is it because I previously had it installed on 2 computers? It also made me download codemaster. After the reason 6 install, it pops up and says "this application can not open because of an unexpected error" can anyone help me with this?
Sure - update to Reason 7.

Reason 6 is not officially supported on Windows 8, however; Reason 7 is. BTW, this thread is almost 2 years old... probably should have just started your own.

Anyway - you can install Reason 6 on as many computers as you like. You can only run one instance at a time, though.
__________________
  • "To argue with a person who has renounced the use of Reason is like administering medicine to the dead." - Thomas Paine
Windows 8 Pro 64-bit | Reason 7 | Asus Sabertooth Z77 | Intel i7 3770k Quad-Core @ 4.2 Ghz | 16 GB RAM | OCZ Vertex 4 SSD 256 GB | Balance | Nektar Panorama P-4
  #9  
Old 2013-08-20, 05:11
djjams's Avatar
djjams djjams is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 505
Reason 6.5.3 works on Windows 8 as well.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Record not recognizing Ignition Key QuietB07 General Forum (read only) 5 2013-09-06 08:29
Windows 7 - Ignition Key - Not Detected with 1.0.1 update meowsqueak Phead User Forum (read only) 16 2010-12-31 05:47
Bye new computer for Record, multi core? BlipBlop75 Phead User Forum (read only) 11 2010-05-18 20:50
Ignition key driver could not be started.....ignition key driver could not be found sh49004 Phead User Forum (read only) 21 2010-04-30 16:44
Computer - Computer Speakers - Mini Monitors krujap777 General Forum (read only) 2 2004-03-03 16:13


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:54.